We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard Rock Chcago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #106 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
New jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard Rock Chcago”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Place was decent and convinient to everything. NIce friendly crowd and seemed like a safe neighborhood. Parking was high. Would stay again and reccomend to business clients. Close to resturants and Navy Pier trade show. Had a nice breakfast at a good price.Front desk was very proffessional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewjerseyRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share such outstanding feedback on your most recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We're thrilled to hear that you received rock star treatment from our staff and enjoyed our central downtown location in close proximity to downtown Chicago's hottest restaurants, shops and city landmarks. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    831
    417
    167
    109
See reviews for
378
875
161
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kitchener, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here after a convention for one night, expensive but a great place to be if you wish to be downtown. Excellent food, (ate there a few times during the week).
Well informed + helpful staff
The bellman sent us to a great night spot that had absolutely awesome blues at 1/4 of the price of the house of blues

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bickerton2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to provide such outstanding feedback on your stay with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our on-site restaurants, Chuck's: A Kerry Simon Kitchen and Angels & Kings Chicago and that you received such highly personalized attention from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I love the building within which the hotel is based. Beautiful black marble with gold deco trim right in Michigan Avenue. It's very easy to access Milleniial park the Art institute miracle mile shopping . The lobby is smallish and fairly uninviting as one is not tempted to sit and people watch. The rooms are nice and modern and decorated in the hard rock style. My room had a Marilyn Manson photo staring at me. My floor had an Elvis theme. Bottom line if you like the Hard Rock theme all else is super.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank stcolsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
First and foremost, thank you for being such a loyal brand supporter and for taking the time to post such positive feedback on your most recent guest experience at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our historic home in the Carbide and Carbon Building and Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to the city's landmark museums and shops. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean, has a terrific ambience, is incredibly comfortable. It is ideally situated on michigan avenue so it is close to everything. It was affordable for our family and we felt welcomed and cared about. This may become our "hotel to stay at" in Chicago.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
WOW! Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share this excellent review on you and your family's most recent stay with us. We're thrilled to hear that you had an authentic experience that truly rocked and look forward to becoming your "IT" place in the Windy City! See you soon and thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night for our Christmas staycation downtown. This hotel was different than I have stayed in before because it was dark and sexy and rock n roll of course. Front desk person was nice. The room was clean and cool and we had a great view. The only reason I'm even writing a review is because there was a horrible loud noise coming from the bathroom wall I think from whenever the water was running in other rooms. Every time it went off it woke me up, maybe six times. It was so loud. I don't know if it was just our room or it's like that in the whole building. We stayed in 1804 I believe. I didn't feel to tell the staff as we were only staying one night. If we had a longer trip I definitely would've had to move.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannar3dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
First and foremost, thank you so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. While we're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our ambient, musically-inspired atmosphere and the beautiful city views from your room, we are disappointed to hear of the noise disturbance you encountered during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies; we have taken note of this complaint and will investigate it internally. We're grateful to have been part of your recent travels and hope you'll be back so we can provide an encore performance. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and it definitely has gone down since last year.
The mini-fridge was out of order. It was completely empty so I assume the staff know about it but failed to mention it when we checked in. There was no hot water ( shower) on the last 2 days of our stay. Wifi isn't included in the price and was not working in the main lobby when we tried it. Overall disappointed and will probably book elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We appreciate your review and only wish you had enjoyed a more authentic experience at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We sincerely apologize for the minibar and hot water issues you experienced during your stay with us and appreciate your feedback so we are aware of what to address. As a quick note of disclosure, complimentary Wi-Fi is available for reservations booked directly through our website. Thank you very much for sharing your comments and concerns; we hope you will consider a return visit so that we can really show you what we're all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friends and I drove to Chicago for their NYE party. The staff was helpful and the rooms/hotel were very clean. At night the staff was amazing at keeping us safe and everyone in line, I ordered food later after the party and one of the bouncers saw I was struggling with all of the drunk party-goers, he took me up the service elevator in order to bypass everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos

Helpful?
Thank Aurora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for ringing in the New Year at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly, we're happy to hear that you received such highly personalized attention from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 187 in Chicago
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 187 in Chicago
986 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing