We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard in February for a long weekend and we loved it. Great rooms, quiet at night and perfect location just half a block off Michigan Avenue.

The front desk staff easily equaled the best I've ever dealt with. They were friendly, efficient and incredibly helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and as usual for Marriott's the bed was incredibly comfortable.

Can't recommend it highly enough. All that, and Garrett's Popcorn is next door!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor at away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay here at the Courtyard Magnificent Mile. Thank you for sharing you kind words about our front desk staff, it was our pleasure accomodating you during your stay. We hope to host your next stay in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at this Magnificent hotel as part of my tour bus. Booked a room for 4 people in a 2 double bed room. The hotel itself is situated right in the heart of down town and indeed is near everything it is right next to a famous popcorn place that smells like butter heaven every time we walked by. It also houses a fine dining restaurant and a Starbucks. Let me say that the reception area and waiting lounge area looked very polished and lush. Nice fireplace and sofa seats around. There was 3 elevators and you need key carded access to access the floors very neat security feature. From concierge, front desk, bellboy, cleaning staff, room service. all staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Let me say I was very impressed with just this alone that im singing praises for this hotel. The hotel includes free wifi connection which is fast, spacious rooms, massaging shower heads, flat screen tv, comfortable bedding and pillows. All expectations were met. The only small con i have is that in the wash-room there is no ventilation so when you take a longer than usual hot shower the hot steam stays in there for awhile. Although we didn't have a view from the room we didn't stay in it for that long any ways it was a perfect resting and comfortable room also our room included a small fridge in the cabinet which was a nice feat and closet space was spacious. I really love the spaciousness of Courtyard Marriott hotels in generals. I would definitely book and recommend this hotel to all who would visit again. Excellent Job Marriott Staff and you are situated on Magnificent Mile for a very good reason!

Room Tip: Request a high room and away from elevators. If possible request for a corner room for spaciousness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerJToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your impressive comments! You are right; our hotel is located in the heart of downtown and it is within walking distance to all the famous shopping, restaurants, and main attractions. We are located next door to Garrett's Popcorn which does indeed smell of the most delicious scent of butter, cheese, and an all time favorite caramel popcorn each time you pass. We do have an inhouse restaurant Viand Bar and Kitchen which can be found on Open Table and was a part of restaurant week in the first week of February. We thank you for sharing your warm comments not only about our staff, but our htoel as well. We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear your had such a wonderful stay. It was truly our pleasure accomodating you during your stay in Chicago and hope that we again will have the opportunity to do so for you in the future. Thank you and have a Magnificent day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, very central to everything, shopping on Michigan Ave.and easy to get to transportation. Just a short walk (about 5 blocks) to the RedLine. The hotel has a small, but nice and inviting lobby area with a fireplace which was great because it was really cold outside! Free wi-fi in the hotel lobby and in the rooms, and Starbucks coffee. The room was not huge but a decent size, and was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and pillows were great. Bathroom had the shower and toilet separate from the dressing area and sink, which is nice when traveling with someone else. There is a really nice exercise room with modern equipment on the 10th floor so you have a great view while on the treadmill. Convenient business center for printing out boarding passes, e-mail, etc. Front desk staff were very friendly and allowed me late check out, which was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 21 and it was very quiet, no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your response! We couldn't agree with you more; we love our location. We are located in the center of downtown surrounded by the most elite restaurants, shopping, and main attractions. Our lobby was recently redesigned and we welcome you to enjoy a cup off coffee in front of our fireplace, especially on a cold winter day. It is wonderful to hear your experience in the guest rooms was a suitable size, and comfortable. We thank you for sharing your kind comments about our front desk. We work hard to exceed guest expectations. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel was better than expected. Such a nice surprise.
A highlight was the saff who were caring, helpful and attentive.
The hotel location is perfect. The bed was lovely and comfortable, room was very clean and spacious.
I liked that the room card was required for lift access, gives a extra feeling of security, especially when travelling alone.
Loved the facilities such as wifi, printing, laundry.

I would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Holiday M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your short and sweet review! We appreciate your warm comments about our hotel and staff. We work hard to exceed guests expectations and there is nothing more rewarding than hearing it from our guests. I was our pleasure to be able to accomodate you during your stay with a comfortable, clean, and spacious room while you were away from home. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night while on business and was not disappointed. The hotel is modern and conveniently located in the heart of Chicago. I was able to walk to Giordano's famous Chicago Pizzeria as well as stop for a view from the Signature Lounge at the John Hancock tower overlooking Chicago (just a few blocks away down Michigan Ave). The fitness area was also very nice. The breakfast (restaurant style) left something to be desired, but otherwise it was a great short stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us at the Courtyard. We are so happy to hear you ahd a delightful experience and that you enjoyed our location as much as we do. We love our location; we are located in the heart of Chicago as you said. Choosing Giordano's to dine in was an excellent choice, it's a well known staple of Chicago. The John Hancock, is yet again, another outstanding choice. You can really view the beauty of Chicago from the Signature Room. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has become our "go to" Chicago hotel several times each year when we visit. You can't beat the location. A block off Michigan Avenue and a short walk to everything in the Magnkificent Mile, River North and Streeterville. The Loop is also a short walk away.

The location is surpassed only by the staff. Everyone, beginning with the valet and the doorman, is friendly and willing to answer any question you might have. Love the rooms on the higher floors, especially those that face west with the lake views or north for the city views.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We couldn't be more delighted to be your accomodation choice for Chicago. You are correct; our location is the best! Being located right off of Michigan Avenue with the shopping, restaurants, and main attractions; it's definitely hard to beat! We thank you for your kind words about our staff; we work hard to exceed expecations and its rewarding to hear how it has made an impact on your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to host your next stay in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After researching until I went cross eyed, I finally clicked and made a decision. We stayed just two nights for a couples weekend getaway and I got such a great deal on the rooms when I prepaid in full. Almost unheard of! I was a little nervous about the price being too good to be true, but all of the good reviews were too much of a reason to try it out. All of the staff were very friendly, greeting us each time we came and went. They went out of their way. They even gave us their business cards to try to keep us from waiting in line wherever we were going. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the showers were hot and had great water pressure. One issue we had was the vanity light went out, but the desk sent someone up right away and he fixed it in 10 minutes. Check out was easy and we ate in the hotel restaurant on the last morning because it was raining and that was good as well and the staff was excellent and personable and very friendly. This hotel is close enough to walk to almost everything. We did take a cab one time, but walked the rest! It was a great stay and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for sharing your awesome experience with us. We are so happy we were able to accomodate your needs while away from home. It's important to us to exceed guest expecations and we are truly estatic to hear you had such great stay. You are right; we are located in the heart of the city just walking distance from shopping, restaurants, and attractions. We look forward to host your next stay in Chicago!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#16 of 192 in Chicago
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $119 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing