We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hard Rock Hotel: in the thick of things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #113 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed January 27, 2007

This is a stylish hotel located right on North Michigan Avenue, a five minute walk from the Orange "Loop" line that will get you to and from Midway Airport. Forget about taking a taxi: the train is a $2 ride and less than 40 minutes away.

Our room (1802) was immaculate and spacious (350 sq ft, we were told). Decorated in grays and white, the room was comfortable and soothing, not jarring. On the other hand, we found the lighting to be very poor and had trouble reading, finding keys, etc. No kidding. The bathroom was also quite dark and it didnt have a heating lamp.

On the positive side, however, there were Aveda products in the bathroom, the windows were huge, so during the day there was tons of natural light, and no issues with darkness. The king size bed was very firm, but had a plush pillow top which made it very comfortable and inviting.

We had a largish TV with a DVD player. There is a safe and munchies. The gym is perfect, equipped with treadmills, ellipticals, bikes and weights. It is open 24/7 and there is video surveillance for safety. There are towels, water, headphones, disposable ear pads, and complimentary green apples. Suggestion: if you are on a floor below the 22nd, take the elevator up to 22nd, then down to L2 to get to the gym. This way you dont have to traverse the lobby.

The front desk staff is amiable, and very attentive. I read some other reviews about nasty personnel, but did not have that experience at all. I got a free newspaper with a smile, a free stamp when I needed it, change and all the coffee I could tolerate in the morning.

The Hard Rock is located less than a 20 minute walk from the Water Tower, the Drury Theater, John Hancock, and magnificent mile. For those who like a thrifty breakfast, we recommend Gourmet Pantry at 155 N. Michigan Avenue [--]. This deli made a delicious egg on a toasted roll with butter on a Sunday morning, no less: $1.99. The hotel has a breakfast buffet for $15.00 per person, but we did not partake of it.

We would stay at the Hard Rock again, and think it is great for people with "tweens." Not sure about the toddler set, though.

Stayed: January 2007
1  Thank gliding_along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,377 - 2,383 of 2,764 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2007

Rooms are so dark we had to insist they bring lamps so we could see. The room we had at almost $400 a night was dingy and small. Don't mistakingly think the Hard Rock Cafe is there, it isn't. They have a Chinese restaurant that is overpriced and limited on items. The room service menu is broken down in terms of times you can order certain foods. When my wife wanted a milk shake we had to call the Manager to have it made since the kitchen staff said it wasn't a choice. The Rolled Roast beef sandwich was listed under the 2 am choice and they refused to make it untill again, we called the Manager who did get it to us. The staff did appear friendly, although housekeeping totally disregarded our 'do not disturb' sign and would call us on the phone. Don't make the mistake of staying here but if you do, walk across the street and buy snacks you want because even a soda is $3 plus 19% gratuity. We ended up having to order delivery food brought to us. This is the most overpriced, over rated and dingy hotel we've ever stayed in. Taxi to airport is $40.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brookeschiavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

I couldnt have asked for a better place to spend our 5th Wedding Anniversary. We stayed here from Dec 31 to Jan 3 and the entire experience was wonderful. I've done my fair share of traveling to Hawaii, Orlando, Seattle, and others but have never came away with such a great experience like I had at the Hard Rock Hotel. We had a Deluxe King room on the 21st floor with an astounding view of both the city and the river. True, the room was smaller than most hotel's i've stayed at but the overall experience far outweighed that small detail. The entire staff was very pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay pleasureable. The floor and room we were on were surprisingly quiet. There are some excellent soundproofing or something because even on a rowdy night like New Year's Eve it was still very easy to get a good night (morning) sleep after partying. A lot of reviews on here complain mostly about the staff and the check-in as well as the deposit's required at check-in. I was made very well aware of these possible pending problems and was prepared for the worst but everything came without a hitch. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for anybody seeking a very classy yet edgy joint to escape from reality for awhile.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kingshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2006

we went to this hotel for new years eve. the room was tiny (about 15 x 15) and the bathroom smelled of sewage. the staff were rude and check in took forever. furthermore, the nye party sponsored by the hotel was EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING! don't stay here. take your money down the street to the sheraton where you'll find a nice hotel with the same great location.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rayfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2006

My husband and I had a great overnight at the Hard Rock Hotel directly off Michigan Avenue. I saw many negative reviews regarding the darkness and gloominess of the hotel lobby, but it's the Hard Rock! It's edgy and modern and different. If you want the traditional old-style Chicago hotel, then choose somewhere else. But we loved the modern lines and the Hard Rock feel -- great music. We were upgraded to a larger room and received very good service. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Great hi-def. TV's. Very close to the Nordstrom mall and Millineum Park. Very cool bar right in the lobby. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocolatefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2006

We went to the Hardrock for the weekend. Our room was modern, clean, and offered a fair view. Though small, the room was mildy luxurious. Check in was hectic but simple enough. All other staff we encountered were helpful, polite, and pleasant. The hotel is contained in an old office building that has been restored. This adds character. The refurb is well done. They have a premium product at the Hardrock...and they charge accordingly.

David Bowie stared at me as I used the toilet.

Hints- Bennigans across the street is good for well, Bennigans food, but fast and cheap. The Old Timer's Bar around the corner has cheap drinks but the food leaves much to be desired. It's a short walk to the train (2 blocks).

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

This was a great hotel, but as someone who stays at the HRH in Las Vegas a couple of times a year...I was disappointed. The ambiance is fun and trendy. The rooms are a little small...and I had to be moved to another room because the first one they put me in hadn't been cleaned very thoroughly. The front desk's service varies, depending on who you get. The room service is okay -- nothing spectacular. Regardless, the mojitos at the bar were good....it's best to stick with the cheeseburger if you're ordering from room service...and it was close to shopping. If you can get a good rate, it's a good place to stay, but it doesn't compare to the Peninsula.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank taraloftis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,612 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#90 of 192 in Chicago
7,134 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,139 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#19 of 192 in Chicago
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $88 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing