We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely hotel, exemplary staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #51 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, exemplary staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for four nights on business. My room was a single, but very roomy, very clean with pleasant decor. The bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping did an excellent job - I always came back to a neat, clean room. Every single staff person I had interaction with was extremely friendly and helpful. They were quick to help with suggestions for dining and directions. The in-house restaurant, Viand, had excellent food. Would definitely recommend this place to others. My only caution is that it is located very close to Northwestern Hospital, so if the sound of sirens is an issue, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott as your accommodation for four nights on business. Four nights away from home is really hard; we are so happy you found our rooms comfortable, clean, spacious, and pleasantly decorated. We work hard to meet guest’s expectations; we thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Viand has redesigned their menu so it is great to hear your feedback on how much you enjoyed your experience. You are right we are located in the heart of the city and very close to Northwestern; however, we have rooms that face all directions on the block and we have up to twenty four floors, high enough to mute out any noise. We apologize this was an inconvenience during your stay. It is important to us that you receive full service during your stay and please do let our front office staff know that you prefer a quiet and high floor so next time we can accommodate to your preference. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    324
    71
    18
    7
See reviews for
257
170
46
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked this hotel several months in advance for Friday night, October 19, 2012. The room price dropped a couple times before our arrival date, and when I called, the price was adjusted each time. The hotel is very clean, the queen beds were comfortable, location is convenient to most places, and the staff is very friendly. We were granted early check-in, immediately brought extra pillows and towels, and a small refrigerator (no charge). Highly recommend when a hotel is needed in downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your warm comments about our staff. We are so happy to hear we were able to accommodate early check-in and late check-out requests, in addition to the clean rooms and comfortable beds. It was our pleasure hosting your stay in Chicago. You are correct; our hotel is located in the center of downtown, everything is walking distance from our hotel lobby entrance. We look forward to host your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They accomodated my early check in and late check out requests with no problem. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. I loved all the pillows that were provided. The location near Water Tower, Michigan Ave shopping and the Lurie Children's hospital made it easy to find whatever you wanted to enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sewbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. The month of October was very busy in the city of Chicago. Our team works hard to meet guest expectations and we are delighted to give you the experience you need. It was our pleasure hosting your stay while in Chicago. We hope to see you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visit Chicago often and always stay in the downtown area close to all the action, shops, and restaraunts. This was our first time to stay in the Marriott Courtyard. I have to say, the location was perfect to reach everywhere. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the door men to the bartender to the front desk. They seem to put customer satisfaction as a priority. It was a nice place for our family to gather as they had convenient and comfortable places in the lobby around the fireplace and a nice bar with areas we could sip cocktails and enjoy conversations. It's a family-friendly place. The rooms are typical hotel rooms, but decorated very nice, with updated colors, carpets, bedding, etc. The beds were comfy (a must) and the housekeeping more than acceptable. They left extra towels when needed and did a fantastic job cleaning up.

In summary, a good choice for a stay in the Chicago area. Although we've been to many hotels, we'll probably stay with this location for our future visits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k-cadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott as your accommodation in Chicago. We couldn’t agree with you more; we love our location. We are in the heart of the Windy City, only steps away from restaurants and shopping, and only a few blocks from Chicago’s main attractions. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our staff, we work hard to exceed guest expectations and nothing is more rewarding than hearing it from our guests. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. Our hotel is open for all travelers and we are delighted to hear that you had a Magnificent experience. We look forward to your next visits to Chicago! Let us know if there is anything we can do to make it even more enjoyable for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed one night here July 2012. The reception was great and so was the service. Hotel is a little older but still a nice and enjoyable place to stay. It was clean and bug free and thats what is most important to me. If you like Garretts popcorn like I do the store is right next door. The hotel is within walking distance to many places to catch a bite to eat./Enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that the reception and service went well. Our hotel was built in 2003 and has seen many renovations since 2010; we drive for clean and comfortable rooms. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you during your stay. You are right; Garrett’s Popcorn is next store to our front entrance. We are located in the heart of the magnificent shopping and restaurants of Chicago. We look forward to host your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Outstanding staff. A bit pricey - especially the last night - but a very nice stay! Barmaid had lots of personality. Front desk were pleasant and cordial. Room was very clean. I would definitely stay here again - especially during a trade show. Right in the heart of downtown. I only took a cab to the airport, but could have taken the train. We walked to every restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation during such a busy week. You are correct; we are in the heart of downtown and are conveniently surrounded by restaurants and shopping within steps from our hotel. We look forward to your next stay at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chicago is one of the best big cities in the USA and staying in a hotel that is within walking distance to Michigan Avenue with its restaurants and shops is important to an enjoyable visit. We spent five days there recently and after arrival, we didn't need a cab to get around the visit the key sites. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but ate at their in house restaurant "Viand" which was beyond our expectations. The wine list was weak, but the dinner was perfect.

Room Tip: Chicago is a Trade Show Town with full capacity most of the time. "Rooms away from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. You are right about Chicago; it is one of the best big cities in the USA! We are located in the center of Chicago’s best shopping on Michigan Ave. We are a few blocks from Millennium Park and Navy Pier. A variety of restaurants and the main attractions are all within walking distance from our front entrance. We are glad you dined with us at Viand; the menu was redesigned and we are open to all opinions, thank you for sharing. We hope to see you again soon at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#78 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 3,589 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#33 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,771 reviews
Near North Side
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the grandeur of the Windy City at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown near the Magnificent Mile. This hotel offers a stylish lobby, spacious guest rooms with 32" LCD televisions, full-service amenities, an Art Deco-inspired design, and the renowned value and service of a Courtyard. Our ideal location is just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. Pamper yourself with an indoor pool & fitness facility, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and an upscale restaurant, as well as over 3,700 square feet of event space, and complimentary fiber optic high-speed Internet access. Offering upscale, affordable lodging in the city, we're a leader among Downtown Chicago hotels near the Magnificent Mile. Discover the thrill and excitement of the Windy City at the Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing