We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Ranked #114 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights for our anniversary. The desk clerk was great and since it was our anniversary, he gave us an upgrade...imagine our surprise when we got off on a floor with only 3 other rooms! Corner tower suite with a view of the river and Michigan ave. Beautiful! Cabs available right outside the lobby... Never paid more than $7 for a cab ride. If you go in Dec. you must go to the ChrisKindl Festival for strudel!

Stayed: December 2007
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 2,752 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2008

Located in the distinctive and historic 1929 Carbide & Carbon building, the Hard Rock Hotel seems like a trendy boutique hotel that hasn't entirely kept up with the times. The boutique requisites are there: young, attractive staff; dark, atompspheric public areas and rooms; trendy furniture; chichi restaurant and bar area; stylish 24-hour fitness room; CD/DVD player in room; Aveda bath products; etc. But iPod docking stations are now de rigeur at boutique hotels, not CD players (no library of CDs/DVDs were available that I was aware of); much of the clientele hanging out in the lobby seemed to be young tourists and families with teens, rather than true jet-setters; the room was oppressively dark (don't try to thread a needle or read a newspaper); regular TV rather than LCD/plasma, and the sound system was mediocre. In the end it seems like the Hard Rock Hotel would have been hip a decade ago, now it seems a bit faded. That said, if one can get a good rate it might be worth the experience for young singles and couples, but not for older people or those with small children. Good location on Michigan Avenue, just south of the river. Convenient to Millennium Park and Macy's (former Marshall Field's) on State Street.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank canmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We stayed here for a night in June - got the room from Priceline for around $100 for the night.

We arrived really early in the morning to check in- 9am - and expected just to drop the bags and come back later. The porter said we should check with reception just in case there was anything free and he was more than happy to oblige - getting us a room straight away. This was a really nice touch.

The room was a good size and yes it was a little dark but no-where near as dark as some of these reviews had led me to expect. Free internet in the room was a nice touch as I had some work to do.

We used the conierge for some tickets to aa ball game and they were more than helpful and got us sorted.

All in all, a good location, nice room and good service. Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pres1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2007

We've always loved Hard Rock cafes, so when we learned there was a Hard Rock Hotel in Chicago, we knew we wanted to stay there! My husband & I went for a week, around my birthday, so the Hard Rock threw in a night for free!
It's in a really old building, but is decorated really modern & upscale. The room was super cool, with a great view of the Chicago River.
The employees really did treat us like rock stars; I'd highly recommend the Chicago Hard Rock Hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank erica75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

I visit downtown Chicago about twice a year and this was my first stay at the Hard Rock. I've also stayed at the Swissotel, Hyatt and Allegro. I would say that the location of the Hard Rock beats the other three because of its central location on Michigan Ave. This is important because most people will do alot of walking. The downside to this is that you hear more street noise (particularly sirens) because of where the hotel sits. As far as overall comfort and amenities, I still prefer the Swiss. I had read many complaints about the room temperature at the Hard Rock being too warm, however I did not encounter this problem. Granted, it was very cold and snowy during my trip, but other people were unhappy with the warm temperature, even during the winter months. I thought the bed was comfortable and the linens and towels were good quality. In addition to a TV, the room had an added perk of a CD/DVD player. That was a nice touch that I wish other hotels would include. It would be nice if bath robes and an umbrella were also available. The room was a bit cramped for my taste, but it was clean. My biggest complaint had to be the POOR LIGHTING. I know they were probably going for a certain mood, but setting a mood should never take precendence over functionality. Even during the day with natural light coming in from the window, there still wasn't enough good light to put on make-up. At night, it's an even bigger issue. I got a rate of $93/night on Hotwire and for that price, the Hard Rock was fine. I would never pay full price to stay here. Hotwire rated it as a 4 star hotel...I'd probably give it 3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelin_girl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

As with all Hard Rock's, if you love rock & roll history and memorabilia, this is a wonderful place to stay. The older hotel adds a lot of charm, and the rooms are clean, quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sailor602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Modern decor felt cold rather than luxurious.

The staff was very friendly to me.

Very clean but sparse room. Spacious and new bathroom. I had a great city view.

All in all, I wouldn't pay more than $150 a night to stay here.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank travelure27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#87 of 192 in Chicago
7,012 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#106 of 192 in Chicago
1,774 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,115 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 192 in Chicago
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Chicago

Address: 230 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60601-5906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#68 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#83 Business Hotel in Chicago
#85 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $121 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown Chicago, IL hotel offering suites, spa services, pet friendly rooms, meeting space and wedding venues. Guests can also enjoy nightlife at the hotel’s bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Chicago
Chicago Hard Rock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing