We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Chicago!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #114 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very nice decor not like any other hotel but still very functional! Best value you can get! Would definitely go back and I highly recommend it! If you book online you get free wifi which is pretty sweet!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Wow! Thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to post this five-star rating on your most recent stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our modern and unique decor, along with our free WiFi access to guests who book reservations directly through our website through a program called Wi-the-Fi-Not. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 2,758 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This Aerosmith, Rock and Roll themed hotel is a great place to live it up in downtown Chicago! Edgy and contemporary decor with rock and roll memorabilia welcomes you and us extended into the rooms. This hotel is in walking distance of great shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to share such outstanding feedback with us on your most recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our musically-inspired atmosphere, rock and roll memorabilia and Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to the hottest shops and restaurants in downtown Chicago. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel. We brought our kids this time for the Easter weekend. We booked a tower room with a king size bed, and were able to be upgraded to two queen beds without any extra charge. When we booked the room it said the tower queen beds were sold out, so this was a bonus. We also booked online, be sure to ask for the free internet code. We forgot to ask and paid but were reimbursed. Parking seems high $50 to valet, but it costs allot to park anywhere in Chicago. Be sure to get the hotel websites directions. Even staying here now twice your navigation cannot tell the difference between Michigan Ave. underground or above ground. We had to call someone to help us get in front of the hotel.
The only CON I have is the noise factor. Someone was staying above us I am assuming and all night for the two nights we were there is sounded like they were doing gymnastics. Nothing could muffle the sound, and eveyone had trouble sleeping. We called the front desk and theyh suggested it might be the elevator. It ran all night constantly, I am not sure it could have been the elevator. We had an option to move but did not want to uproot everyone on the last night staying.
The hotel is very clean, and the staff are very nice and helpful. You are very close to many of the main attractions and it is easy to navigate around. The pants off promotion is wonderful, and we will will be back during another promotion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to spend Easter with your family at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago! Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. We're very pleased to hear that our front desk team was able to offer you the upgrade along with reimbursing you for the free Internet access code. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise disturbances you experienced; we regret for any inconvenience caused. Lastly, we're thrilled to hear that you were able to take advantage of "Keep It In Your Pants," our 48-hour flash sale promotion. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I booked a 2 night package stay online so the parking and internet access was free. This was my first trip to Chicago with my young adult daughters and we were there for the sights and shopping. We stayed on the 19th floor which was also the Jimmy Hendricks floor. Robert Plant art was in the bathroom. The work out center was fantastic! You can play pool in the front lobby - just ask the front desk for the cue and balls. The prices in the Chuck's restaurant were a bit pricey but the food was good.

Room Tip: You can ask the desk for a particular artist floor when checking in or making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseyglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

First and foremost, thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to post this five-star rating on your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your daughters enjoyed your room on the 19th floor along with our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to some of the best shopping in downtown Chicago! We look forward to welcoming you and your daughters back the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed a number of time at the Hard Rock in the past couple of years and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

The rooms are quite large, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and I absolutely love the location. Its next to the river, close to the Golden Mile as well as Millenium Park with a number of restaurants, Starbucks and even souvenir shops close by.

It has almost everything you would want from a business hotel or if you were visiting with family.

And for all that, it is great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

First and foremost, thank you for being one of our most loyal guests and for taking the time to post such a positive review on your most recent stay with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our large guest rooms, friendly staff and Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to Chicago's hottest restaurants, shops and local attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your business or leisure travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel while I was in Chicago on business. The staff was very friendly and gave us free wifi since I was here for 8 days. We stayed on the 23rd floor and it was reasonably quiet as hotels go. We could hear the sirens of ambulances going to Northwestern hospital but ear plugs blocked that out. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff was very friendly and considerate. This was my first time staying at a Hard Rock but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboydpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

First and foremost, thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago during your most recent business trip. We certainly appreciate this five-star review on your first-ever stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that our staff delivered rock star service to you and your wife and we look forward to welcoming you back for a second stay very soon. Thanks again for sharing this positive feedback with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week. The nightly rate was very good but they absolutely kill you on the parking! It was $50 PER night for parking! Learning this upon check-in was a bit of a downer and hit the budget.
However, we did have a corner room with lots of windows which was nice. The bed was very comfortable, room was clean and decorated as would be expected for this hotel.
Complaints...I wish they offered refridgerator space for guests to use. Instead it's completely full with "bar items" that you cannot remove. We enjoy having healthy snacks available and that wasn't possible here. The location is great, but would probably research for another option next time paying close attention to parking costs, room amenities and if a breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your corner guest room with beautiful city views, Michigan Avenue location and the overall decor of our musically-inspired property. As a note of disclosure, our parking rates are price-competitive with other hotels located along the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago. Also, we do offer a minibar restocking fee of $25 to use the in-room refrigerator for personal items during your stay with us. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 192 in Chicago
2,592 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#89 of 192 in Chicago
7,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#108 of 192 in Chicago
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#67 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $225 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing