We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My family and I travel to Chicago many times throughout the year but generally stay in the more upscale hotels. We don't visit during the Summer very often and I found that the rates at our usual choices were much higher than I wanted to pay for just one night. Since I was in town for a bachelorette party and wouldn't be spending much time at the hotel anyways, I took a chance and was pleasantly surprised! You can't beat the location. Although there was nothing special about the rooms, they were clean and the beds were comfortable.

My main complaint is that our room was not ready until around 5pm but they made up for it by throwing in a free breakfast buffet(which was very good!). Self parking was simple and reasonable at $40 per night but the lot seemed pretty full when we arrived around 10am. So my suggestion is, once you park, stay parked!

All in all it was a good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephs1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. You are right; our location can't be beat! We are only steps away from the Magnificent Mile, great restaurants, and shopping. We apologize for the delay on your check-in and we will be sure to share your feedback with our staff. We are delighted to hear your stay was clean and enjoyable. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for your stay in Chicago! We hope to see you soon here at the Courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and it is a great value for the location! It is just a short walk to Magnificent Mile and it is a straight shot down Ontario to get on the Dan Ryan. There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel so you don't need to drive or catch a cab. The Starbuck's is right in the lobby and Garrett's popcorn is right around the corner. It is also really close to Watertower.
Parking is expensive, but typical of downtown. The only disappointment with my stay this time was the carpet in my room. It looked like someone spilt coffee on it...a large stain. I know that happens and I haven't had a room like that there before.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CKGkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. You are right; we are located in the heart downtown where all the shopping, restaurants, and main attractions are located. We are so happy to hear your enjoyed having Starbucks at your fingertips and Garrett's Popcorn right next door. We apologize for the carpet stains during your stay. We thank you for your observations, we will be sure to share them with the appropriate departments. We thank you for staying at the Courtyard Magnificent Mile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night while visiting the Chicago area. We were previously at a different hotel chain and really missed a lot of the included Marriott brand amenities. As for this hotel, nice staff, comfy beds, and great location. It is only a block from Michigan Avenue, which brings you to the Coach store and Grand Lux Cafe just across Michigan Avenue. We would definitely stay here again, hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank lemonie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for your stay in Chicago! We appreciate all of your kind words regarding our nice staff, comfortable rooms and location. We are located in the heart of the Windy City which makes it very convenient for guest's to see the city. You are correct; we are just half a block from the Magnificent Mile, great restaurants and shopping are just around the corner! We look forward to your longer stay here in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'm a Gold Marriott member and typically do not stay at Courtyard properties, but this one cannot be beat for it's location and price. It's right on Mag Mile near all kinds of shopping and restaurants. The site also has a garage onsite, and "normal" Chicago prices are charged. Would recommend this hotel and I have stayed here on several occasions!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank photochick502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott as a Gold Rewards Member. It was our pleasure hosting your stay here in Chicago. We work exceptionally hard to meet guest expectations and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.We couldn't agree with you more on our location; just half a block from the Magnificent Mile, restaurants, and attractions. Thank you again for your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Courtyard Marriott Magnificent Mile --excellent location, clean rooms, free wifi and pool. Literally walk out the front door of hotel turn left and you are on the Magnificent Mile. The staff was so helpful--from dining suggestions to booking tours--friendly, helpful and professional. We requested a higher floor if available for the rest of our stay--quickly granted request and offered to move our luggage for us while we were sightseeing! Downstairs lobby is quite nice but on the small side but we didn't come to Chicago to sit in the lobby! Room décor was nice, typical courtyard décor. Highly recommend! A note: whereas New York is the city the never sleeps--as my daughter said while we were there....'Chicago is the city with a decent bedtime:) After 9, only family friendly restaurants were TGI Fridays, Cheesecake Factory and Grand Lux Café. Did not try Grand Lux. For pizza we tried Pizzeria Uno (the original deep dish) and Lou Malnati's --loved both but I think Malnati's was our fave! Sorry for the picture on its side!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the more of a view you have--but keep in mind your view is of buildings. We co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 933annaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive comments. Our hotel is known for its contemporary decor and convenience of travel and location. We couldn't agree with you more, our location is incredible. The ease of walking to landmark locations such as Navy Pier, John Hancock, and the Magnificent Mile is within minutes of our hotel. Thank you for your great comments about our staff. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our entire team. It is always our absolute pleasure to assist you with anything you may need and that includes placing you and your daughter on a higher floor! We are so glad to hear about your excellent stay at the Courtyard and we look forward to your next stay in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This Courtyard suffered from needing some time to do some general non-daily maintenance. The daily housekeepers did an excellent job and our room was clean and spotless each day of our four day stay. It appeared that the hotel was running completely full and staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was remarkably quiet overall, except for when there were sirens outside.

We were glad to have a refrigerator. The coffee pot was a single serve type.

However, there were items that need attention. 1) The side of the bed closest to the bathroom squeeked horribly each time someone would get up or sit down on it. 2) The pull cord for the drapes was missing. 3) The temperature of the room could only be regulated by turning on and off the air conditioner. 4) The overall softness of the bed was greater than in most Courtyards in which we have stayed.

Having stayed in numerous Courtyards throughout the country, we expect that they will be in excellent condition. This was very pleasant. The location was excellent, and thank goodness we didn't have a car and have to pay for parking at $60+ per day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjbphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your detailed response, we greatly appreciate all of your comments. We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced in your room; we will have the appropriate departments be informed. Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly staff. We strive to exceed guest expectations and there is nothing more rewarding to hear than how much you enjoyed your stay.We hope that your next visit to Chicago we can accommodate you. We hope you come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed here for a conference back in early June. I stayed here though the conference was being held at a Hilton property because I am a platinum member with Marriott. I thought this was your average marriott. The rooms were nice, check-in ran smoothly and the location is nice. I was disappointed that no type of breakfast was offered for platinum members. I was also unimpressed with the front desk/concierge desk. We asked for recommendations on where to go for dinner and the guys stumbled through it and ended up not being very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth-Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to the Marriott brand as a Platinum member. We apologize for the experience you had with our Front Desk and Concierge. This has been brought to the attention of our Front Desk Manager to correct the mentioned issue.We hope you will reconsider our hotel and give us an opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to Chicago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $100 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing