We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally fun place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #111 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I usually like to stay closer to the Gold Coast area in Chicago but because I was attending a meeting so I was booked at this hotel. It was awesome, clean, modern and it has a ping pong table in the lobby! Bar was great and not that crowded, Morton's Steakhouse is a 2 minute walk and best of all Walgreens is right next door. I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for the amazing review and recommendation! I see you took full advantage of our central location and, let's not forget, our ping pong table. We're so proud to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you visit us again soon.

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a suite on the 35th floor due to our room not being ready after waiting patiently for over 30 minutes, didn't even complain about the wait as there was so much going on in the lobby (ping pong table in the lobby) Our room had fantastic views of the city and had a pool table and arcade game console in it. The hotel had a real concert like feel to it with two bars which played music so you could hear it from most places in the lobby. The position of the Hotel couldn't have been better for our first visit to this great City. Nearly every attraction is a walk away and the train to both City airports is a few blocks away. The theatre district is on the doorstep as is the Millennium Park and the Chicago river and all river and hop off hop on bus tours.

Room Tip: Try and get in the tower has fantastic views from 25th floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Madison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager

*All Is One*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We loved our stay here. Walking distance to everything we wanted to do, except Wrigley Field. Ping-Pong in the lobby, do I need to say more. The bed and room decor were wonderful and the room was super quite. We also had a great view from the 22nd floor (the Lenny Kravitz floor ). They also held our bags for us after we checked out so we could site see prior to our train leaving that night. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank due41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

You're so very welcome :) We LOVE to hear such rave reviews! Please come back and visit us again soon. The ping pong table is calling!

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The rooms are a good size and the staff were friendly but the room had a bad odour to it which I couldn't get rid of as I couldn't open the windows. The TV was very temperamental and the IPod/IPhone dock didn't work. The internet continuously cut out so it was impossible to do any work. When I had to extend my stay I made a reservation with a different hotel and I'm glad for the change. There was also no sound proofing at all on the windows so I could hear people having conversations on the street below from the 8th floor..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We're so happy to see that our staff provided friendly service but are so very sorry that you were somewhat underwhelmed. We certainly expect our guests to experience a much more impressive experience. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Easy walk to and from Blue Line that takes you to O'hare
Walk out your door and you are on Michigan Avenue in the heart of it all
Comfy beds with crisp white linens
Aromatherapy Bath Products
Excellent Staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Kathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! I have shared your compliments with our entire Hard Rock team.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit the Windy City!

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The lighting in the room and bathroom was horrible. The bathroom floor squeeked and had loose tiles. The water pressure was very low and the hot water didn't stay hot when others in the hotel were obvioulsy using the hot water. The toliet was stopped up. I made a face to face request to the front desk staff at 1pm, left for several hours and upon my return at 7:30 it was still stopped up. Loud music was also reported to the front desk that continued on after our return

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Arnette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

I'm so very sorry to see that we didn't provide a more superb experience during your special occasion visit. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager

*All Is One*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great location for good food and shopping.... On a business trip but did get a chance to walk around shop. Location is great and staff is very good. We all hear horrible stories but i must say this was a great choice. Thanks, for ROCKING out my stay to Antoine, Ann, Matt and Kevin.....

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank Shikira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review! I have shared your compliments of Antoine, Anna, Matt and Kevin with our Hard Rock team. They certainly are rockstars!

We're happy to see that you were able to sneak away from work a little and enjoy this beautiful city. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Chicago!

Cheers,
Erica O'Neil
VIBE Manager
*All Is One*

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#71 of 192 in Chicago
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 192 in Chicago
1,114 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $139 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing