We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi Hotel was a hit!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed three nights at the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago and loved it. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location couldn't have been better for two tourists on the go. The convenience of the continental breakfast on each floor and the free Business Center Internet access was wonderful. And who could resist the complimentary cocktail reception each evening - it was delightful. We would definitely stay at the Amalfi Hotel again and highly recommend it, especially to couples and business travelers.

(Side note- short on amenities, but loaded with style.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SerenaM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you kindly for the glowing review! We’re delighted to hear you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m pleased you appreciated our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m further pleased to know you found our central downtown location to your liking and take advantage of all the nearby sites within walking distance! Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,540)
There are newer reviews for Kinzie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,334 - 1,340 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I will start this review by saying I stay at a LOT of hotels, and it's very hard to earn high praise from me in all areas of operation. Almafi is now 2 for 2 in exceeding my expectations.

I previously stayed at the Almafi hotel last year and had such a great experience I had to stay there again. This time I got the parking included package which was a downright steal. All rates include continental breakfast and evening reception with booze and snacks.

Perhaps the best and most outstanding thing about the Almafi is that every single interaction I had, whether it was checking in, housekeeping, or just a staff member in the elevator, was positive, pleasant and professional. From the minute I walked in to the minute I checked out, I was treated with courtesy, respect and made to feel at home. The front desk staff member Chase, who checked me in almost a year ago, remembered me and is in the running for my favorite person in Chicago.

The breakfast, although continental, is very inclusive. Toast, yogurt, cereal and pastries, juice and coffee, and the best is that it's on your floor so you can just grab some food in your PJ's. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet, especially considering the location in the heart of Chicago. The hotel is nearby many amazing restaurants (ask the front desk for recommendations!), the L and major bus stops. It's also a short walk to Michigan Avenue.

It is truly a pleasure to stay at the Almafi and I hope to travel to Chicago again soon so I can stay there again. I give them my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

What a flattering review! We’re overjoyed to receive another glowing review from you. I’m especially pleased to receive such great feedback about our team—Chase, in particular. I’ll be sure to share your kind comments with him. I’m pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—I agree it’s so convenient to have it on each floor so you can grab a bite while still in pajamas! I’m also happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our location in the downtown River North district and all the amazing restaurants around us! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share another flattering review. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Amalfi during a recent conference in Chicago. Although the conference was held at McCormick Place, I chose to stay at the Amalfi, and it was the best decision I could have made. The location of the hotel is fantastic, walking distance to major city attractions, restaurants, shopping, and easy access to public transportation. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well-maintained. The staff was charming, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was very convenient, and the evening reception was so inviting. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting Chicago.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie24k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further delighted to know you were able to enjoy and indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your Amalfi experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel through "Hotel Tonight" and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large compared to most city hotels. They had complimentary continental breakfast on every floor, and complimentary cocktails in the evening. The location was great, food was amazing, and service was everything we could ask for. We would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Chicago! Great bang for your buck!

Room Tip: Views only from higher floors.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

What a kind review! We’re overjoyed to hear you had such a lovely stay with us. I’m pleased to know you found our rooms to your liking, as well as our central downtown location. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Your kind recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Amalfi Hotel at Chicago is all about location. Right next to the Michigan Avenue, this place is walking distance to just about everything great Chicago has to offer. It is surrounded by pubs, restaurants, the great shopping mile etc etc.

The hotel itself is more kinda businessey, but still good. The breakfast is nothing spectacular but one has just so many options to eat around, it hardly matters.

Service was pretty good too, no complaints per say. We shortened our stay by a night with just a day's notice so we did manage to get only a part refund because it was the busy season but that's OK I guess because they had to run the room empty.

Room Tip: Of course the road side, it's got a bar with some nice graffiti artwork and .... well, the Trump...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy you were pleased with our location in the downtown River North district and able to take advantage of all the nightlife and shopping surrounding us. Your kind comments about our front office team are also greatly appreciated. Thank you again for the warm recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I just came back from this hotel 2 days ago, and I'd go back in a heartbeat. Here's why:

- excellent, central location
- well price
- well sized room
- courteous staff
- free breakfast
- free afternoon cocktail party.

You can't really ask for more. Check out my blog post about them: http://wp.me/p39wah-71

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review! We’re flattered to receive such a wonderful review—as well as your lovely blog post! I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m also pleased to know you found our rooms to your liking as well! Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got the package with parking included and it was a good value. Parking is normally $47. The breakfast is served on each floor. Coffee was good, lots of teas, juice, yogurt, fruit, breads, cheese, & cereal. The evening reception with two free drinks and a good assortment of appetizers is another perk. Arrival was very smooth despite the lack of a lobby drive. We pulled up along the curb on Kenzie St. and waited a couple minutes until we could pull in front of the hotel. The valet was quick to take care of us and get us inside. The location is great. We walked to theater but took a cab home as the temps dropped. It was about $6 plus tip. There is a bar on the corner that we went to after the theater. It was full of 20-somethings so we did not exactly fit in. Went across to Harry Caray's and has a couple of drinks. Bring a sleep mask or clips to shut room darkening shades completely and earplugs for Chicago sirens. Great value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Many thanks for the thoughtful review. We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the wide selection of breakfast items we offer. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. I apologize for any noise disturbances you experienced. We do have quieter rooms on the higher floors and encourage you to let us know of any special requests prior to your stay. I’m also happy to hear you were able to enjoy a drink across the street at Harry Caray’s, who also provides our in-room dining. Thank you again for taking the time to share your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,776 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing