We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Business Travel and Personal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Business Travel and Personal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I love the Amalfi..I have been staying there for Business and Personal for a little over 3 years. I have the option to stay at a number of hotels, but I always find myself at the Almalfi! The value is unbelievable...great location, breakfast right on the floor in the morning, drinks at night,WIFI.. LOVE IT!!! The staff really cares about your stay! Last year I checked in and I came down with a cold on the drive in, before I knew it the staff sent up hot tea to help me feel better! This hotel is WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,457
    586
    126
    34
    18
See reviews for
364
824
107
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We love this hotel. Whenever we go to Chicago for a weekend we stay at the Amalfi. The location is fab close to Harry Carreys, Rush Street, shopping and all of our favorite spots to visit. Michigan Avenue is a short walk as is downtown. The staff is always ready to make helpful suggestions and make us feel special and welcomed. I recommended the Amalfi to our local Womens group for their last fall venture and they loved it.

Room Tip: All floors have wonderful continental breakfast offerings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hursley219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
What a thoughtful review! We’re delighted to receive such a positive recommendation and thrilled that we are your hotel of choice in Chicago! I’m pleased that you enjoy taking advantage of our central location by visiting all the wonderful spots like Rush Street and Michigan Avenue! Thank you again for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel is fabulous! The location is great, staff are friendly and we love the modern decor. We've stayed there many times and always recommend it to friends or family that are visiting Chicago. It is within walking distance to many attractions and nice restaurants!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at the Amalfi in August for my bachelorette weekend and absolutely adored the property. What a great touch to have breakfast on our floor and to be able to walk down the hall in our pajamas! But the best is the manager's reception - I felt like I was in Italy with those amazing meats and cheeses plus the specialty cocktails. And of course the rooms were amazing. Nice touch with the newspaper in the bag, which of course I took home to use to carry wine bottles. Not sure if that was okay, but hey, now I'm promoting the hotel back home in Myrtle Beach. Can't wait to stay there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaImprov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Wi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We brought our two teenage boys to Chicago and stayed here for the weekend. We were on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet. The drapes keep all the light out so we could sleep in. The breakfast includes pastries including chocolate croissants, fruit, cereal, breads, as well as coffee, juice, and teas. The highlight is the daily reception that is all you can eat and drink for 90 minutes. There were meats, cheeses, veggies, olives, breads, hummus, and a black bean dip/salsa. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler38213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My husband and I frequent the Amalfi. It's our favorite hotel in the city. Not only is the cocktail hour and continental breakfast phenomenal, but the hotel employees really care and strive to make your experience great. My husband and I stayed last Saturday night for my birthday. Melissa, who works at the hotel, made reservations for us at Roy's for dinner. She set us up with a great table and the restaurant even put an insert in the menu for my birthday. Thank you so much, Melissa! We truly had a great experience at the Amalfi and you really helped to make my birthday memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our first time in Chicago and we loved both the city and the hotel. An easy walk from the city center attractions and the L "subway" lines. The rooms are a good size, bathrooms modern, beds big and very comfortable the hotel is everything you could need in a city centre. The business centre with complimentary printing is ideal for those boarding passes. We liked the self service breakfast on each floor which was well and frequently stocked with a good selection, the staff were friendly and helpful but the biggest bonus was the complimentary cocktail hour (and a half). An opportunity to chat with fellow guests and an unlimited supply of premium drinks and an appetising unlimited antipasti buffet. In fact the only problem was avoiding the urge to max out and spoil our appetite for dinner.

The hotel is chic and stylish though it is low rise so although our top (6th) floor room had reasonable views of Marina city those lower down, or at the rear of the hotel have no view.

Room Tip: as high as possible at the front (south)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HighburyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,720 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#12 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing