We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, great staff ... would always come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #108 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, great staff ... would always come back”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed a number of time at the Hard Rock in the past couple of years and wouldn't hesitate to come back.

The rooms are quite large, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and I absolutely love the location. Its next to the river, close to the Golden Mile as well as Millenium Park with a number of restaurants, Starbucks and even souvenir shops close by.

It has almost everything you would want from a business hotel or if you were visiting with family.

And for all that, it is great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
First and foremost, thank you for being one of our most loyal guests and for taking the time to post such a positive review on your most recent stay with us! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our large guest rooms, friendly staff and Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to Chicago's hottest restaurants, shops and local attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your business or leisure travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    863
    440
    182
    115
See reviews for
395
914
163
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel while I was in Chicago on business. The staff was very friendly and gave us free wifi since I was here for 8 days. We stayed on the 23rd floor and it was reasonably quiet as hotels go. We could hear the sirens of ambulances going to Northwestern hospital but ear plugs blocked that out. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff was very friendly and considerate. This was my first time staying at a Hard Rock but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jboydpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
First and foremost, thanks so much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago during your most recent business trip. We certainly appreciate this five-star review on your first-ever stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that our staff delivered rock star service to you and your wife and we look forward to welcoming you back for a second stay very soon. Thanks again for sharing this positive feedback with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights last week. The nightly rate was very good but they absolutely kill you on the parking! It was $50 PER night for parking! Learning this upon check-in was a bit of a downer and hit the budget.
However, we did have a corner room with lots of windows which was nice. The bed was very comfortable, room was clean and decorated as would be expected for this hotel.
Complaints...I wish they offered refridgerator space for guests to use. Instead it's completely full with "bar items" that you cannot remove. We enjoy having healthy snacks available and that wasn't possible here. The location is great, but would probably research for another option next time paying close attention to parking costs, room amenities and if a breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klc484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your corner guest room with beautiful city views, Michigan Avenue location and the overall decor of our musically-inspired property. As a note of disclosure, our parking rates are price-competitive with other hotels located along the Magnificent Mile in downtown Chicago. Also, we do offer a minibar restocking fee of $25 to use the in-room refrigerator for personal items during your stay with us. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for business. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are big but I have to be honest that the window in the shower was really strange. Next time I will make sure to ask for a room not overlooking Michigan Ave as it can be a little noisy with the fire department about a block over. Ate at Chuck's, they are more focused on being trendy than how the food tastes. Angels and Kings - eek. Buffet was $20 for crunchy pancakes, dirty plate, dirty mug, dirty silverware. I would have rather burned the $20 in the street.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank aimblkjak21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this feedback on your most recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. We're happy to hear that you received friendly and helpful service from our staff and that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to the city's hottest bars, restaurants and attractions. Please accept our sincerest apologies that the food in Angels and Kings and Chuck's Manufacturing was not to your liking. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention as we continue to improve on the service we deliver to our guests. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is my absolute favorite in Chicago. Not only does the vibe make it so much fun, but the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are all great, especially the Platinum King and the hotel staff are all very friendly. The musical atmosphere is also such a plus for me because it feels like there's always something going on, even when you come back from the bars. I have also grown very fond of Chucks the bar attached to the hotel. They have great dj's and it's the coolest environment. I stayed there for St. Patty's day this year for the first time and will be doing every year from now on!

Room Tip: The Platinum King is AWESOME with great view...but I just stayed in a room with two Queens and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaRae00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Reading this review was music to our ears! We can't thank you enough for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to provide such outstanding feedback on your stay with us over St. Patrick's Day weekend (one of the best celebrations in our city all year!). We're beyond thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the overall vibe of our musically-inspired atmosphere and your first dining and drinking experience in Chuck's Manufacturing. We can't wait to welcome you back for St. Patrick's Day - or any day, for that matter! Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I especially liked the vibe in the hotel, with a great hotel bar that is frequented by locals as well as hotel guests, great musical atmosphere all around the hotel, and you can even borrow a guitar and jam in your room for free (safety deposit required).

The room itself was ok, but nothing special, king bed and large empty space with no furnishings or anything in it, and water pressure was a bit low in the shower.

Internet access in the room is a bit pricey, but if you pay the little extra for the faster connection you get real good speed and quality internet connection.

Overall a good choice in the center of the city if you like more vibrant atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to post this five-star review on your most recent stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you appreciate our vibrant, high-energy atmosphere and picks program, which allows our guests to utilize Fender guitars during their stay with us. As a note of disclosure, we offer free WiFi service for guests who book their reservations directly through out website, so please keep that in mind the next time you stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staff was very friendly and rooms were surprisingly spacious. I usually don't care about the decor in hotels but as expected, there were awesome little touches here and there. The location is perfect, within walking distance of several attractions and close to subway. I would also recommend the restaurant downstairs (Chuck's, not Angels & Kings...eeesh) Next time I visit Chicago, I will definitely try to stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyEths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockMGR, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hard Rock Hotel Chicago and for taking the time to share such positive feedback with us! We're thrilled to hear that our staff delivered rock star treatment and that you enjoyed our Michigan Avenue location in close proximity to Chicago's hottest shops, restaurants and attractions. We're also happy to see such positive comments about our newest restaurant, Chuck's Manufacturing. We hope you will keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you back to the Windy City. Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 190 in Chicago
1,032 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,021 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#88 of 190 in Chicago
6,608 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#65 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing