We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #62 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location and nice staff”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Walking distance to so much and the staff were always very nice. Not the "Freshest" hotel on the block but clean. Pillows are on the small side and would like a little more water pressure. I would recommend this hotel and would return. We were on the 19th floor with a partial view that was nice. Took the parking package which I liked. I would probably do again and then again I may not. May try parking myself and then I will know which way is best. But doing it is still convenient..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfwsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your warm comments regarding our staff. Our team works hard to exceed guest's expecations and it is always the most rewarding to hear your experience. It is unfortunate that the parking in the city is expensive, but sometimes depending on where you are going its a lot more convenient to have your car. We hope that this doesn stop you from visiting again beause we would love to host your next stay in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    376
    84
    23
    10
See reviews for
300
192
47
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here as part of wedding party in the beginning of August. Check was a breeze and the room was great. I asked that my suit for the wedding be dry cleaned overnight and following day my suit was delivered by 10 am. Service was great. Only complaint was that they ran out of Goose Island Green Line draft while we were. Other than that, great place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! We are so glad that we were able to assist you in preparing for the weddnig that you were attending. We hope the wedding was a blast, but don't let that be the last time you come to Chicago! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I went for a weekend to Chicago and decided to stay at this Courtyard. The location is fantastic, one block from Michigan Ave, next to Garrett and even has its own Starbucks.
The room was big, confortable beds, big hd tv and a small but perfect bathroom.
The front desk people was very nice and helpful. I was given at first a room looking out the rooftops so I asked for a new one with a streetview and was given.
Excellent experience although at a cost, as any other hotel at Magnificiente mile by the way.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your accomodation choice. We couldn't agree with you more; we love our location. We are in the center of it all, shopping, restuarants, and Chicago's main attractions! We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your stay in our comfortable and spacious rooms. We hope to see you again the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We came to Chicago on a "babymoon" right before our third child was born. After studying TONS of TripAdvisor reviews, we decided on the Courtyard Chicago. The location was excellent, and the rooms were very well appointed. However, after we headed to bed we realized that our air conditioning was just not working. We weren't completely sure, but as the night went on it was clearly broken. If I hadn't been almost 9 months pregnant, we MIGHT have waited until the morning to talk with the front desk, but I was miserable! At 2:00am we contacted the front desk and they immediately gave us a new room with no questions asked and not acting like it was an inconvenience. We had a VERY helpful bellhop who helped us move all of our things in less than 5 minutes! The next morning we received a beautiful gift from the front desk as well as breakfast vouchers for their restaurant. We were very impressed with their level of service. Bonus: the hotel is literally right next door to Garrett's Popcorn! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
First and foremost, congratulations! Chicago is a perfect place to go on your "babymoon!" We are so happy that you were taking this weekend to relax before your third baby is born and that you loved the location! Please accept our apologies as the air conditioner was broken during your stay. Thank you for your patience, we are so happy taht our front desk was able to assist you immediately. We surely can't imagine being 9 months pregnant and not having air conditioning. It was our pleasure to assit you and we wish you the best with your new addition to your family! We hope that you visit again soon, we would love to meet the whole family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I spent two evenings at this location for a training session held at the same hotel. The location was easy to get to via taxi from Union Station (around $10 fare). I was lucky enough to get a corner room and it was a great stay. The many pillows and bed were comfortable and the room was very quiet from other guests - only heard street noise. The wireless connection was excellent - easy connection, no drops, streamed full YouTube movies with no issue. The room included a small fridge as well as a HD TV with plenty of HD cable channels.

The rooms are accessible via a secured elevator - key is needed.

You're just around the corner from Michigan Avenue and there's plenty of restaurants in the area - both "fancy" and the sub shop type.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopSecretTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard to host your meeting. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy our location as much as we do. The corner rooms are quiet, and comfortable, perfect for a peaceful evening. We hope that you and your group come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my family stayed here for the fourth of July weekend! The lobby in modern but small. The elevators are fast and very bright (I'm picky on elevators). The Starbucks in the lobby was a full menu one, which is surprising for its size! The Starbucks was the FASTEST one I have ever been too! There was a line out of the room and I got my coffee in like 3 minuets from being out in the hall !!! The room was way bigger than most and the view was great! The Location on the hotel was amazing, almost on the Magnificent Mile!! Staff was just average. Pool was small. The workout/weight room was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you, we are so happy that you had a great stay at our hotel! Our Starbucks is the most successful Starbucks by square footage. It is awesome to hear that we may be the fastest, and most effiicient based on your review! We do love our location as well; we are so happy you had such an enjoyable stay. We hope that you return soon, as we would love to host your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This Courtyard was surprisiongly neat and clean. From the lobby the lobby to the bedroom, the hotel seemed very well maintained. However, the view from the rooms is a side of a Red Roof in... Service was great and beds were comfy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantalle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are so glad to hear your stay was fabulous! We hoe that you come back again soon, we would love to host your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#71 of 189 in Chicago
4,374 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing