We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Top-notch hotel. Best location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top-notch hotel. Best location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel location, staff hospitality and amenities offered at the Amalfi Hotel Chicago far exceeded my expectations.

Comfortable pillows, a very clean room, plentiful breakfast selections, and VIP assistance with public transportation and directions - these are just a few of the reasons I will be returning to the Amalfi Hotel Chicago in 2013.

I will definitely recommend the Amalfi to friends, family and business collegues

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you kindly for sharing your review on TripAdvisor! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and to know we exceeded your expectations! I’m pleased to receive such positive guest feedback about our team as well as our rooms. I’m also happy to know you found our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and its selection to your liking as well. We’re honored to receive such a rave review and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    615
    133
    35
    19
See reviews for
394
863
109
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baton rouge
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Amalfi is located just a few blocks off Michigan Ave, across the street from the famous Harry Caray's Italian Steakhouse right in the middle of many great steakhouses. I was greeted warmly at reception and quickly checked-in. The receptionist informed me that there was a complimentary open-bar with "light finger food" each afternoon starting at 5:30. This was a great place to unwind after a busy day. My room was quite large and well appointed with a large array of toiletries, comfortable bed, large work area. There was even an umbrella in the room for me to use during my stay. I was greeted by name each time I returned to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doceyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
What a lovely review! We’re delighted to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! We pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver, so it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise and continue to do so with each stay! I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception—I agree it’s a great way to unwind after a busy day! We truly honored to receive such a flattering review and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for business and the location is perfect for being close to the Merchandise Mart,restaurants and shopping. The breakfast on each floor is convent although the staff did not explain very well how that set up worked. The interiors and furniture of the rooms are very nice. Bathrooms are up to date and they have Aveda products or your convienance. I was surprised how quiet the rooms were.You will not hear any city noise and the linens and bedding are ver comfortable. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level and facing the front of the hotel. Also not to be close to the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We’re overjoyed to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m especially pleased to know you found our rooms to your liking and appreciated our in-room amenities like our Aveda spa products. I’m also happy to know you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location for both your business and pleasure needs! Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback—we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Charming hotel with great, helpful staff. Breakfast included on each floor with variety to choose from. Happy hour in early evening was free. Rooms comfortable. Elevators Older women in our party were comfortable. Staff helped with arranging transportation when needed. Convenient to access to City Sight seeing Tours and Boat Architectural Tours, just a few blocks away by the river. Many restaurants nearby. Easy walking distance. Hotel stay was for four days. It was perfectly located for we out of towners in the height of summer action. A refuge and great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbabe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team! I’m so happy to hear they were able to assist you with transportation and anything else you needed. I’m further pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your gracious recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your group back again next summer!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for just one night before moving onto the Westin. The staff at checkin were very friendly. The room was clean but the decor dated. The TV remote had a 10 second delay which is was very annoying. Wifi wasn't working well either. The free breakfast was ok.

Probably would not stay here again, there are plenty of other nice hotels near by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback at TripAdvisor. While I’m pleased to receive such positive feedback about our team, I’m disappointed to learn that your TV remote and WiFi weren’t working properly. We’re currently working with our TV and Internet providers to correct those issues immediately. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback—we hope you may reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed back during the mid part of September and as always really enjoyed the stay. The staff are always great when you arrive. Really enjoy the breakfest on each floor, so when you wake up the food is ready and waiting by the Elevator...just enough to start the day off right.

The rooms are always very clean and well taken care of. Just a great location to stay when visiting Downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team. We take pride in the high level of service we deliver and it’s always a pleasure to know we delivered on that promise. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. Coming from an experienced traveler, your recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Breakfast each morning was a pleasiing array of items you would not find else where. Cocktail hour was catered by the famous HARRY CAREY'S across the street great chance to meet other guests. Hotel is a great place to stay. We had never been to CHICAGO before, but we felt very welcome all over town! The AMALFI is truly a JET SET Hotel., Words can not express this wonderful hotel!!

Room Tip: I hope all the rooms were as nice as ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
What a flattering review! We’re honored to be considered the “Best Hotel in Chicago” and to know your first stay with us was such an enjoyable one! I’m further pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast as well as our evening cocktail reception. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#11 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#4 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing