We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not quite up to expectations”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Based on the glowing reviews here I'd expected quite a lot from the Amalfi. Our stay over the Easter weekend wasn't bad, but I cant help feeling slightly deflated. Before I get on to that, a few of the good points...

The location is great, one block from the river and hence walking distance from everything in the center. The restaurant across the road (the one that supplies the room service) does good steaks and has bags of character, a real asset. Free breakfast laid on outside the lifts on each floor is nice, but you do need to time your sortie just right in order to get much of a selection.

On the downside, the rooms (and hotel in general) are rather tired in appearance (worn fittings and fixtures etc) and lack anything resembling character - you're clearly in a cheap concrete box, taking me right back to my days in student dorms.

There's nothing actually bad here, and they are trying a few different things which is to be applauded in this world of large chains, but for me the experience wasnt really top notch.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pixelated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi_Hotel_Chicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2008

The Management team at the Amalfi Hotel Chicago welcomes and appreciates all the feedback our guests share with us so we know what we are doing well, and what we need to enhance for the future. We feel it is extremely important to provide all our guests the best possible stay and are currently in the process of enhancing our guest rooms and common areas of the hotel to ensure that the appearance is up to our standards. Some of renovations include brand new guest room bathrooms, flat screen HDTVs, ihome alarm/radios, new furniture pieces in the guest rooms, a new luxurious bedding package. Our brand new business center is currently underway and we will be reinventing the lobby this December of 2008. We would be delighted if our previous guests returned to visit us again for a new Amalfi experience and look forward to welcoming them soon!

Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2008

The Amalfi is an upscale hotel with an upscale staff. When you first walk in the modern chic lobby, your nose is greeted with a fresh floral aroma. The staff is friendly and dilligent, and the rooms are devine. The amenities are great, with a breakfast bar on each floor you don't have to change out of your p.j's. You can walk right out of your room to the continental breakfast. The location is in the heart beat of Chicago. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anelson10261979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

This hotel was very nice indeed for my first stay in Chicago, it exceeded my expectations and was a brilliant price.

I had no complaints, the room was well maintained ie fresh towels and bed linen daily, and the breakfast was good to get you started for the day, the front desk and doormen were good for advice, the complimentary drinks were a nice extra.

Over all a lovely stay in a centrally located location.

Good nearby restaurants included Harry Carrys (accross the road) for a beer and bar chips, (bit pricey for food but the Bruschetta was amazing), Rockit bar and grill (located behind the hotel) best burgers and cheap, and Quartino's ristorante and pizzeria (626 North State Street) great for small plate dining.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

This was our first stay at the Amalfi - we will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Chicago. The hotel is conveniently located just North of the Chicago River.....walk across the street and a couple of steps and you are at the door of House of Blues and Harry Carey's. Easy walking distance to the theatre district and Magnificent Mile. Don't expect much of a view outside of your window (the building immediately out front was under renovation) - but I'm not in the room much....I'm there to see and experience Chicago!! We had exceptionally warm weather for January, but only used 1 cab the entire time we were there...from the hotel back to the train station....so if you don't mind walking - this is the perfect location with easy access to everything. Their complementary breakfast was nice - great selection of fruits, pastries, juices, water, etc. The complementary drinks and hors d'oeuvres were outstanding. I've seen some previous reviews that complained about the bar staff. Maybe they were there on an off night - or maybe they treated the staff with little or no regard...but all I can say is these guys were GREAT! Yes, there is a tip jar...but come on --- the drinks are FREE - food is free - if you can't spare a dollar to reward the people catering to you....you definitely have bigger problems in this world. We tipped only a couple of dollars......and the bartenders treated us like we were royalty. They were the best! Rooms were clean - robes and slippers were provided (nice touch!). The only disappointing thing - not many extra outlets in the room......there were four girls sharing the room and getting ready with hairdryers, curling irons, etc was a little hectic. The Amalfi will send a bottle of wine to your room if you are celebrating a birthday or anniversary. We requested this at the time of reservation - it was not delivered the first day - but a quick request at the front desk resolved the issue that day.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

This is a pleasant change from your big chain hotel groups. Very European and very comfortable. You can find some good deals at this great location.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ainslie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at the amafi for 4 nights in Feb. It was fantastic. From the minute we arrived at reception, the girl at the desk was so friendly. The room was really testefully decorated. I also loved the really soft bath robe and slippers provided and also the safe in the wardrobe was useful. The double shower head was great as was the mirror with the light on it for doing my make-up( something i hadn't seen in other hotels).

The location was perfect for us. The complimentary bar between 5 and 7 pm is nice. we met some very friendly people therewe only went 2 evening out of 4 but always enjoyed it. i must admit i was surprised to hear that breakfast was a buffet opposite the lifts!! the first 2 mornings were fine, we had a good breakfast, i sneaked from the room in my bathrobe and luckily no one spotted me ha ha. the 3rd and 4th morning when i went there the best of the breakfast goodies were gone because there was a conference onin the city and the hotel was booked up so you need to get to the buffet early!

Over all we had a fantastic time here and we will most definately be saying here next time xx

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHELLY1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights as an early 30th birthday treat from 30 January 2008-2 February 2008. We found this to be a really lovely hotel. The staff were nice and helpful but not forceful or bothersome (which I was concerned about when I read that an "Experience Designer" would assist us with our stay). The only thing I would say on this matter was that we weren't offered anything like this service at all, it was only when we were checking out that I heard someone asking about the shuttle bus service the hotel runs, but I guess if you don't ask you don't get!

We found the rooms smart, modern, clean and comfortable and the turn down service offered of an evening by housekeeping is a nice touch. The bed was large and very comfortable, the bedding was non-allergenic and a 'mock' down. The rooms were spacious and stylish and the Aveda toiletries a very nice touch. The room looked just as in the pictures on the site.

I was a bit wary of the breakfast service when I read that it was served in the lobby areas of each floor, however this was not a problem at all. Hot coffee, water for teas and a selection of bottled juices were offered. There were plenty of pastries, muffins, breads/loaves and bagels but there are no toaster facilities. Unfortunately we did not take advantage of the evening cocktail reception as our time in Chicago was very limited.

The location was great, the area is on the quiet side and the views weren't amazing but Harry Caray's is opposite and Lou Malnati's (absolutely divine pizza pie!) is within a short walk. Magnificent Mile is about a 5 minute walk to the left and the the Chicago River and access to the Loop about a 5 minute walk down the road. If you're looking for places to go I would recommend shopping at Magnificent Mile, there are some good souvenir shops too in the malls, you could finish up having lunch in Pizzeria Uno or Pizzeria Due which are both toward the farther end of Magnificent Mile. The Cheesecake Factory at the bottom of the Hancock tower was really nice, we originally intending on having drinks in the John Hancock Tower bar to take in the views but my boyfriend's vertigo got the better of him on the 96th floor!

I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel and Chicago, we had a great time here but unfortunately there was a snow storm so we were quite limited when we were out and about. If you do decide to go to Chicago I would recommend a restaurant called Rose Angelis, it was in a converted house in the suburbs (1314 W Wrightwood Ave) and it took us a few minutes walk to get a taxi back when the city was on stand-by for snow storms but it was well worth the taxi ride. 10 Pin is very close to the hotel and we had cocktails here and a game of 10 pin bowling and Chicago Blues is within the same complex.

All in all this was a very nice hotel and city which by far exceeded our expectations, my only regret is that we didn't stay here longer!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $137 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing