We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Rock On”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #111 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hard Rock On”
Reviewed June 8, 2008

My husband stayed here for two weeks while in the Windy City on business and I joined him for a long weekend. You have to 'adjust' your expectations when staying at the Hard Rock. It is dimly lit and decked out with Rock legends pics, paraphernalia, etc. It is a pretty convenient location being close to a train stop, and walking distance to several parks and other tourists spots. The bar area and restaurant can get pretty lively at night but hey that's to be expected. And we didn't hear any of it except on our way in and out. There are two different entrances so you don't actually have to walk through the more social area on your way to your room. We had a pretty awesome corner room although it didn't leave much privacy. They also gave my DH a fridge and microwave since he was there for awhile. One thing that was really weird is that there was a window in the middle of the shower and only a thin shade for privacy. I was a little worried people below could see my silhouette in window so I took pretty quick showers. Oh I did I mention there was a pic of Billy Idol above the toilet? Fun times indeed but the front desk was great and helpful and housekeeping did a good job as well. I would recommend this hotel based on personality but it was certainly an experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMrsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    869
    450
    185
    117
See reviews for
405
922
164
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Really great buzzy place – one that I will visit again and again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWHITE1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We had a perfect stay here and I would consider it a terrific value if you obtain the room as we did through hotwire. I wouldn't know how to compare it with alternatives if you had to pay full price.

I would go back - this is a perfect location and it was somewhat distinctive. Building renovation is really inspiring. We had a corner room on a higher floor which had plenty of light and high ceilings. 5 big windows with superb drapes. The bath was spacious; all fixtures were new and the furniture was fine. It was perfectly quiet where we were and no sign of any teeny-bopper groups anywhere (that I was concerned about before arrival).

I found service downstairs was reasonably responsive but one has to remember it's a fairly small hotel. Good lobby coffee and a couple computers in a nice spot that were usually free.

That matched my expectations (in fact, that was something I really liked -it being a smaller hotel). The feel is upscale spartan but it's a touch above 'swank.' The room had a quality to it I don't see in the chain hotels below this mark (like Hyatt Place, for example).

I would go back but I realize based on the reviews you might have a different experience if you don't manage to get as great a room as we did.

You are paying for location here. It's great for a Chicago weekend.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank spingetdizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I've stayed at better 2 Star hotels than this one. The pictures do not do it any justice. Rooms were filthy. I had to request housekeeping to clean our room on the second day.

  • Liked — It was right Downtown
  • Disliked — Not a 4 Star Hotel by any means
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pooh53175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2008

We booked a room for a "four - star" hotel in Chicago via a discount website. While the location of this hotel is fabulous, we did not feel that the four star rating was appropriate. The concierge and bell service were slow and somewhat unresponsive. The lobby and room were unimpressive. You can hear lots of noise coming from outside your room. While we did not spend much for this room in Chicago, I would be hesitant to recommend it to others for regular rates or an extended stay.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Barborolives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel in Chicago for our 1 year anniversary. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. The best part of it was the location. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — The location!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bossier la
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

This hotel was chosen for me for a business convention. The lobby was pretty cool. But the rooms were tiny and very dark. I had a huge picture of Kiss above my toilet. It was very hard to do my makeup or read because of the lighting. The location is OK. You have to walk a few blocks to get to the best part of Michigan Ave, but its not too bad. Be prepared for some sad sights after dark. Apparently panhandling is permitted in Chicago ( some cities will give you a ticket for begging) because at night, the beggars come out. The saddest thing i saw was an older woman with her two grandkids sitting on a curb in the freezing snow on a -5 temp night. Those kids looked terrible. Unfortunatly its all up and down the wealthiest part of the city. You don't see so many in the daylight. Also the room service at the Hard Rock is pretty good. Its plenty for 2 people. I would not stay here again though. I suggest the Omni Hotel.

  • Liked — room service
  • Disliked — dark rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank addy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#67 of 190 in Chicago
1,066 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing