We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find, will be back"”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed at the Amalfi Hotel during the NRA convention this year. Usually we stay at the McCormick, but I am so glad they chose this location for us. Our rooms were ready early, as we had requested this since our flight left at 6 am and we were heading straight to a meeting, which was good as we were able to freshen up. The location is fantastic with lots of things to do within walking distance. The rooms were very nice, clean and super comfortable beds. The hotel offers free breakfast bar every morning and this was perfect as there was enough assortment to start the day. They also have a "Happy Hour" on the 6th Floor every night which is tended by a bar tender and there is a nice assortment of snacks to tie you over until dinner. I think the most amazing thing about this hotel is the Staff. The front desk could not have been more helpful with every need we brought to them. They went out of their way to please us and make us feel welcome. The bell station was also very nice and helpful in directing us to the right direction, even going as far as letting us know when the shuttle bus arrived across the street. I have taken shuttles before to the convention center, but have never had a bellman assist this way. My husband flew in one of the nights and did not have any issues obtaining the extra key to get into the room. We have decided that on our next trip to Chicago we will stay at the Amalfi. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeniffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 2,635 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed at the Amalfi for a combination of business and pleasure. I was in Chicago for NeoCon but came in early to see the city. The Amalfi was a great hotel to stay in,. It is located in a great location to do lots of things in the city. The staff was so nice and helpful. They helped me put together a route to go running by the river and were always willing to help with information about Chicago. I had my son and his girlfriend with me for the personal part of my trip and they really enjoyed the hotel too,. While we were there the hotel hosted a happy hour everyday from 5:30 - 7:30. They provided complimentary drinks and h'orderves for happy hour. it was nice to be able to visit with other guests of the hotel during happy hour. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoswellLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Booked thru Hotels.com and found booking a room for the time we had to go difficult as most rooms were booked throughout the whole of Chicago . Found out once there that a huge conference , 40,000 delegates was taking place all week ,takes place every year . This meant the price we paid was double the cost for the same time 2 weeks later . This meant that the hotel represented poor value for money . However on the many other pluses where , great room , good size , fabulous bed ( very comfy) , good bathroom , helpful concierge service with very useful and accurate advice , good location near the Mag Mile and immaculate housekeeping . Downside . No catering facilities on site apart from a basic cont breakfast laid out on each floor and taken back to room and very poor , albeit free, wifi . But was given a cable to speed things up and this helped

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

What a wonderful hotel.

The staff make you feel welcome.

Continental breakfast is served on each floor every day. Breakfast in bed - a perfect way to start the day!

Packets of tea, coffee, and even hot chocolate are provided in the room, but no milk! Fortunately, you can get milk at the breakfast buffet.

Pity there was no microwave in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starbrite657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

As soon as you step into the hotel lobby, you know you are not checking into a hotel chain. There is nothing cookie cutter or mass produced. The decor is sleek and modern. The lobby chairs are over sized and the accent rugs are bold. The chandeliers are not your grandma's chandelier. The waterfall next to the registration desks give off that spa zen. And the hot jazz playing softly through the speakers accessorize the fedora wearing bellman. Oh yes, A-Listers, walk into the Amalfi Hotel and you are stepping into cool.

The rooms are furnished to fit your either your business or personal needs. You have to love complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel and iPod docking stations in your room.

This is so cliche' but I have been saving the best for last. I could not wait to share my favorite two amenities. First, the Amalfi has a complimentary Manager's Reception, every evening, with appetizers and drinks.The bartenders serve high quality liquors and manage the lounge-like area.

My second favorite Amalfi amenity is the complimentary breakfast. This breakfast is not like most hotels where you have to put on a pile a clothes, stand in line in a lobby dining area and wait for milk for your cereal. If you are not the cheerful morning person, that is not the way to start your day. The Amalfi sets up breakfast on every floor. Oh, what a treat!!!! Thank you's and kudos to the staff who set up and break down that many breakfast areas, everyday.

**A-List tip - If you are able to make the Manager's Reception, try the two signature drinks: the Amalfitini and the Sorrento. These two cocktails are light and delicious. The bartenders have ingredients cards so you can experience these cocktails at home.

http://myalistlife.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AListerLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife and I spent one night here over the Memorial Weekend. Found a great rate on Orbitz and based on TA reviews had no hesitation.

Valet service met us our car and promptly gave us our claim ticket. At $44 per night, valet parking is not cheap, but is a necessary evil for this area (very few alternatives for parking).

Lobby is very small but well decorated. No bar or restaurant on site.

Our room was very nice, clean, well equipped and the bed was very very comfortable. The bathroom was equally clean and nice... shower had a double shower head and had great water pressure.

Great added perk was the complimentary happy hour on the 6th floor. Located in the middle of the building in a conference room; it was a bit awkward and seating is in short supply but the drinks were good and the light apps were decent.

Complimentary continental breakfast is served on every floor in the elevator hallway. Very convenient to grab a quick cup of coffee and bagel to go on the way out into the city.

Would definitely stay here again.

One piece of advice: Honor bar in the room is not cheap. $7 for a bottle of water. And there is no vending on any level. So if you find yourself needing a beverage in the middle of night bring something back to the room with you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IvanhP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed at the Amalfi for a week while visiting our daughter. Agree with much of what has been said, excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious, well equipped and very clean. Breakfast and evening cocktails were a bonus. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Amalfi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkYeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#19 of 191 in Chicago
3,109 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,032 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $126 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing