We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Downtown”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Amalfi is just a five minute walk away from the Blue Line, and centrally located in Downtown Chicago, which makes using the public transit a cinch. If the weather's nice enough, it's also easy to walk almost anywhere to find entertainment, food, or museums that are very close by.

The hotel itself is nice; adequately large rooms, comfortable beds and I was surprised to find we had a mini fridge (which is always a perk). The reception desk was friendly and helpful, and overall we had no problems staying. The front door was also well-attended. One note: we did get a room that others have complained "looks out on a brick wall" which is really the side of another building. So no, our view wasn't ideal, but who honestly looks at the view for more than five minutes of their stay, anyway? It really didn't detract much from the room's coziness.

The continental breakfast isn't lavish, but it definitely helped cut out having to find breakfast each morning! Lots of cereal, bagels, donuts and pastries, fruit, yogurt ect. We didn't go up to the fifth floor for cocktails since we were usually out when they were serving them, so I can't comment on that. But the experience overall was great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback! We’re delighted to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us. I’m happy our central downtown location was to your liking, especially our close proximity to the Clark/Lake El stop, as you so helpfully mentioned! I’m further pleased you enjoyed the room and in-room amenities, like the mini-fridge, as well. I’m happy you were able to enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast—hopefully next time you’ll be able to join us in the evening for our complimentary cocktail reception! Thank you again for taking the time to share your Amalfi experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 2,559 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very friendly, nice room, excellent continental breakfast (on each floor so late comers like us still had a nice selection). We had some problems with the Wi-if connection but would definitely stay here again. The location was fabulous!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our central location in downtown Chicago to your liking. I’m sorry that you experienced problems with our WiFi connection. I’m glad to report we’re in the process of upgrading our WiFi system. At this moment, we are completing the final stages of this project which includes a bandwidth increase and additional access points to strengthen the signal in the hotel. We expect the upgrade to be completed in the next couple weeks and I’m sure on your next visit, you’ll find our WiFi has significantly improved! Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We came to explore the city and stumbled upon the amalfi. Lucky us! Once inside the eclectic surroundings were not only inviting but extremely clean. The staff was amazing. Our best experience was our very last night when the door man overheard me upset over the fact that I thought then pizza by the slice place around the corner was closed. He told us to stand by after he vale parked our car and ran off to see if the place was open. Thank you Raji.!! Because of service like his we will be back for our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay after stumbling upon us on your recent visit to Chicago! I’m especially pleased to receive such positive guest feedback about our front office team—Rafi, in particular. We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and I’m delighted to know we came through on that promise! We’re truly flattered by your warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had never heard of Amalfi before. My wife and I were looking for a nice little getaway close to the Magnificent Mile and we were pleasantly surprised by Amalfi. The rate was reasonable considering it includes a nice continental breakfast ON EACH FLOOR! It also includes a Manager's reception every night with great free cocktails and appetizers. The only thing that suprised us, and it wasn't a bad thing, was how small the lobby is and the fact that even though the hotel is in a huge building - the hotel itself is only the first six floors. The hotel doesn't have a pool, but we didn't need one this time. The location is about a ten minute walk from Michigan Avenue. Plus, there is a great restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_S_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you kindly for the thoughtful review. We’re pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and that you especially appreciated the convenience of it on each floor. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. As you mentioned, we’re centrally located in downtown Chicago—just a quick walk to Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile! Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a very pleasant surprise. I have become so accustomed to staying at the large chains in the USA when travelling for business. But at someone's recommendation I decided to try this boutique hotel.
The rooms were beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is also great. So close to so much action on foot. And it didnt hurt that the cost per night was below that of the big chains.

A bonus was definitely their "happy" hour. I was treated to cocktails and hors d'oevres every day.

I will definitely return to Chicago, only this time with my wife for a romantic getwaway and will definitely stay at the Amalfi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Amalfi experience! We’re delighted to know how much you enjoyed your first stay with us! I’m pleased to know you were able to indulge and enjoy our complimentary evening cocktail reception every evening. I’m further pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our downtown location in the vibrant River North district, surrounded by all the “action” as you aptly put it! Your gracious recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife upon your next stay with us in Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My friend and I went to Chicago to do some Christmas shopping. I have stayed at this hotel previously and knew what to expect. The rooms are pretty big for being in a big city and the bathroom gives plenty of counter space. The check-in was very easy and the staff are extremely helpful and nice. We called the information desk to ask for more towels and pillows and they were delivered to our room within a few mins. I like how the staff was always ready to greet you when you came in from a long day of shopping or sight seeing. The best part of the hotel is the complimentary breakfast on every floor!!! They have a selection of so many breakfast foods such as bagels, donuts, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, milk, orange juice etc.
The location of the hotel is perfect as it's near Michigan Ave. for shopping and restaurants. It is not a far walk from some nice stores on State St. as well.
We will be staying at this hotel again when we return to Chicago!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubree25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you kindly for the lovely review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our front office team! I’m pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you and your friend with any requests and made you feel welcome upon entering the hotel. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and found the wide variety of options to your liking! And I’m especially happy that you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and walk to all the nearby shopping like Michigan Avenue and State Street! Thank you again for the glowing review. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next shopping adventure!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A very clean hotel; excellent customer service and great location. The daily breakfast included is all you need to start your day and is so convenient to be located on each floor. The complimentary cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in the Ravello Lounge were very well received. Nice way to mingle and meet new people. (The "Amalfitini's" and Peroni Beer were a nice touch.) Great weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Canadians2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

What a thoughtful review! I’m delighted you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also happy you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception and enjoyed our signature Amalfinti cocktail. I agree it’s a great way to mix and mingle with other guests! Your gracious recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $147 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing