We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock Chicago Rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #105 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard Rock Chicago Rocks!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Every year for the past 15 years, I have attended a conference in Chicago and have stayed in many different great hotels. For the past 5 years, I have been staying at the Hard Rock Chicago and it is by far my favorite place to stay. I get the best night's sleep because the beds and pillows are so comfortable and the rooms are amazingly quiet. It is such a great atmosphere as well. Whether you are dressed to attend a formal event or in your favorite worn jeans, you never feel out of place. The location is perfect for walking pretty much anywhere you would like to go. The price is not crazy either. But the best, best thing about the Hard Rock Chicago is its employees. Everyone goes out of their way to say hi, make you comfortable and assist with whatever you need. You can even learn to play the guitar! See you next year Hard Rock!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookie6102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your brand loyalty and wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that we continue to deliver rock star service with each and every visit. More importantly, we're so happy to hear that you appreciate and embrace our motto: "all is one." We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thanks again for this fantastic review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    841
    428
    168
    110
See reviews for
378
886
162
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the HRH and then another 2 on the way back from a road trip. From the initial booking to the moment we left the staff of this hotel went out of their way to make our stay perfect and the complete "rock star" treatment. Location is great on North Michigan which means a 5min walk to Millennium Park and 10 mins to the shops at the Miracle Mile. Both times our room had a view of the city and river and rooms are well designed and kept. I cannot fault the hotel and as I say at the top, the staff are exceptionally good. I have stayed in a few hotels recently where the service was very poor. HRH has got it right in Chicago. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. City view rooms give a great view of the skyline (we neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geo_somerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
WOW! Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share this wonderful feedback with us! Overall, it sounds like we delivered an authentic experience that rocked from the moment you checked in until the moment you checked out. We're thrilled to hear that you received "rock star" treatment from our staff and enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to the city's hottest attractions, shops and restaurants. We hope you will keep us in mind for a future visit. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I took a friend to this location to celebrate her finishing graduate school and to also take part in a food festival. The hotel was fun and modern. We originally got a room on the 6th floor but I asked them to upgrade us to a higher floor since all we had was a very close view of an office building and the room seemed a little boring. Our upgraded room was very clean, stylish and sexy. Even the bathroom was super-posh. The view was not great, but better. You could kind of see the water from the room. Nonetheless, the stunning decor made the room worthwhile.

Room service was good and the business center was very easy to navigate. The hotel was in a great location with the Magnificent Mile only steps away. Eateries and shopping were very accessible. I felt safe at this location.

Just be careful about making any changes if you book the room through a third party like Orbitz. I was charged additional fees by Orbitz beyond the difference in the room upgrade. I was annoyed, but oh well.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, stay away from the 6th floor - you'll be eye to eye with an offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkosiaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you for celebrating your friend's graduation at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our fun and modern atmosphere, upgraded and well-appointed room, convenient business center and central downtown location in close proximity to the city's hottest shops and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit and encourage you to book directly through our site next time. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location of this hotel make it worth consideration. You can walk to anything you want to do quite easily. We were a family of 4 - the "kids" actually being 17 and 19. The room was a 2 queen bed room but it was so small that we were claustrophobic from the moment our luggage arrived =complete with guitar which was why we picked this hotel-thought it would be nice for our son to play something different-unfortunately they didn't have his dream guitar at check in. If it ever came back it wasn't offered so the staff do not go that extra mile that's for sure.

I went down to ask if there are any larger rooms, suites whatever-I didn't care what it would have cost we just could not face 4 days in that tiny room. We were told there was absolutely not one room available as a matter of fact they were overbooked for the night. The next morning I went back down and was offered a larger room at no extra cost so it worked out. Trust me those few extra square feet make all the difference in the world.

Overall the rooms were nice enough, the bathrooms ok-clean, modern. Our first room was in need of repair given the faucet was not installed properly and the whole thing turned when you turned on the water. No biggie just makes it feel shabbily built.

There is not really much more to say, it was an average stay in an above average City. Chicago is an amazing City and this central location is almost perfect however I like a little more luxury and intuitive service so next time I would stay somewhere a little more upscale.

Room Tip: Platinum rooms are the only way to go if you are more than one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnietheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Hard Rock Hotel Chicago with your family and for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We're happy to hear you were pleased with our central downtown location and our front desk staff was able to accommodate your request for a larger room at no additional cost. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights at the hotel in April for the NBA playoffs with a friend. We had stayed over in Greek Town for a few days, then moved over to the Hard Rock for the last 5 days. The hotel is in a fantastic location as many people have said. The hotel was really nice and had a great vibe to the place. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and we had great views from our room on the Tina Turner floor, can't remember which floor number it is!
The only issue we really had was with the wi-fi. We didn't book direct, and therefore the wi-fi was not included which since we had seen it stated on other sites that the hotel had it for free we were quite disappointed. It was quite expensive per day, and limited to only 1 device so we registered on a phone then couldn't log in the same details on my laptop.
Saying that, there is a business suite you can use on a lower floor for free which was fine to check e-mails when we came back.
All in all a great location, friendly & helpful staff, clean and comfy rooms in quite a 'cool' environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAdams88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago for your trip to Chicago for the NBA playoffs in April! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location, music-infused atmosphere, friendly staff and beautiful city views from your room on our Tina Turner floor. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit and hope you will book directly through our site so you can take advantage of our Wi-the-Fi-Not program. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hard Rock. I arrived before my husband and they gave me early check-in with no issues. We were there for out anniversary amd they upgraded our room to a room with a fabulous view of the magnificent mile. Its was very clean. We even enjoyed happy hour at the bar. Food was good and drinks were better. We walked everywhere and the concierge even reccomended the best breakfast I have ever had at Wildberry next to millennium park. We would 100% go back and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbruns32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for spending your wedding anniversary celebration at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! We're very happy to hear that our front desk team was able to accommodate your early check-in request and upgrade your room type. It's wonderful to hear that our Concierge was also able to assist you in making your stay with us so memorable! We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Thanks again for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at the Hard Rock with my Girlfriend and two kids (5 and 7). We had a great stay, rooms are large, clean, and the staff is excellent. The hotel is just over the bridge from the Mag Mile, shopping and restaurants. Cab rides to Uptown/Wrigleyville were no more than $15, Navy Pier and the zoo less than $10. The hotel bar - Angels and Kings - has a great vibe on night with live bands. The hotel has a lot of uniqueness as do the general type of guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago for your most recent family vacation. We're thrilled to hear that we were able to deliver an authentic experience that rocked and that you enjoyed your dining experience in our lobby bar/restaurant, Angels & Kings. We hope you will keep us in mind for a return visit. Thanks again for thinking so highly of us and for taking the time to share this wonderful review!


]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing