We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Choice in River North Area ... Value but not Wow-factor”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Amalfi hotel is in an ideal downtown location in River North, a few blocks from the Michigan Avenue action but surrounded also by great bars, restaurants and hotels. The hotel staff are extremely friendly, warm and welcoming. Upon check in, which is a very efficient process, we took the elevator to our room on the 6th floor (top floor at the hotel). We stayed in a King room, number 601, that faced North. The room - and the hotel itself - is decorated and designed like a slightly more upscale chain hotel ... nice, comfortable enough, but still had that corporate chain feel. Our room was spacious, with a super comfortable bed (I had the best night of sleep!), an honor bar with snacks and water, small flat-screen television and DVD player, desk with chair, and large picture window. As mentioned in many reviews, a buffet breakfast (cereal, pastries, juices, fruit) is served each morning; and a complimentary cocktail hour occurs each evening on the 6th floor. Unfortunately, this led to some noise issues for us, as we were positioned opposite the elevator - both mornings, we could hear the crowd from the buffet area, as well as several slamming doors; same thing would occur in the cocktail hour. I'd ask for a room further from the elevator in the future. In addition our room was an adjoining room, so there was some noise naturally coming from the next room. Lastly, I'm not sure what exactly is located above the 6th floor, but it sounded like someone was moving around boxes in an attic. None of this was significant enough to be anything more than mildly annoying. In addition to these amenities, the hotel offers a fitness room and in-room spa services through Windy City Massage.
As many have noted, for the price of a room, the Amalfi is a good option in a great location. However, when I compare it to a hotel like The James, which I've booked in the past for a similar price, it falls far short in style, atmosphere and amenities. Good home-base but no real wow-factor.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to know you found our rooms to your liking—especially our bedding and in-room honor bars. While I’m pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception, I do apologize for the noise disturbances you experienced. We do try to accommodate all room requests and encourage our guests to let us know if they any special requests. I’m also pleased to hear you appreciated our complimentary 24-hour fitness center and the in-room spa services offered through Windy City massage. We take all guest feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable comments with us. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,540)
There are newer reviews for Kinzie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,381 - 1,387 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

The nice city hotel, perfectly located right on the middle of downtown. Next block to Marina City towers. There are friendly and helpful staff, free WiFi internet connection inside the rooms. Breakfast on the floor is a very convenient option. The rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to know you found our central downtown location in the vibrant River North district to your liking. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also happy to hear you appreciated our complimentary WiFi throughout the entire hotel as well. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years back with our pet. This past January, we decided to bring our pet along this time again. The hotel personnel was great. Very friendly with our toy poodle. She even received treats from the front desk, which she adored. The pet friendly rooms are on the second floor only. Not great high rise views, but spacious rooms with lower view of the street. We loved the complementary happy hour and breakfast in the morning. That is a nice addition. This hotel feels like a family owned hotel in Europe: small and friendly with a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msp_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We’re delighted to hear you and your four-legged friend enjoyed staying with us. I’m pleased to know you appreciate our pet-friendly floor as well as our doggy treats at check-in. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like deluxe continental breakfast and our evening cocktail reception. Thank you again for the warm recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The front counter was extremely helpful during our entire stay. They went above and beyond in order to assist us. Each evening, the hotel offers free drinks and snacks, which allows you to mingle with other hotel guests. Definitely worth the value! It is in a great location, with walking distance to the Michigan Mile, as well as main bus routes to major attractions. I will stay at Amalfi again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niffy3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

What a thoughtful review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m especially pleased to hear such wonderful feedback about our front office team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s always a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise! I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well—I agree it’s a great opportunity to mix and mingle with other guests! I’m happy to know you found our central downtown location convenient and to your liking as well. We truly appreciate your 5-star recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We came to Chicago this past weekend to take our daughters to the American Girl Place for their birthdays. We chose the Amalfi because of the reviews and I am happy we did. We were able to easily walk to numerous locations including Michigan Ave, the Rainforest Cafe (which our daughters loved), along with many other streets that had plenty of shopping to choose from. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and priced right. We took advantage of the continental breakfast (cereal, yogurt, pastries, juice, coffee, etc.) each morning before we headed out to roam the city which was very convenient. The staff, from the concierge, doorman, valets, guest service agents, etc. were all friendly and considerate. Greg, in particular, was very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in our trip and our girls' experience at American Girl. The valet parking was convienent as well and not badly priced. We will definitely stay at the Amalfi again when we return to Chicago!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sheena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you kindly for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our front office team! I’ll be sure to share your kind comments with them—Greg, in particular! I’m happy to hear you and your daughters were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and walk to all the nearby sites like the Rainforest Cafe and American Girl Place! I’m further delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the wide selection we offer. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your daughters back for your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fantastic! The staff is very friendly and really went above and beyond with any request. We first had a lower floor with no view and loud morning trash pickup, and were quickly moved to a higher floor on the other side and it was perfectly quiet. The evening reception was like crashing a private cocktail party- what a blast! A convenient breakfast on every floor was a nice way to start the day. After walking into the hotel after a long day of walking, we were greeted with coffee/hot cocoa and cookies at the front desk. The location is IDEAL. I highly recommend this hotel. The whole family LOVED it and the staff was great. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms off the ally are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adynamicspeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for the flattering review! We’re delighted to hear your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one! While I’m sorry to hear about the unusual noise disturbance you encountered, I’m pleased to hear that our front office team was able to accommodate you with a new room. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and I’m overjoyed to hear our front office team came through on that promise. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well as our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Amalfi 5 or 6 times and each time I have NOT been disappointed. It's close to everything! Great ambiance. The rooms, bedding and pillows are very comfortable. It's quiet, except where there is early trash pickup. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for comfort, convenience and price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted to receive such positive guest feedback—especially from a loyal guest! I’m happy to hear you found our rooms comfortable and our bedding to your liking as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughtful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,775 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing