We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel, great location, great wine...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SANTA MONICA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, great wine...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My wife and I were in Chicago for a combo work/pleasure trip for two days. I selected the Amalfi Hotel over other hotels we've stay at in Chicago for several reasons: The website pictures of the room were nice, the amenities I wanted (free wifi in rooms) were available, great location, and what specially helped to make my decision was the parking/room package, manager's evening wine/ cheese reception and the continental breakfast served on "each floor".

Our room was very clean, bathroom clean and modern. Water pressure great. Room thermostat easy to use, elevators came quickly. The front desk had our reservation and were very helpful with directions. We loved our stay. If you require any of these amenities I highly recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNBUMSSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review! It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. As a frequent business traveler to Chicago, your comments mean a lot to us in maintaining our standards for quality and service. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you to Chicago again in the future!

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    586
    126
    34
    18
See reviews for
364
825
107
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great hotel during my visit to Chicago. It has an excellent location and close to so many activities and restaurants. The Amalfi staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and gave us wonderful restaurant suggestions and helped us with directions for various sites of interest in the city. I will definitely stay there again!

David, from Holland, Michigan

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winterthur
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was at the Amalfi for 3 nights. I was lucky that the tips i read here were correct. The hotel is on a good location, close to the Michigan Ave. Around the corner there are lot of shops, restaurants, coffees.
The reception of the hotel works quite quick, dont know why, but also the check out was completely uncomplicated.
The room had a good size, with a TV and DVD player, Iphone dock station... cosmetics from AVENA, bathrope, lot of towels, etc. Everything is very clean
The best was the happy hour: everyday at 6.00 pm! This is only for hotel guests. I read some comments that the food is not good, but this is not the sense of this. I mean, there are snacks: like cheese, olives, salami.. I mean, just for the drinks. The drinks were free. The atmosphere was really nice.
And: everymorning there is a breakfast buffett on each floor which contains: coffee, milk, juices, bread, fruits, etc.
I was really surprise about in in an american hotel.
Oh, the WIFI is also free. And the Fitness Center is not huge but has enough for training
I am sure that whenever I am coming next time to Chicago I will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estela10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We’re pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago for your shopping and dining needs! I’m happy you found our complimentary amenities to your liking—especially our evening cocktail reception and the selection of Italian hor d’oeuvres! We truly appreciate your gracious review and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We picked this hotel based on reviews from trip advisor. Husband has been a business traveller before and knows the importance of a clean hotel. Business people expressed the cleanliness ,helpfull staff, ease of a quick breakfast. They were not wrong. Very nice ,clean rooms,very helpful staff, great exercise room,nice breakfast, and an amazing cocktail hour.Location is the best, walking distance to many attractions. Harey Carey's , right across the street ,has the most amazing steak .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Amalfi with two other couples and had a wonderful time! The location of the Amalfi couldn't be much better; the proximity to restaurants, bars, and clubs provides a great base to explore the city. The room was spacious and clean. We loved the manager's reception and the breakfast service on each floor. Large bathroom made it easy for both of us to get ready at the same time. Highly recommend this upscale and sleek hotel and can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor overlooked Kinzie to the south and State to the east. No problems with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel_R_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
What a kind review! We’re thrilled to know you and your wife had such a wonderful stay with us and found our location in the River North district a “great base to explore the city” as you so fittingly put it! I’m pleased you found our rooms to your liking—especially our spacious bathrooms! We truly appreciate your gracious words and look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I just stayed at the Amalfi with my sister and niece (6 years old) while we played tourist in Chicago. The staff was amazing and hotel was the perfect experience. Clean, modern and I loved the breakfast service on every floor (lots of folks in their jammies grabbing a pastry or coffee. The nightly cocktail hour is such a great idea. How nice to be able to unwind after a long day hitting the sites. Nordstrom's is conveniently located around the corner along with tons of great restaurants and sites within walking distance. We had several special requests and the staff were responsive and fast to meet our needs. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review! We’re delighted to know you had such a nice stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location in downtown Chicago—especially with Nordstrom’s and the Magnificent Mile within walking distance!

I’m also pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast conveniently served on each floor, as you mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Cordially,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

my friends and i stayed at the amalfi for a long weekend of shopping, eating and drinking. the staff here are wonderful, great breakfast and evening manager's reception. room was super clean with no problems. great shower pressure and spacious bathroom is much needed for 3 girls getting ready at the same time. small and quiet. can't wait to visit again -

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtchick54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,722 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#12 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing