We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to boutique standards”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not up to boutique standards”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I selected this hotel based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor from a list available for our convention. Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed in the hotel. I agree with the reviewer who said it was not 4 star. Although the personnel were very nice and the location convenient, the accommodations were at best average. The infrastructure is old with a cosmetic layer of boutique on top. The carpet in our room sorely needed cleaning, the furniture was banged up along the bottom - just a general aura of overuse and no updating. The finish on drain ring in the bath sink was corroded, both the sink and bath faucets worked backwards, and the drain in the tub was so slow that we were standing ankle deep in water at the end of a shower. That problem was corrected. Breakfast selections, while adequate for continental, were not kept full during the breakfast hours. On Sunday we (and many other guests) had to hunt on different floors for enough to eat at 8:30am. At 9am suddenly the selections were being refreshed. Too late for us. Amalfi is off our list of Chicago hotels. The Talbot is my idea of a real boutique hotel in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackhawk-Hardware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we’re pleased to receive positive feedback about our team, we’re saddened to hear your stay was a disappointing one. We strive to maintain the highest level of guest room quality and I’m sorry to hear we did not live up to these standards. I will be contacting you directly for more information so we can rectify these guest room issues immediately. We also appreciate your feedback about the breakfast not being replenished often enough and apologize for that inconvenience as well. We will share your feedback with the appropriate departments to ensure that these issues are corrected. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    642
    145
    38
    19
See reviews for
435
914
114
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Great friendly and efficient staff. People and dog friendly. Close to good restaurants. Recommend Keeifer's. Hotels rooms were comfortable and clean. We would highly recommend the Almafi to our friends!
Enjoyed our stay!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you kindly for the wonderful review! We’re so pleased to know you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I’m especially pleased to receive such positive feedback about our team! We’ll be sure to pass your kind comments along. I’m also happy to hear you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful restaurants surrounding us, including our next-door neighbor Keefer’s! We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is central for everything in Chicago. Some of the best restaurants and bars are within easy walking distance and the El station is within a few blocks.

The hotel itself is small compared with some of its competitors in the area but offers great value for money. It offers a free buffet continental breakfast which is conveniently served on each floor. In the evening there is a free food and drink reception every night (between 5.30 and 7.00). There are snacks (meats, cheese, hummous etc) and an open bar with premium brands. There is also free wi fi throughout the hotel including the bedrooms.

The service was excellent, the staff being consistently polite and helpful. The housekeepers were particularly good.

The rooms are a little old fashioed and could do with a spot of updating. However this did not effect the overall enjoyment of our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found our central downtown location to your liking! I’m pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast, evening cocktail reception, and WiFi. I’m also pleased to receive such lovely feedback about our team! We pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver and it’s always a pleasure to hear we lived up to our high standards. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

When on the road for business or pleasure the one thing you miss the most is the comfort of your own home and being away from freinds and family, not at the Amalfi Hotel! The comfort at the Amalfi is just like home and the staff is just like family. The Amalfi Hotel is nestled between all the great spots of Chicago's finest, shopping, eating, theatre and night life. The morning continental breakfast is a great way to start your day and later relax in their newly renovated Revello Lounge. I look forward to my stay at the Amalfi every time Im in the Chicago area. So next time you are looking for a great place to stay in Chicago, stay at the Amalfi your home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Many thanks for the gracious review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback and to be your “home away from home” here in Chicago! I’m delighted to know you’re able to take advantage of our central location in the downtown River North district and all the shopping and nightlife surrounding us. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great customer service. Friendly and efficient
Nice rooms, nothing fancy but if you're not planning on spending all your time there it's great.

Great happy hour every night, nice selection of drinks and appetizers for your enjoyment. Great recommendations on trips (Architectural history boat cruise is a must) and restaurants (great rec's on Chicago-style pizza place).

Room Tip: Try and get street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bart2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and to receive such great feedback about our team! I’m happy to hear we were able to provide you with helpful recommendations—I agree the architectural boat cruise is a must when visiting Chicago! I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is the place to stay in Chicago! The location is perfect - 1 minute on foot from Magnificent Mile and the same in the other direction to N. State Street!
The rooms are great and spacey and the breakfast is a small continental buffet on each floor where you just grab what you want and take it to your room!

Excellent stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceklarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you kindly for the thoughtful review! We’re delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location in the downtown River North district was to your liking! I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our deluxe complimentary continental breakfast and found it convenient that it’s served on each floor. We truly appreciate the glowing recommendation from a seasoned traveler like yourself and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago. The location was great - walking distance to the subway and bus, shopping and the downtown. Loved the morning breakfasts and happy hour. The parking fees were high so we found a place down the street which was cheaper. Staff was helpful and friendly and gave us directions and suggestions on how to get places.
Only issue I had was when I called to enquire about the cost to purchase a vanity mirror like the one in our bathroom. The mirror is wonderful - gives great magnification and has lighting for different situations. I phoned down to the front desk and got hold of housekeeping. They said they couldn't help me, but would get the person in charge of that to give me a call back within 30 minutes. Well, no one ever called back. I consider that to be poor customer service and wanted to mention to the hotel that they need improvement in that area. Other than that, the hotel was marvelous and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor! We’re delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago. I apologize that our team never followed up with the information you requested about our vanity mirrors; we take great pride in the service we deliver and I’m disappointed to read your comments. We will use your feedback to train and educate our associates to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

As for the mirrors we have in our room, the Conair model is available for purchase by wholesale only and we’d be happy to order it for you. You can also purchase a comparable Conair model with all the same features on both Conair’s website and Amazon.com. That model number is BE4NW.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and your warm recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,029 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing