We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #42 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were there for the kick off the Christmas Season and it was a great stay. The hotel is perfectly located in walking distance of every place you would want to go near the MM and the Navy Pier. Perfect Stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTate1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

No better way to kick off the holidays then celebrating the Festival of Lights! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile for your stay. We are happy you found our location convenient and easy to access all of Chicago’s great sites! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

First time staying in a hotel in the city. Overall the hotel was good. We stayed on New Year's Eve and check in was very easy and pleasant. We had purchased the room with valet package, and it was the best option best deal. Easy in and out of the hotel with the valet. Upon walking into the room we realized that there was no fridge in the room. Called down to the front desk, fridge was in our room in less than 10 minutes. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Unfortunately, we did experience a bit of noise out in the hallways and from the ambulances of the nearby hospital. But then again, it was New Year's Eve, so it was to be expected. The room was very clean, and I have no complaints whatsoever. The furniture does show a bit of wear and tear, but it's to be expected in a hotel. They can't update after every guest. If you avoid the restaurant downstairs, do so. They were very unpleasant and unaccomodating. Would not recommend or return to Viand. Overall the stay was nice. I would stay again, hopefully with a better view on a higher floor next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnywhereButHere23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

We thank you for choosing the Courtyard Magnificent Mile to ring in the New Year! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our valet and staff both convenient and accommodating! We apologize for the experience you had encountered at our restaurant. Our staff works hard to exceed all guest expectations and it is unlikely of our staff to have that type of service. We will be sure to share your comments with our restaurant and bar staff. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your feedback. We can’t wait for your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Courtyard never disappoints. When we come to Chicago we always do our favorite things -- shopping, restaurants, movies. The Courtyard is close to everything. We can walk to Water Tower to shop and most of our favorite restaurants are either within walking distance or a short cab ride away. (Garrett Popcorn is just steps away.) The rooms are extremely clean, spacious and lovely. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. We've tried other hotels but keep coming back to this Courtyard because there are never any unpleasant surprises.

Room Tip: Even if close to elevators, rooms are still quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments. You are correct; we are located right by the hustle and bustle of Michigan Avenue. The smell of Garrett’s Popcorn brushes by just as you walk out our front door. We are so happy to hear you found our rooms spacious and clean. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. Our staff works hard to exceed guest expectations. We can't wait for your next stay with us and we appreciate your loylaty with the Courtyard Marriott Magnificent Mile!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay here and we have had no issues. The hotel was packed this weekend 12/26-12/29 and we experienced no noise from neighboring rooms so the walls must not be thin. I travel a lot and this means a lot to me.

The rooms are clean and housekeeping does a good job keeping it that way. Front desk staff and doormen are courteous and pleasant. Starbucks in the lobby is a great perk, on site restaurant looks nice but we really haven't used it outside of some late night desert. No offense to the hotel but if you come to Chicago and eat at virtually any hotel then you are missing out on one of the best things the city has to offer, the great food!

The value the hotel provides for services offered is really top notch. I have recommended this hotel to all friends and family wanting to visit the city. The location for shopping is perfect.

One negative I would say are the beds, they are satisfactory but if improved it would really put this hotel over the top.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank OhioGuy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for your warm comments. We are delighted to hear during your stay we were able to accommodate your needs and you found our front desk staff and Houskeeping friendly and helpful. In addition, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed our location, we love that we are located in the heart of downtown. We have an extensive list of shops, restaurants, and main attractions to see within walking distance of our hotel. It was our pleasure assisting you during your stay and we look forward to hosting your next stay in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile for two nights, Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 21 & 22, 2013. There were five of us, my wife, three granddaughters, and me. We stayed in a room with two queen size beds and a sofa sleeper (rm 2023). The room was very clean, and showed no signs of wear and tear. The HD TV had lots of HD programming, and the free WiFi worked as advertised. The beds were comfortable, the sofa sleeper was adequate, with the usual thin mattress. There was a small refrigerator in the cabinet under the TV. The room was very quiet, we never heard any noises from other rooms. There was some street noise, but then it is downtown Chicago, so that is to be expected.

All of the staff encountered were very friendly and welcoming, from the Bellman to housekeeping. Valet parking was fast and efficient, but there is very little room for loading and unloading outside the door. No complaints about the staff, they are a credit to the hotel. We got an excellent rate for downtown Chicago, that included valet parking, $160 including taxes and fees per night.

So why not an excellent rating for this hotel? Hotels with pools are not hard to find, but hotels with pools that have rooms adequate for five people (in this case two queens and a sofa sleeper) are harder to find, and was a major reason we chose this hotel. Upon arriving we found the pool closed for repairs, and the desk clerk said it had been closed for some time. No mention on the hotel website when making the original reservation, and no mention from the reservation agent for the hotel when we added a night a couple days before arrival (due to the weather forecast for the weekend). Also no mention in the email we received reminding us of our reservation the day before arrival. Our granddaughters were very disappointed that they could not swim, that was very much in the plans for the weekend.

Other than the pool not being available, and no notice of it, this hotel is very nice, well located, a good value, and very professionally staffed with people who make you feel very welcome. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our swimming pool. Our guests are our top priority and we strive to exceed all guests expectations. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to see you again soon so that we can give you the absolute best experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was my second time at the hotel and it covered expectations as my previous stay. Perfectly located a block from Michigan Ave and next to a self parking which is a plus (it is internally connected so no freezing during this last snow storm). I was greeted very nicely by the front desk lady and the check in literally took a minute.
The room had a great view of Michigan Ave which is one thing I requested. A normal, clean and nice room with two queen beds, work desk, nice LCD TV with HD channels and a mini fridge. The bathroom also very clean and the perfect size. WiFi worked perfectly and could even watch some streaming video with no freezes.
This property hasn't disappointed me yet again and will continue to stay whenever I come to Chicago for a weekend. Perfect location, perfect service, great rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful comments! We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. You are right about our location; we love how being in the heart of Chicago! We appreciated you taking the time to share such positive feedback about our clean hotel, convenient parking and friendly front desk. Our team works hard to exceed guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable and had free WiFi. Ate at the attached restaurant for lunch and loved the homemade tomato soup. Just bring some earplugs if you are a light sleeper! Near the hospital so sometimes it was a little noisy. Slept like a baby tho!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We can't thank you enough for your wonderful review! We are so pleased that you and your sister had an enjoyable stay with us! We couldn't agree more with you on our location; we are just seconds away from the Magnificent Mile which is full of shopping, restaurants and history! Our staff will be so happy to hear all the great things you had to say as it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#15 of 191 in Chicago
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $126 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing