We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was portrayed”
Review of Amber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amber Inn
Ranked #161 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Orestes, Indiana
1 review
“Not what was portrayed”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We rented two rooms because we came up for my husband's graduation for one night and was very disappointed in the rooms. By looking at the website pictures we were expecting decent clean rooms and to our surprise OMG, they were not very clean, one room the chairs had big tears in them, lamps shades were crushed and falling off. Our room the fan in bathroom was falling down, hair on floor that was not ours, comforter on bed had burn holes, and the plastic mattress cover made so much noise when you moved you could not sleep. It took 2 phone calls for my mother in law to get an extra pillow, no clocks. Will not stay there ever again and would not recommend to anyone. The only nice thing was Pearls Place, the food was excellent and the waitress we had was awesome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phynx777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    11
    13
    15
See reviews for
14
13
12
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed at Amber Inn this summer with my husband, brother-in-law, and mother-in-law. When I made a few phone calls inquiring about rooms and eventually making a reservation, the staff was helpful, but I couldn't get all the information from just one person. I believe I have it figured out now though: they have two different kinds of rooms: hotel and motel. We stayed in the motel rooms (door opens to the parking lot), and they were pretty dingy. They say the hotel rooms are more spacious. Our rooms were good enough to stay in for a couple nights, but there were visible cobwebs all over the ceilings, and in general it felt very unkempt.

Some people have commented on the area of town being "scary." I don't think it was such a bad part of town, but if you come from a fairly homogeneous, upper/middle class neighborhood, this area of town might make you a little uncomfortable. Just remember, diversity doesn't mean dangerous. It certainly isn't located in a glamorous part of Chicago though. But the price is just right for where you're staying; anywhere else is going to cost you many times more.

A great advantage is that the train is located just two blocks away.

One last thing they could improve would be the knowledge of the staff. I asked about recommendations for restaurants, for example, and no one had an answer except for their own restaurant on the premises. It wasn't very helpful from a tourist's perspective.

Final verdict: stay here (try the hotel room) if you care more about the economical value of it and don't mind not having a fancy place to sleep, but be prepared that the location is not like the nicest parts of Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 571visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

At first I was skeptical! This hotel is in a sketchy neighborhood but it is on the corner, gated and the hotel owns the restaurants right next door, there is security, and by day 3 I felt like VIP because of the hotel Manager (Robin). She made up for any worries I had. We stayed 3 nights and we were upgraded to a suite for free. We were there for a concert and she saved us hundreds of dollars in transportation by shuttling everyone who was staying there and going to the concert, back and forth to the concert (2 nights) herself! She went out of her way to be hospitable to us! You are getting what you pay for in the hotel room, cheap but the service was priceless! I will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jharlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Let me start by saying when paying the price you pay for here and all the other hotels triple that dont walk in and expect trump towers but it is a good cheap place to stay staff was nice close to the subway green line as well as the number 29 bus runs on the corner both taking u to main attractions Yes the outside looks scary at night but stayed away from kings dr at night and no one bothered us at all

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wewafinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My friends and I were coming here for a convention. Because we are all students, our budget was limited and we couldn't afford the $400/night rooms that other attendees were staying at. It took me awhile to did a place that was in our price range, close to a bus line that went to the convention center, and that had availability during the time that we were there. I was pretty happy when I found Amber Inn, because there were so many positive reviews and seemed like a great deal. Being that the starting rate was so cheap, we even decided to upgrade to the "hotel suite" for $91/night.

Our experience there was summed up by the text message that our friend who arrived there first sent out: "OMG this place is sooooo ghetto!"

It was in a very unsafe area of Chicago. We didn't even feel comfortable walking out to the bus stop and just decided to take cabs everywhere. The room was run-down and smelled like musty BO. The bathroom had some sort of voyeuristic red light that was reminiscent of a low-budget porn film. We stayed there three days and they never cleaned our room. When we asked for extra towels and pillows, the response was..."we're in the process of looking for them." Ugh-they never ended up bringing our pillow and my friend and I had to share one between us. One of our cab drivers, upon learning where we were going, commented that it was 'the hooker hotel' and asked us if we heard screaming at night. Our room was two girls and one guy, and our guy friend already had plans to stay in another hotel for the third and fourth night of our trip. I was very close to begging him to stay because I didn't feel safe staying there with just us two young girls. Thankfully, us girls also had a chance to escape by the third night and did that as quickly as possible.

The good thing is that the staff was nice about refunding my money for the last night, and the owner/manager of the place seems like a really nice lady. She asked us why we were leaving so early and we were just like,"I'm sorry, we gotta go..."

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosiean86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chicago hotels

New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

excellent rooms, clean and big, cheap prices. Subway station near the hotel.
excellent diner beside: Pearl's Place
But the aera is unsafe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squirrelroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

If you are not from Chicago and you read a great review and you look at their website, you are misled!! We drove from OK to this hotel and we were afraid to get out of the car. I had called the hotel to see if the train was nearby...it was but it was way too scary to walk there. The clerk at the hotel would not refund our money because we did not cancel within 24 hours--lesson learned! Pay the extra money and stay somewhere on Lakeshore Drive--

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Kenwood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago - Lake Shore
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#135 of 190 in Chicago
56 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#144 of 190 in Chicago
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chicago South Loop Hotel
#99 of 190 in Chicago
1,649 reviews
Carlton Inn Midway
#49 of 190 in Chicago
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Inn

Property: Amber Inn
Address: 3901 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60653-2105
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Hotel Chicago
Amber Inn Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing