We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent trade show stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Ranked #62 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Recent trade show stay.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Outstanding staff. A bit pricey - especially the last night - but a very nice stay! Barmaid had lots of personality. Front desk were pleasant and cordial. Room was very clean. I would definitely stay here again - especially during a trade show. Right in the heart of downtown. I only took a cab to the airport, but could have taken the train. We walked to every restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation during such a busy week. You are correct; we are in the heart of downtown and are conveniently surrounded by restaurants and shopping within steps from our hotel. We look forward to your next stay at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    376
    84
    23
    10
See reviews for
301
193
47
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Chicago is one of the best big cities in the USA and staying in a hotel that is within walking distance to Michigan Avenue with its restaurants and shops is important to an enjoyable visit. We spent five days there recently and after arrival, we didn't need a cab to get around the visit the key sites. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but ate at their in house restaurant "Viand" which was beyond our expectations. The wine list was weak, but the dinner was perfect.

Room Tip: Chicago is a Trade Show Town with full capacity most of the time. "Rooms away from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. You are right about Chicago; it is one of the best big cities in the USA! We are located in the center of Chicago’s best shopping on Michigan Ave. We are a few blocks from Millennium Park and Navy Pier. A variety of restaurants and the main attractions are all within walking distance from our front entrance. We are glad you dined with us at Viand; the menu was redesigned and we are open to all opinions, thank you for sharing. We hope to see you again soon at the Courtyard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I reserved a room on Halloween night for me, my husband, and our young daughter, simply for the proximity to Northwestern Memorial Hospital (the reason for our stay) and the pool (my 10 year old).
The staff was fantastic; incredibly friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Check-in was quick and efficient, and I loved that they ask the preference for floor level; we stayed on the 24th floor, and my daughter was overjoyed (though I was a bit dizzy, lol). The location of the hotel cannot be beaten, our room was IMMACULATE, and the beds were so comfy. The pool temperature was neither too warm nor cold, and my husband and daughter wore themselves out swimming.
I will definitely book this hotel for our next trips into the city, which will be quite often.

Room Tip: Higher eastern-facing floors get to wake up to a peek of Lake Michigan and a fantastic sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamsmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the compliments on your stay. We are so glad we were able to accommodate; Northwestern Memorial Hospital is just steps from our front entrance. You came on a great night; we hope you enjoyed the pumpkins from our team’s pumpkin carving contest. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful stay, our front office works hard to exceed guest expectations, we are so happy we were able to get you on a high floor to meet your preference. We couldn’t agree with you more; we have a fabulous location in the heart of the Windy City. Thank you again for sharing your story, we look forward to hosting your next stay; please let us know if we can make it even better. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a low profile hotel with scaled down ammenities. There is nothing fancy about the rooms, but we found it to be one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed. It would have been helpful if they could have informed us how to request a change of sheets. Most hotels ask you to put a card on the bed. They were very accomodating about cleaning our room later in the day. The bed was comfortable and the pillows soft. We were a door away from the elevator and across from the maids workroom so worried that it would be noisy. But it wasn't. The way the room is designed with the bathroom between the bed and the hallway wall, we heard no noise at night or in the morning...very quiet. Anytime we called for assistance, they were there in minutes. My only complaint was the size of the sink area in comparison to the toilet/shower area. A woman needs lots of counter space for her "stuff". There was little room for it. It would have been helpful to have a shelf below as the sink was exposed and a perfect place for one. The shower area was huge almost as if it were to accomodate handicap wheelchair. To me it was a poor design of the sink area which was too small and the shower/toilet which had wasted space. But all-in-all, a nice hotel if you do not plan to spend a lot of time in the room which we never do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harestou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy you found our team to be friendly and helpful and our hotel to be the cleanest you have ever stayed at. Those are three of the basics we focus on to exceed guest expectations. We couldn’t agree with you more; our rooms are designed to create a quiet and relaxing environment during your stay. We are glad we were able to accommodate your needs during your stay here at the Courtyard. Thank you for sharing your observation on the vanity and sink. We welcome guests to give any feedback that we can consider in our next designs for our hotel. We thank you for choosing the Courtyard as your accommodation in Chicago, and we hope you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
369 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

From this hotel, you can easily walk to Water Tower Place, Miracle Mile shopping, Navy Pier and a bunch of local pubs, restaurants and breakfast places. Of course, you needn't go out for breakfast as it is provided, along with many healthy options. The staff here couldn't do enough for us and always with a smile. I have visited Chicago often over the past 20 years and stayed in other Marriott properties. They were fine, but when I return, I'm going back here because of the overall feeling of caring service. Nice job by the management and staff!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback and your loyalty to the Marriott Brand. We are so glad you found our hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. It’s our pleasure to assist you and make you feel at home. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location; it is a perfect place to stay for shopping, dining, and site seeing. We will definitely pass along your nice comments about our front desk staff. We work hard to exceed guest expectations. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to hosting your next stay in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're spending much time along Michigan Ave. shopping or dining. It is close enough to walk everywhere you want, even bringing armloads of packages to the room before continuing on. The staff is friendlier than most hotels, with honest and useful hints for local restaurants and pubs. Our room was clean and very quiet. For a large city, there was a homelike atmosphere about this place. I would go back in a moment.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter - no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathilinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are glad you shared the list of reasons of why you like the Courtyard! We really enjoy our location as well; we are just steps away from Garrett’s Popcorn, Michigan Avenue shopping, and a variety of restaurants. In addition, only three locks away from Water Tower Place and the John Hancock. We are very happy to hear such great comments about our staff and that your stay was most enjoyable and accommodating. We look forward to your host your next trip to Chicago so you can see more of the beautiful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of September, 2012. I stay strictly at Marriots, both for work and personal travel. I had heard that the Downtown Marriott had much smaller rooms, so we eventually decided on the Courtyard. It is only one block off of Michgan Ave, so the location is perfect. It's made for business travelers, so the amenities aren't as grand, but you should be out and about anyway! The concierge was all over it, and directed us exactly to where we wanted to go. Nothing but positives here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_of_Sales_CY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank for you for your loyalty to our brand. We are very glad we were able to accommodate you during your stay in Chicago. You are correct; we are located just steps from Michigan Avenue, the heart of Chicago. We look forward to hosting your next stay in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 189 in Chicago
4,381 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Address: 165 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-2822 (Formerly Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile at this upscale downtown Chicago Courtyard by Marriott location. The Courtyard Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile offers newly renovated guest rooms, an indoor pool & fitness center, a Starbucks in the lobby for your morning pick-me-up, complimentary WiFi, and the lobby is home to the trendy new Copper Fox Gastropub which is top-rated on Yelp. The location is ideal for visiting the Windy City; just minutes from the Loop business district, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo, McCormick Place, and premium shopping along Chicago's famous Magnificent Mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing