We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great electronics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #109 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great value and great electronics”
Reviewed March 16, 2005

Okay, so the rooms are very modern. What was important to me was that the mattress is outstanding and so is the TV and stereo system. This is the place for audiophiles! It is probably a little too sleek and trendy for some -- it is the "Hard Rock" afterall. Service is outstanding. Room service would bring me anything reasonable that I wanted cooked. They have a steak salad that is delicious. I've stayed in a number of different rooms and one week that I stayed here, I ended up being stuck in the room sick -- the hotel staff brought me stuff from the drug store and called to check how I was doing. How can anyone say that it isn't a warm place? It's the people who make a place warm and welcoming.

Moreover, I travel to Chicago a lot and this is one of the best hotels around for comfort, service and value. The rooms may not be to some people's taste in terms of decor, but it isn't suppose to be your home -- only a place to sleep at night. I like the fans in the rooms because they can be used to drown out outside noise or you can turn them off, if you find them annoying. I think this is a wonderful hotel and if you don't like the grey, order some nice colorful flowers to compensate!

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank watchful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    860
    438
    181
    114
See reviews for
393
909
163
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2005

My then fiance and I stayed at the Hard Rock a few days before we took off to our wedding location. We had spent the day at Six Flags in Gurnee and arrived frazzled and exhausted. The snotty staff checked us in and we were up to our room. I stuck the key in the door and it opened, but was bolted with the chain lock - there was someone in the room! We went back to the front desk and got another key. The room was nice and very comfortable, but very very small. So small that it is hard to close the bathroom door without standing in the bathtub! Mini bar prices were rediculous as were the room service charges. Parking was rediculous - 35 a day and you cannot access it without a valet. The second day we returned to find that our room key didnt work anymore - again, went to the desk and got a new key. All in all, it looks like a lovely hotel, wonderfuly comfortable beds and nicely decorated - just a bit overpriced, full of yuppies, and has a terrible staff.

Helpful?
8 Thank CKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2005

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! They had horrible service from the time we got there to the time we left. We stayed New Year's Eve and New Year's Day and were robbed by the valet service before we left!! The shower sounded like the pipes were going to explode and had no hot water. We asked about leaving my truck in valet until after we got back from the Bears game on Jan. 2nd and the girl at the front desk told us they would even get my truck so that we could put our luggage in it after we checked out and put it in a secure lot until we got back. When we got back, they pulled the truck up with a hole in the passenger window and several thousand dollars worth of items missing! Then they told me that someone was TOO LAZY to put the truck in a secure lot!!! They knew the items were in the truck because they helped load it!!! After that, the hotel staff proceeded to tell us everything would be taken care of......! They waited till we left and when I called them to get things straigtened out, they blamed the Valet service and said they could not do anything about it! Not only that, the valet service refused to pay us for any of our items! DO NOT STAY HERE!! DO NOT USE THE VALET SERVICE!!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tazdevil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 23, 2005

The room was really bad. The Bathroom had wallpaper with guys on it. I don't know about the rest of you, but I don't want to have a picture of a guy in the same room when I'm using the bathroom.

The air vent made noise all night long. Room service took forever!!!! It was 35 bucks a day just to have the car in a parking garage that you can't go in if you forgot something in it.

Above the bed and in the bathroom there was what my girlfriend thought where sprinklers. I understand sprinklers in the main room but Not in the Bathroom!!!!

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2005

You could not pay me to stay at this hotel again. The Hard Rock Hotel is not very warm or welcoming. After staying here I have come to hate the color Gray!!

Helpful?
11 Thank Montell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2005

I cancelled my reservation because each time I got someone on the phone with additional questions I struggled to communicate with them. I was an obvious interruption and they were doing everything they could to get me off the phone. "how can I rock your world today" became an IRRITATING cliche with nothing behind it but borderline rudeness. Go to the Comfort Inn on Ohio for 1/2 the price - excellent. When you stay in Chicago you are looking for a safe pleasant place to sleep. The rest of the time you will be anywhere but your motel room.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 23, 2005

I would definately not recommend this hotel. We came down for a special occasion and so they told us they upgraded our room. It was still incredible small! I could not tell what made it an upgrade. (They told me I had two windows instead of one and 100 more sq. ft.). I feel bad for people who pay good money for a standard room. All night long there was a pounding noise and when I went to the front desk to tell them we did not get any sleep and where not happy with our stay, all they did was tell us to fill out a survey. They could care less if you are happy with your stay. The maid came to our door at 9am and wanted to know when we were checking out. How rude! The bar is not at all happening like you would expect from a Rock and Roll Hotel. The only plus are the beds. They are very comfortable. We usually stay at the House of Blues and thought we would try some place different. What a mistake. The House of Blues blows this place away in every way!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 190 in Chicago
1,031 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,020 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,067 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 190 in Chicago
6,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#66 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing