We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amber Inn
Nearby Hotels
$528
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$880
$675
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$324
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$519
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$787
$607
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
17
18
12
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
18
12
13
17
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights during our first trip to Chicago ! Everybody from the housekeeping staff to the Office desk staff was very helpful and wonderful ! The room was nice and clean (it opens with a real key, not a card). The hotel is safe and quiet. Great location, a short ride (10min by train) from the Loop and every major attractions in Chicago.
We will highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in a great place for a nice price !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieFrance60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Fantastic place if you are looking for good quality at a great price. I have been staying at Amber Inn 2 nights every week for last 2 months and woudn't go anywhere else! The staff and so helpful and friendly - I work night shift and they made sure I was able to sleep without interruption each and every day. Also if you stay make sure you eat at Pearls Place downstairs. Great southern home cooking with again the friendliest people in town!!! Thankyou all....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

My husband and son stayed here. Everyone was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly!!! We will be doing return trips and will not call anywhere else. Back to Amber Inn for us:) The price was the best I found($59) and the room was nice and comfortable. Parking was free and Kimberly(works at desk) gave them lots of help and money saving tips! Hotel was nice and quiet. Great location also. Can't wait to go back! Rooms actually had a key and not a card!

Room Tip: Just call Kimberly at the front desk! AMAZING
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

First you receive a real key to room not electronic key card to secure your room. Could not lock dead bolt when you left room only had ineffective door handle lock. Web page said had all these amenties and there were non provided that were listed. No breakfast like listed, no fridge or microwave as listed asked about it and they said they were only in the suites. Wonder what does looked like. Telephone was one from someone's home I believe. Had to go to office to get iron and it was brought to the room but did not work. Colleagues called for iron also never got it. Police were at hotel at 5 am making verbal commnds to someone they were arresting. I would not let anyone I know stay here ever!!!! The staff was really nice but they have nothing to work with as far as the building goes. They don't show you true pictures of the place either when you look them up. What a scam....They charge entirely too much for this place. It put me in the mind of a pay by the hour place to stay. I guess some people would like it but our group was not impress at all and were glad to leave with all body parts as we arrived....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank punkin_598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Historical Amber Inn. The South Side of Chicago is a beautiful location, and I was only minutes from all major attractions near the Loop, and the South Side. The hospitality displayed by the Office desk staff , Security, and house keeping staff was SUPERB!! I will certainly recommend to any one who wants a great room at low cost, free parking, 24 hour security, and locality to train and highway bed down at the Amber.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews