We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant but not boutique”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“pleasant but not boutique”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

While a solid experience, the amalfi seems more like a touched up marriott than a ground up modern hotel. While the non formal lobby and pillow top mattress are nice touches. The hotel carpetting is tremendously drab and the desk set up remarkably dull.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m sorry that you found issue with our carpeting; we strive to maintain the highest standards for all our guest rooms and I apologize if this was not the case with your room. I’ll be contacting you directly for more details so we may rectify any issues. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    642
    145
    38
    19
See reviews for
433
913
114
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked this hotel because of a great travelzoo deal and also based on the location and the daily breakfast and happy hour included. We were not disappointed!

The staff were all great from the friendly doormen and check-in staff to the bartenders at happy hour. The room was surprisingly spacious and the bed was very comfortable. There was a fridge and a great selection of glassware - rocks glasses, wine glasses and coffee mugs. The bathroom was also roomy and the Aveda bath products were lovely.

The location is great, just a block from the river. Restaurants, shopping and attractions are very nearby and an easy walk even in winter. We walked to the art museum, Macy's on State Street, Frontera Grill and the Magnificent Mile.

The daily manager's reception/happy hour on the 6th floor was a great touch. It was very busy, especially at 5:30 when it started. Lines streched out both doors for food and drinks. But bar service was great and the cocktails were free. (Be sure to tip the bartenders!). The food was ok. Salami, cheese, crostini and some toppings that went fast. The food spread was pretty decimated about 20 minutes after the start and was never refreshed. But it was a nice, little free snack.

Breakfast is set up each morning by the elevators on each floor with a toaster, breads, bagels, cream cheese, jam and butter, yogurt and cereal, coffee, tea, milk and juice. It was nice to have this small breakfast in the room rather than going out and spending $20 on breakfast.

All in all, this was a great hotel experience. We loved the location and service and would stay here again.

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floor have a bit of a view. Lower floors have none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor! We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and especially pleased to receive such positive guest feedback about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to know we delivered on that promise. I’m also pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary evening reception as well but disappointed to learn the antipasto spread was not replenished. I’ve followed up with our Food & Beverage manager to ensure that this is not an issue in the future. Again, thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. We stayed in a corner king room which was very spacious and very quiet even though it was New Years Eve weekend. The staff goes out of its way to make sure guests get their needs met. The evening cocktail hour was an added plus as they served high quality alcohol, beer and wine in glass glasses, and was a nice addedh. The morning continental breakfast included coffee, juices, fruit and muffins and pastry.
The hotel has a great location with easy access to Michigan Avenue and many great River North restaurants, but is on a quiet street which is a rarity in this exciting city. We would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefthanded1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you kindly for the glowing recommendation! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent weekend stay with us and found your corner king room to your liking! I’m also happy that you were able to enjoy and indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well as our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast! I’m also happy to know you were able to take advantage of our location in vibrant downtown River North district with our many great restaurant options, as you mentioned. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I choose this hotel for a short family getaway based on the raving reviews on Tripadvisor. I was not totally disappointed but the expectations were surely higher than what the actual experience was. Good: Location - Short walking distance from everywhere, few blocks from Millenium park, the Loop, MagMile, everything. Doorman: he was honest at indicating the cheaper option for parking compared to valet, even if that would have meant a nice tip for him. Hotel's cost is $47/day (plus tip), while one block down next to CVS you can self park for 35/day. Breakfast - loved the idea to have a counter full of the usual stuff at every floor, saves the time and the hassle of dealing with crowds in the common room. Not as good as described: Beds - we got a 2 Queen beds bedroom. Well, I have slept in a queen bed with the same woman for 20+ years, and we did not expand suddenly when we got to Chicago. I do not know if there a different sized Queen for hotels Vs the one you can buy, but they were no queens. And the lady at the reception could have been less dismissive when my wife asked for explanations ("Sure they are queens, we only have either king or queen beds at our hotel... scoff..."). Bathroom - I would have expected less scratches and peeled wallpaper and dents on walls and bath tub. Overall, good hotel, maybe the expectations were too high given what I read

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicosne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to know you found our central location in the downtown River North district to your liking. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I am sorry to hear that the beds were not to your liking; I assure you that all the Queen beds in our rooms are standard queen size and we also had our Engineering department measure the beds to verify that they are the standard 60x80 queen size beds.

I’m sorry to hear about the condition of your bathroom. That is not typical of the high standards we maintain for our rooms and I will be reaching out to you directly for your room number so we may rectify those issues maintenance immediately. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We live in the Chicago area and have stayed in several hotels in the city. I think I'm officially done with "boutique" hotels. We just spent two nights at the hotel (valet parking package). On the first day we were not able to check in until 4:00, instead of 3:00 p.m. Yes, we walked around to kill time, but really would have liked to rest in the room from a full day at the Art Institute. The room was clean (bathroom was very clean), but the decor was average and the furniture is really showing wear. The carpet really looked dirty in several areas. We did get a drink and snack at the manager's reception, a nice perk. The Aveda products in the bathroom area a nice touch, but the towels were a bit sparse. The hotel does allow dogs, which are supposedly on a special "dog floor." Given that the hotel is only 6 floors, I can tell you that was not the case since I saw dogs in the elevator going up to higher floors (we were on 2), but we also had a large dog next door to us. It left out a big "woof" the first evening when we got back to the room, but never made another sound that we heard. Since I'm allergic to dogs, it's my own fault for not verifying that we were in a dog-free room. Vacuuming alone will not remove all the dander after a dog or cat stay in the room. The morning continental breakfast that is included was fine and is a nice benefit as well. The front desk and valet staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: There are no good views, but you're still better facing the street in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue1685911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. While I’m happy to receive positive feedback about our front office team, I’m disappointed to hear that you had to wait until 4pm to check-in to your room. This is not typical of our hotel and I am following up with our housekeeping manager and investigating the issue to ensure that this does not happen again in the future. I’m also sorry to hear that you were placed on our dog-friendly floor; we try to accommodate all room requests and encourage guests to let us know if they have any special room requests. I will also follow up with our team regarding dogs on other floors; it is our policy that all dogs stay on the 2nd and unfortunately sometimes guests do not notify us in advance. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pet policy.


Thank you for letting us know about the carpet in your room. Our Housekeeping Department recently acquired a wonderful new carpet shampoo product that is really working well for the deep cleaning of the rooms. I will be contacting you directly for your room number so our housekeeping team can give immediate attention to your room, if they have in fact not already done so. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your helpful feedback. We hope that you’ll give us another chance again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Super friendly staff!!! Withwin walking distance to most of everything yet away from the crowds and traffic. Most definitely quieter than staying at the magnificent mile where tourists are everywhere.

Continental breakfast and happy hour everyday!! This is a great way to meet other guests. Valet parking is convenient altho pricey. . . public parking is nearby but not sure if this is safe. Worth investigating to safe money. Public transportation is easily accessible too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mk6116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I’m especially pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I agree that it’s a great way to mix and mingle with other guests. I’m also pleased to know you found our location in the vibrant River North district convenient and to your liking as well. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,021 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing