We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and reasonable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #50 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My conference hotel was the larger Marriott close by, but I chose this one. I could walk to the conference shuttle bus at the larger Marriott but enjoyed Courtyard's amenities - more reasonable price in food, internet access, coffee, etc. As well, there were some great little restaurants close by, and you're right next to Michigan Ave. I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DartSkiDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
DartSkiDoc, Thank you for your 5 star review! We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Marriott Magnificent mile! I definitely agree with the you on our location, you can't beat walking out the front door and only being half a block from the Maginifent Mile which is filled with shopping, restaurants and awesome sites. We can't wait for your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    325
    71
    18
    7
See reviews for
258
170
46
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fenton, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here the last weekend of September. Convenient location, easy check in, and clean comfortable room. Very impressed by the desk staff: we asked where we could get a copy of the Sunday Trib for the next day which isn't a newspaper the hotel provides. We were pleasantly surprised to find the Sunday Trib outside our door the next morning. That is exceptional service. The housekeeping staff was excellent. Our only disappointment was Sunday evening when we planned to eat in the hotel restaurant only to be told the dining room was closed. Not a problem since there are such good restaurants closeby - Coco Pazzo and Tre Soldi are both excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJeffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
MaryJeffco,Wow!! Thank you for that awesome 5 star review! We are so happy you found our location convenient and rooms clean! Our staff works hard to go above and beyond to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. We are so thrilled that you had such a great experience and its our absolute pleasure to meet all your needs. The staff will be excited to hear about all your wonderful comments and we can't thank you enough! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I was in Chicago for a conference but didn't want to spend 300 a night so I stayed here. The hotel was OK, staff are very friendly. It's 6 blocks away from the water tower, one block off from the Michigan Ave, and two blocks from the Nordstrom. The hotel is very basic, room are very basic. If you are an elite member, don't expect upgrade or the free perks. The parking is very expensive, it cost me 50 per day!! Crazy!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IntBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
IntBizTraveler, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken. We apologize for the price of parking as the parking garage is not owned by the Hotel but is independently owned .We couldn’t agree with you more on our location, close to the Magnificent Mile, Water Tower and Nordstrom’s! We will be sure to pass on wonderful comment to our staff. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best thing about staying in this hotel is that it was close to Garrett's Popcorn. The smell was delicious. The rooms were spacious and clean and the view was great. You must be careful though because you are very close to other hotel rooms or buildings. Very close to the magnificent mile. The train ride into Chicago was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rinarisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay! Being close to Garrett's Popcorn is definitely a plus, having that smell everyday is mouth watering! We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to Chicago and we thank you for choosing the Courtyard Marriott Magnificent Mile! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a typical Courtyard with what you would expect from Martiott. The front desk folks were very responsive when I requested a certain type of room. The fitness area was equipped with enough cardio and weight equipment to keep most travelers happy. Even though you get the typical city sounds like sirens etc if you request a higher floor it is tolerable.
For those really light sleepers the fan in the room does not give enough white noise to help.
Overall I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kielar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Kielar, Thank you for your positive feedback and your loyalty to the Marriott Brand. We are so glad you found our hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. It’s our pleasure to assist you and make you feel at home. We apologize for any noise you experienced during your stay and will be sure to keep you on a higher floor for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have travelled to Chicago several times and this was a great hotel. The service was oustanding and the hotel was extremely clean which is what you would expect from a Courtyard. The hotel is very convenient to all of the shopping and dining on the Magnificent Mile and I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is staying in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
T P, what an amazing review, Thank you! We are so pleased that you found our location convenient and clean! It’s wonderful being only half a block from the Magnificent Mile and steps away from great restaurants. Hopefully we will be seeing you on your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were spending the weekend at the property prior to attending a conference in the area and decided to stay on points. We were still treated like real guests and the staff was VERY helpful at every twist and turn of our journey. It was also very nice to have a Starbucks right downstairs. Nightly jazz in the bar was also a great treat. And the location just off the Magnificent Mile was perfect for sightseeing and window-shopping. It was truly a pleasure to stay here and it pained us to switch hotels for the conference.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jig1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Director of Sales at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We love our location and we are so glad you were able to enjoy it also. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#78 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,592 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,772 reviews
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown near the Magnificent Mile. This hotel offers a stylish lobby, spacious guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design, and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our ideal location is just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of event space, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near the Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing