We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but rather expensive for our tastes.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #110 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but rather expensive for our tastes.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

For full disclosure, I am more of a budget traveler. We stayed here for a wedding because it was the one recommended by the couple. They allowed a significant discount for locking in a date on their website and also offer free wi-fi if you use their website to book directly. The room was nice and clean and the location is amazing. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance. The only things that really turned me off were the unexpected costs. For one, they charge $50/day for parking (at least it was valet, but there are really no other viable options around). They also include a lot of VERY expensive snacks that are motion sensitive (i.e. they charge you if you move them) "for your convenience." The room had a mini-fridge, but this is completely filled with these motion-sensitive conveniences. To their credit, though, they brought us up a 2nd mini fridge when we asked because we needed a way to store milk for our infant son. Also, there is no pool, but it's the middle of Chicago, so that's was not surprising. Overall, it was a good stay, I just wish we had known about the parking situation ahead of time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c07briankester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
First and foremost, thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed our central downtown location and spacious and clean rooms. We're also very happy to hear that our staff was able to provide a second mini-refrigerator. As a note of disclosure, our parking rates are price-competitive with neighboring hotels in the downtown Chicago area. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    868
    447
    185
    116
See reviews for
402
921
164
645
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
haslett michigan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a delightful stay here. The location is terrific...we were able to walk to theatre, to wonderful restaurants, to Millenium Park, to the Art Institute, to the Museum of Contemporary Art,...Without a doubt, the staff here was absolutely the nicest, friendliest, most helpful etc of any of the hotels we've stayed (and we have been to Paris, Hong Kong, Barcelona, Rome etc) plus lots and lots of hotels in USA., (never at Hard Rock) The Hard Rock Chicago staff beats them all. One minor issue: what genius decided it was cool to have the toilet paper across the room from the toilet??? However, the fact that this hotel charges $18.50 a day for internet service is totally outrageous!!!! It is unnecessary and frankly, insulting. We are so grateful to the wonderful folks at the adjacent Chuck's Manufacturing who allowed us to occasionally check emails etc without our having to find a Starbucks. Bravo to Trevor Gould!
We are senior citizens, and were concerned about being too old for this hotel, but we were treated with nothing but respect. We go to Chicago often, and would love to return to this hotel, but the ridiculous internet charge may deter us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalpotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location in close proximity to local attractions including Millennium Park and the Museum of Contemporary Art. We're also excited to hear that you were able to enjoy our newest restaurant, Chuck's Manufacturing. Being such seasoned travelers, we are especially pleased to hear that our staff treated you both like rock stars. As a note of disclosure, we do offer complimentary WiFi to guests who book reservations directly through our website through a program we call "Wi-the-Fi Not." We hope you will keep that in mind the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. Thanks again for your review!


Without a doubt, the staff here was absolutely the nicest, friendliest, most helpful etc of any of the hotels we've stayed (and we have been to Paris, Hong Kong, Barcelona, Rome etc) plus lots and lots of hotels in USA., (never at Hard Rock) The Hard Rock Chicago staff beats them all. One minor issue: what genius decided it was cool to have the toilet paper across the room from the toilet??? However, the fact that this hotel charges $18.50 a day for internet service is totally outrageous!!!! It is unnecessary and frankly, insulting. We are so grateful to the wonderful folks at the adjacent Chuck's Manufacturing who allowed us to occasionally check emails etc without our having to find a Starbucks. Bravo to Trevor Gould!
We are senior citizens, and were concerned about being too old for this hotel, but we were treated with nothing but respect. We go to Chicago often, and would love to return to this hotel, but the ridiculous internet charge may deter us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If arriving into O'hare airport take the CTA train (blue line) to Clark/Lake, exit and turn left walk up 4 blocks and turn left and your at the Hard Rock hotel. Its in the old carbide & Carbon building with the real gold on the top, it really is real gold and its located on Michigan Ave. The hotel itself was nice and check in very quick, my room was on the 22nd second floor and was a corner room. I had views to the bay and to the city on the other side, the room was fantastic and i loved it. The hotel itself is in a great locator and close to a lot of the great sights in Chicago (the bean, hancock building, millennium park). Overall i had a great stay at the Chicago hard rock and would stay here again, if your into architecture take the Wendella boat cruise which is located just over the bridge when you exit the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
WOW! Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such outstanding feedback on your stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our historic home in the beautiful Carbide and Carbon Building on Michigan Avenue. We're also very pleased to hear that you loved your corner room overlooking the city. We look forward to seeing you back for a return visit. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My daughter and I paid our first visit to Chicago and stayed at the Hard Rock. We were quickly assigned to a room on the 23rd floor. The room was spacious and clean, although a bit dark. It could do with a bit better lighting.
The hotel is in a wonderful location at Dearborn and Michigan.
we took the orange line from Midway Airport which got us there very quickly. Just around the block was the hotel. very close to Millenium park, the Art Institute and plenty of shopping.
When needed, the staff were very good.
Chicago was a wonderful place to visit and would love to return. Would have no problem staying at the Hard Rocknagain, if the price was right!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayle054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for spending your first visit to Chicago with us. We're thrilled to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your spacious and clean room on the 23rd floor in addition to our central location in close proximity to Michigan Avenue shops and restaurants, Millennium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, WV
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a deluxe king room (floor 21). Good location, short walk to Millenium Park, shopping, trains, etc. Room was just average, nothing really interesting at all minus the rock and roll decor. Bar is not bad for a cocktail and some music later in the evening. Did not try restaurant. Just an average hotel, nothing too special but got a great deal and couldn't pass it up. Great bellhops out front who catch cabs for you. Friendly staff and good location. Would stay here again but only if I got a deal. Not a bad stay in Chicago though!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wvu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share this four-star review with us! We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our deluxe King room on the 21st floor. We certainly hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and close to downtown, CBD, magnificent mile and the bay all in walking distance. There are loads of restaurants and bars all in close proximity. i.e Mortons, Webber, Flemmings etc etc.
The room itself was comfortable and ok, Although I was fairly high up I could still hear the construction happening outside. broadband is available but you have to purchase it to use it.
The staff were really friendly and always willing to help with any query.
There is a fairly decent gym which i used which was great.
The snack bar \ restaurant was ok, staff were excellent, had a fairly good breakfast offering.
I would recommend this hotel for its proximity to key tourist attractions as well as the CBD. Rooms are comfy, nice hotel decor, friendly staff. Price was OK to compared to other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Get a high room, as its quieter :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such thorough feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our central location in downtown Chicago, friendly and helpful staff, Body Rock workout facility and modern musically-inspired decor. We certainly hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in many Chicago hotels over the years on business trips. Best hotel in this area bar none. Great location, comfy rooms, good food are all par for the course. It's the rock memorabilia that sets it apart. Although it can be difficult taking a p**s when Bowie or Lennon are looking down at you! Even non music loving colleagues enjoy staying here. No competition in my mind although the valet parking is on the pricey side.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dylan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
WOW! Dylan, thank you so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to tell us about your guest experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoy our Michigan Avenue location, rock memorabilia, comfortable rooms and restaurants to the point that you consider us THE BEST hotel in Chicago. What a great compliment! We look forward to your return visit so that we can deliver you with another authentic experience that rocks. Thanks again for the outstanding review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#67 of 190 in Chicago
1,058 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 190 in Chicago
1,042 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing