We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chucks Manufacturing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #104 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Chucks Manufacturing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had high expectations when I booked my stay at the Hard Rock Hotel and my expectations were exceeded by far! Not only was the hotel staff amazing, but so was the new restaurant Chuck's Manufacturing. It had an awesome vibe to it, so when I decided to make a reservation for me and a group of my girlfriends before we went out for a night on the town we were excited!

The food was excellent,but what really stood out to me was the service. Everyone was very friendly, but our server Rhett was just absolutely awesome!! He was very knowledgeable about the menu and drinks, he guided us with recommendations about our dinner. Everything ended up being so perfect and delicious. He even offered us phone chargers, which was is something that really caught my attention and I wish more restaurants would do! If all of the servers and bartenders working there are like Rhett, I would give this place 5 stars any day and would recommend it to all my friends visiting the city. I plan to return on my next visit and can't wait to have the delicious scallops again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    824
    408
    165
    109
See reviews for
375
868
161
606
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Positives:
Excellent Location
Great service and staff
Awesome music in the lobby
Fairly quiet room
Good gym
Concierge was top notch

Negatives:
Bathroom door was rotting and needs to be fixed
Beds could be a bit more comfortable, but they weren't bad at all!

Overall, loved my stay. Would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_globetrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was expecting to receive a low level room because I booked one of their cheapest rooms for the time in between Christmas and New Years but, to my surprise, I was booked on the 18th floor and had a nice spacious room with a huge bed and plenty of room to walk around. The bathroom was nice as well. I do, however, question why there isn't a door to the shower (there's only a pane of glass) as water does escape. But if you just lay a towel next to the shower you shouldn't get a bathroom full of water like what others have said. Other than that I had no problems! They even allowed you to store your bags in the hotel after you checked out for no additional charge. Room service was good as well although overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdy4050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We usually stay at The W Lakeshore, but decided to try something new for New Years! I must say I'm from the moment we pulled up at the curb until check-out....we were treated like king & queens. The staff was not only friendly & courteous...they also had MANNERS! I have to mention Shelia Garg who went above & beyond to help us. Even though we couldn't get in to eat where we wanted, she suggested another great place. She left a sweet note with popcorn in our room that made my night! Her simple act of kindness has earned this hotel a repeat customer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merry-dith76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids MI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thank you Hard Rock for continuing to provide us with a home away from home when we visit the windy city. Chicago is one of our favorite cities and when in town, we always chose the Hard Rock. The location is great, the service is top notch, and we always feel welcomed back.

We continue to reserve the same type of room over and over, and our request for a corner room is always met. This room is the best on Michigan ave. with great views of Michigan Ave in all her glory. Thank you for pampering us when we stay Hard Rock. We'll see you in the spring!

Room Tip: Ask for a Platinum King room. You'll get a corner room with lots of room and perfect views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jballtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We walked into the lobby and saw a backdrop of almost every Gibson guitar made. I told the front desk clears that it was a shame that guests weren't allowed to play their "display" guitars....and she informed me that that's what they were there for!!!
I borrowed a Studio Cutaway (a $3,000 guitar) took it to my room and had a great hour or so.
Lol, the food is great, central location and fun bar as well.
I ordered my own Cutaway as soon as I got home!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A luxury hotel wannabe that misses on most marks. Staff is fine and friendly but rooms leave ALOT to be desired. Try paper thin walls (unless you enjoy listening to your neighbors party and intimate moments even when they aren't being especially loud), an echochamber for any conversation in the hall, a ventilation system that blows cold air directly over the bed, terrible room lighting that feels like living in a cave, a flaky remote control, a convenience bar that warns you it has a motion sensor on the snack table, a Keurig that was broken, a toilet paper roll that you have to get off the tpilet to actually be able to reach, and oh ... almost forgot, a picture of Sting on the wall tied up and with duct tape over his mouth. I suppose that's "edgy", but not what I want to be staring at sitting in bed..

There's a reason that this hotel is centrally located on Michigan Ave and runs so cheap compared to everything else nearby (cheaper than some motel sixes I've seen). ..... It sucks.

Couldn't pay me to stay here again and that's the first hotel in 20 years I've said that about.

You've been warned.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abadnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#64 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing