We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place Rocks!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great people, everyone that worked there seemed to want to please you and make you feel welcome. Hotel has a great location, one block off Michigan to all the great stores and restaurants. The parking is great and handy with it being right next door attached to the hotel. The Capital Grill restaurant is right across the street!! This is the only hotel we will stay at while we are in Chicago!! Great restaurant at the hotel for breakfast or just a snack. Elevators are fast, hotel is spotless.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your compliments about our hotel. You are right; our location is in the heart of downtown we are only steps from the elite shopping, fine dining, and historical landmarks. We thank you for your loyalty choosing the Courtyard by Marriott as your accommodation in Chicago. We welcome you to join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great hotel just 200 yards off the Magnificent Mile. We paid a little extra for a corner room and it was money well spent. Great views over the city from a high floor. Friendly and helpful staff and the perfect place for a short break in Chicago. Very popular and tried to book again on our return but was booked out. For the first time ever I can say "highly recommended"!!! For the fly fisherman it is just across the road from the orvis shop.

Room Tip: Pay about $20 more or so for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keenerDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. You are right; we are only a few steps from the Magnificent Mile. We love our location surrounded by great shopping and a variety of restaurants suited for all different tastes of Chicago. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our upgraded corner rooms. They have more space, privacy, and excellent views. Thank you for your compliments about our staff. It was our pleasure hosting your stay. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Courtyard Chicago DT/Magnificent Mile on East Ontario. It's well located. Rooms are lovely & the restaurant is good. There are nice places to sit in the lobby. Garrett's Popcorn & Due & Uno (the latter two using the original recipe, not that of the chain now called Uno) are close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your short and sweet review! We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We couldn’t agree with you more; we love being located in the center of downtown! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located for eating and shopping on the Magnificent Mile. All staff, inlcuding the desk clerks, the maids, the doormen, and the bellhops, were estremely friendly and very willing to help. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Stayed here for 3 nights and had a view of Michigan Avenue for the light parade. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you were able to make it to Chicago on such an event weekend. The lights parade is a tradition on the Magnificent Mile and it is an experience to see. We thank you for your comments about our staff. It is ours pleasure making your stay clean and most enjoyable while you are away from home. We look forward to host your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We just had a wonderful stay at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/ Magnificent Mile (made our choice based on the fantastic reviews we read here and in other websites). The location is top- notch. Even though we only spent two nights over there, we were absolutely happy with the service; the people could not have been nicer, always greeted us with a smile and had the best service attitude. Every single person from the hotel staff is truly committed with providing the best service!

The rooms are great, spacious and comfortable. We got a 2-full bed double bedroom with crisp linens and cozy pillows. I'd only wish they offered an in-room safe and mini fridge.
It was awesome to find that they offer free wi-fi connection throughout the hotel and we also printed our boarding passes at the business center in a breeze. There's a Starbucks cafe inside the hotel premises.

We want to thank the hotel staff for making our stay so pleasant. We'll go back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for 2 double beds in your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Losmiquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your sincere comments about our hotel. It’s always a pleasure to hear your delightful experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott. Our team works hard to exceed expectations and there is nothing more rewarding than seeing the warm smile an expression on those we have made an impact on. We hope to see you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel feels new and the staff is very nice. I love the lobby with the fireplace and the hotel is within walking distance of some great places to eat/shop. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable.

Nice option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your short and sweet review. We are so happy to hear you had a nice and comfortable stay. You are right our hotel is within walking distance of the best shopping and restaurants in downtown Chicago. We welcome you to come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for four nights on business. My room was a single, but very roomy, very clean with pleasant decor. The bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping did an excellent job - I always came back to a neat, clean room. Every single staff person I had interaction with was extremely friendly and helpful. They were quick to help with suggestions for dining and directions. The in-house restaurant, Viand, had excellent food. Would definitely recommend this place to others. My only caution is that it is located very close to Northwestern Hospital, so if the sound of sirens is an issue, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott as your accommodation for four nights on business. Four nights away from home is really hard; we are so happy you found our rooms comfortable, clean, spacious, and pleasantly decorated. We work hard to meet guest’s expectations; we thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Viand has redesigned their menu so it is great to hear your feedback on how much you enjoyed your experience. You are right we are located in the heart of the city and very close to Northwestern; however, we have rooms that face all directions on the block and we have up to twenty four floors, high enough to mute out any noise. We apologize this was an inconvenience during your stay. It is important to us that you receive full service during your stay and please do let our front office staff know that you prefer a quiet and high floor so next time we can accommodate to your preference. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#16 of 192 in Chicago
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $118 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing