We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #23 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a girls weekend at the Amalfi December 15th to 17th, 2012 with my daughters and friend, and this hotel was everything the reviews said and more. From the comfortable and homey lobby and welcoming staff to the music playing in our room upon arrival and the delicious appetizers and Amalfitini...this experience was wonderful. They were very good about helping with anything we needed from calling a cab to giving directions when we called lost. I had never been to Chicago but I am now in love. The hotel is in a very central location and we walked to numerous places including Daley Park, the Magnificent Mile, State Street and many more. We also enhanced our tour with the Winter Lights Trolley and Flavors of Chicago Tour from Tastebud Tours both which were great! I have nothing bad to say at all about this experience. I would definately stay here again and recommend to anyone planning a stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for the kind feedback! We’re delighted to hear your girls weekend was an enjoyable one! I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception—especially our signature Amalfitini cocktail. I’m also pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago and visit all the nearby sites like the Magnificent Mile and State Street as well as all the fabulous tours Chicago has to offer! Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you all back for another girls weekend soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,618
    639
    142
    38
    19
See reviews for
418
900
111
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

It's the nice extra touches that set the Amalfi aside from the competition. Breakfast by the elevators on each floor (I loved how everyone just wandered to breakfast in their pyjamas) and complimentary drinks (yes......thats free!) and nibbles from 530-700 every evening. Free wi-fi, although it was patchy, clean room (although in my opinion 3 star decor), friendly staff and great location.

I'm a light sleeper though and above all I value a quiet room. Ours was perfect in that regard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for the kind feedback! We’re delighted to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m especially pleased to know you appreciated the “extra touches” like our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast served on each floor. I’m also pleased to know you appreciated our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great location, nice rooms - although they are on the small side, parking is a few blocks away, so don't leave anything in the car that you need. The best part of this hotel is the continental breakfast on every floor. You don't have to get dressed and go downstairs to grab your coffee and roll, it's right outside your door. The evening happy hour is pretty nice also.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minocqua4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you kindly for the lovely review. We’re honored to be your “favorite hotel in Chicago!” I’m delighted you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our evening cocktail reception and deluxe continental breakfast. I’m especially pleased to know you appreciated the convenience of the breakfast being served on each floor as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi on Sunday December 2, 2012. Numerous restaurants close by. Easy walk to Michigan Avenue & State Street. Walked to the Art Institute. Short walk to the "Redline Subway" which we took to DePaul University.
The continental breakfast was fine. The room was clean and the staff helpful and friendly. Missed the evening cocktal reception. Will stay again next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m especially pleased to know you were able to take advantage of our central location in the downtown River North district and visit all the nearby sites including the Art Institute and Michigan Avenue. I’m further pleased to know you found our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast to your liking. Hopefully next time you’ll be able to enjoy the lounge and our signature Amalfitini cocktail! Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

You can walk to the theater district and the train with a direct line to O'hare.
The Chicago river is a short block away a view that rivals the New York skyline.
Love the city of Chicago and the friendly people.
Our first stay we had a grand view of Harry Kareys caricature on his namesake restaurant.The second stay we could watch remodeling on the inside of an old brick building across the alley.There was no noise with the remodeling,and the 12 inch by 12 inch wood beams supporting the roof structure offered a clue to the age of the building.I think these things added an interesting flavor to our stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We’re pleased to know you enjoyed both your stays with us and found the different views to your liking—including Harry Caray’s Italian Steakhouse, who provides our in-room dining! I’m also pleased to hear you found our central downtown location in the River North district to your liking as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your Amalfi experience! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We saved money staying here. Took public transportation from airport, and could walk to any place of interest. Free breakfast was plentiful and happy hour included a house special martini that was outstanding. Free wifi in the rooms and Customer service is the best I have seen. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you kindly for the glowing review! We’re delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m especially pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location with close proximity to the CTA stations and nearby attractions! I’m further pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our evening cocktail reception and our signature Amalfitini cocktail. We truly appreciate your warm recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Amalfi Hotel is a comfortable boutique-like hotel... A well appointed smaller hotel in a great location that felt like home base within a day. The concierge service was invaluable and welcoming. Several women from Boston spent 5 days there and would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nwavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to know we came through on that promise. I’m further pleased to know you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking as well. Thank you again for the glowing recommendation. We hope to have you all stay with us again very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing