We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard Rock Chicago Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #105 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago
1 review
“Hard Rock Chicago Rocks!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was in Chicago on business and stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel. The room was very clean, quiet, had an HD TV, and the staff was very friendly. I had a great time and enjoyed my stay very much. Will be back in July!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We were really excited to receive the positive feedback about your recent stay here at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. These comments confirm that we've accomplished our goal - to create authentic experiences that truly rock for every one of our guests. This is our passion and we're glad it’s working. We're grateful to have been part of your recent business travels and can't wait to welcome you back in July for an encore performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    841
    428
    168
    110
See reviews for
378
886
162
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

WOW! My mom and I went over thanksgiving and when we checked in we got upgraded! The staff was so nice and willing to help with any questions you had! The concierge lady was absolutely fabulous she booked our dining reservations told us about landmarks to visit and gave us some insider about Chicago! The location of the Hard Rock Hotel is in a perfect location right on N Michigan Ave. Close to all shops and dining! No need for a cab! Our view from our room was breathtaking! We slept with the curtains open! Beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share this outstanding feedback on you and your mom's stay with us over the Thanksgiving holiday; reading this review was like music to our ears! We're thrilled to hear that you received a complimentary upgrade to a room with beautiful city views and you enjoyed such highly attentive service and in-the-know information from our staff (they're all rock stars!) We look forward to welcoming you and your mom back for an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If the title screams Fall Out Boy to you, it's on purpose. And not just because I love the band: Pete Wentz co-owns the hotel's bar, Angels and Kings, and can be seen here often. But this was my second stay here (for three nights), and a really good one.

First, I'll start with the rooms. The beds are among the most comfortable hotel beds that I've ever slept in, and the decor is fun and musical (example: floor 15, the floor that I was on, had Elvis decor). The rooms were decked out with great touches like a sound system and reading lights at each bed. Though I'm not a coffee person, each room has a Keurig machine, which I wish more hotels had. Don't like the house coffee (Newman's Own Organics in this case)? Just bring your own K-Cups. The bathroom had sleek decor, while the toiletries were top-notch (for example, the soap lathered great and didn't have a nasty scent). The towels were as good as the toiletries - fluffy, absorbent, and big (and you plenty of washcloths, a rarity in hotels regardless of the star level). The room as a whole was extremely clean, including places like the corners where you typically find dust and dirt and the tile grout in the shower where you can find a lot of nasty stuff often times.

I got the hotel through Hotwire, so I didn't get free in-room Wi-Fi, but it should be noted that Wi-Fi is free in-room if you book through the hotel directly or free to all in the lobby and business center. And for the cellphone users, AT&T and Sprint 4G LTE both work very well in the hotel and around Chicago.

I did have a meal at Chuck's, the on-premises restaurant run by Kerry Simon. Normally, I don't eat at hotel restaurants, but I made an exception for this one because of the Iron Chef Burger on the lunch menu that won first-place on Iron Chef. So I had to have the Iron Chef Burger for lunch one day. It didn't disappoint: it was extremely good with a char-broiled taste and top-notch toppings. It was also extremely filling - it got me through much of that day.

This hotel also has an excellent location. On North Michigan Avenue and a short walk to shopping? Check. State Street, Block 37, and Macy's (the former Marshall Field's location)? Bingo. The Art Institute close by? You betcha. The "L"? One block away. Millennium Station and the Metra Electric Line and South Shore trains? Two blocks away.

But the real star of the rock show here was the staff. They were not your typical stuffy big-city hotel staff: they were very easy to work with, knew the city, and were - dare I say - fun (no, not the band that gave us "Some Nights"). I wanted to get tickets to The Second City for one of their revues, so I went to the concierge. He got me tickets and dinner reservations at Adobo, an awesome Mexican restaurant next to The Second City, and told me how to get there on the "L". By the time I got to The Second City the following day, the show was sold-out with a standby list. The numerous people that I encountered at the front desk were equally amazing. Check-in was smooth and a room request made there was honored in seconds. Check-out was equally fast and easy.

Overall, I think that my second stay here was even better than the first. In music, they call it "a tough act to follow". But they did it.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying three days or more and plan on using CTA trains and buses, get a Ventra card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
WOW! We were really excited to receive the positive feedback about your recent stay here at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago in addition to your dining experience in our restaurant, Chuck's: A Kerry Simon Kitchen. These comments confirm that we've accomplished our goal - to create authentic experiences that truly rock for every one of our guests. This is our passion and we're glad it’s working. We're grateful to have been part of your recent travels and hope you'll be back so we can provide an encore performance. When and if you should have any future needs or questions, please don't hesitate to reach back out. Thanks again for this rockin' review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I loved the Hard Rock Hotel in San Diego so I opted to stay here. It was a disappointment. The room was small and DARK. The restaurant seemed just ok (I didn't even opt to eat there) and the location was ok but not great for enjoying the best of chicago...

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KG702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; we only wish you had enjoyed a more positive experience. Please accept our sincere apologies that our ambient, musically-inspired atmosphere and location on the base of the Magnificent Mile were not to your liking. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Do not book this hotel. They will not bend over backwards or any other way for that matter, for anything. Not friendly upon arrival or when our room is a sauna. They do not turn the a/c on and have made excuse after excuse for everything wrong. They do not care about their customers, just their money. I would highly suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccawest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
First and foremost, thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are incredibly disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy a more positive, authentic experience at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any unfriendliness encountered during your stay. Please contact us directly should you wish to discuss this further: email@hardrockhotelchicago.com. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

short visit to Chicago for a hockey game. Hotel room was clean and comfortable, but a bit small. Location is great, easy access to everything. having to pay for wifi seems like gouging, should be included in room rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable guest room and our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to the city's hottest shops, restaurants and local attractions. As a note of disclosure, complimentary WiFi is provided to all guests who book their reservations directly through our website. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great location and awesome staff! Recently stayed while visiting Chicago for a Bulls game. Would highly recommend to everyone. The rooms, front desk staff, valet and overall service was awesome. I continue to stay here each time I visit Chicago

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsivory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Wow! Thanks so much for the fantastic feedback on your most recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago; we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location, well-appointed guest rooms and highly personalized service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing