We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, as always!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2008

I have stayed at the Amalfi Hotel before and it has always been excellent. This time was no different. Usually I book direct with the hotel, however, I found a slightly better deal booking through Expedia, which saved about $100.

The staff were great. I arrived early and they had a room waiting. I was placed on the 6th (top) floor and it was quiet and comfortable. Overall, it was as good as it gets! I will definitely continue to stay here when I'm in Chicago.

Remember, the hotel is close to everything - downtown, the Magnificent Mile, lots of restaurants, etc. Everything is within walking distance!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chris500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,173 - 2,179 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2008

Stayed at the Amalfi hotel in Chicago this month with good expectations. And what a disappointment! Paid just under $200 for a "deluxe king", and what we got was a 2nd floor view of construction, a dirty, badly "rehabbed" bathroom, itchy sheets, no down comforter!! (just sheets and the gross old hotel blanket thing) , previously opened bottles in our mini bar, and plenty of rude, inexperienced staff members & managers (def. not a 3 or 4 star staffing!!) I do live in Chicago, and have stayed at a wide range of places. I know that for $200 in February, you can expect a great hotel. As there were many available the weekend we stayed at Amalfi, choosing it over say, the Palmer House Hilton, Hotel Sax, Sutton Place, Hotel 71, was a huge waste. Definitely keep looking and book elsewhere. Not worth the price at all, don't let their pictures fool you. Also, I wouldn't say that our experience was just a rare mishap, the hotel looks like an old Days Inn that had undergone a slight renvation, i.e., new lamps.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicago1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with other travelers. It is with deep regret to hear that your experience was less than satisfying during your visit to Chicago.
You will be happy to know that, because of guest feedback like yours, we have implemented a number of changes to improve our guests’ comfort and level of service. I reviewed your comments with our front desk staff, as well as our housekeeping department. We recently updated our updated bedding and each bed is complete with 315-thread count Egyptian cotton bedding and Premium Serta© Pillow Top Mattresses.

We thank you again for choosing our hotel and we offer our sincerest apologies for not performing to our usual standards throughout your stay.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

The price was too good to be true. Truth came out as soon as we stepped in this place.
First of all,George,the rude guy at the front desk took an incredible long time to check us in. We liked that,after 5 hours flight from the west coast it has been a nice Chicago welcome,thank you Mr George.
The lobby was really weird,with a mixed array of colors,like orange,green,yellow..it felt like a Brasilian hotel. The only nice person seemed the bellman.

Rooms. We booked a non smoking room,but it seemed the room had 20 heavy smokers in there for 2 days and never had a window open for vent. Even the sheets stinked smoke...disgusting.
The mustard colored carpet was pretty worn and cigarette butt burned. A nice touch were the books and the room size,but it all appalled compared to the general feel of the room. And here we go again those weird colors.
The bed was very comfy,except for the conforter wich was made with a very cheap material that turned the bed into a hoven.

Maid service was really weird. They left every single day some water filled in the bathroom sink..what for ??? Weird.
And turndown service was only for one night....no need that...just skip it,don't do it for just one night....
The bathroom colors all added a feeling of dirty and worn,they need to replace those red/grey/yellow thing with a more traditional black/white/grey.

The breakfast on each floor was not bad,really.

Bottom line,if you look for a cheap place to stay then go for it ,but do not belive their overhyped self written reviews ( yes,they write their on reviews on Tripadvisor..and they know it )
It was cheap tho because of the low season. I really doubt seeing myself paying more than what'ive paid ( $ 129.00 per night ) for this joke.

And also go for it if you don't mind being trated like you are not cool or not hip or not whatever they stand for....

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank Andyvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

My fiance and I visited Chicago for a long weekend back in May. We stumbled upon the Amalfi online - the location was good, the price was in our budget, and I wanted to stay in a boutique hotel so we picked it. The room was spacious and the best part was the complimentary breakfast! Saved us time in the morning - we just grabbed a coffee, banana, and muffin and went sightseeing!

If I was going to visit Chicago again (which I would!) I would recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Canada_is_Home123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

My son had stayed here for a wedding or I might not ever have heard of it. Per his review we booked it with another couple for a getaway weekend and we were not disappointed. Check in was smooth, I loved having the magazines in the room. The complimentary cocktails and appitizers were a great touch also, as was the breakfast by the elevators. The coffee was delicious, nice bosc pears, and wonderful pastries. My only complaint was upon check out, there was a mini bar charge and $35 of long distance that we never used. These charges were removed immediately, but check your bill when you leave.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nab074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

I already wrote a review about all the free stuff you get but now I'm going to write about the location! I like to walk. This place was close to EVERYTHING!!!! The 'Taste of Chicago' was on during the 4th of July. Let me tell you, this was the best 'taste' of a city that I have ever been to. It was massive and took 10 mins to walk there. I took the train in from the airport (it was around $2.00 but it was a solid 45 mins but for $2.00, how can you complain?)and it was approx a 10 walk to the hotel. We pretty much walked everywhere. We walked the entire magnificent mile strip. We went to the Blue Navy or whatever the docks are called. My favourite bar was 'Pops for Champagne.' Wow. I love champagne. And then of course there was the John Hancock Centre. And lots of shopping!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RupunzelAerial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

I do not understand the negative reviews recently posted about the Amalfi. I read them after I made the reservation but decided to stick with my choice because all the other reviews were so positive. I am glad I gave the Amalfi the benefit of the doubt. It was truly a wonderful hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JaxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#18 of 192 in Chicago
1,158 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $124 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing