We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience.”
Review of Chicago Greeter

Chicago Greeter
Ranked #3 of 186 Tours in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Chicago Greeter highlights more than 40 special interest areas and more than 25 neighborhoods for visitors to explore. Chicago Greeter is designed to match a friendly, enthusiastic, and city knowledgeable local with a visitor for a two - four hour FREE informal, insider orientation to Chicago's sights. Through the Chicago Greeter service, visitors meet with a greeter who takes them around the city and demonstrates its walk-ability and the user-friendliness of its public transportation system.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a free service from a local man who had lived in Chicago many years. He took us where we wanted to go. He spent 3 hours with us, and we enjoyed the experience. It helped us focus on what things to spend our time on as we were only in town for a few days.

Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,221 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a free service which provides you with a two to four hour tour of any aspect of the city that you are interested in. Our greet was great, and we enjoyed learning about the architecture and film history of the downtown area.

I highly recommend you take advantage of this FREE service and learn about an area that you wouldn't do on your own. There are lots of great neighborhood tours as options too.

Thank froghop96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I only discovered this service 4 days before we left Australia & even though the site states you need to request your tour 10 days prior to your requested tour date, I received a response within 24hrs confirming that our tour was booked which was a lovely surprise as I expected to miss out. We meet our guide, Milan Stevanovich at the beautiful Cultural Centre Building & started our tour there. We learnt about the underground Pedway system which we would never have known existed if we hadn't of done this tour (& considering the freezing temperatures it was a delightful surprise), toured through Millenium Park (just loved the giant bean) & then caught the train out to Bucktown & Wicker Park. We walked through the beautiful old neighbourhood of Wicker Park admiring the houses built in the 1800's & Milan was full of information about the area & anything & everything else that we did. We also received two 24hr tickets that we were able to keep & use as Milan told us all about the local transport system & how & where to catch things - this was another unexpected bonus. Would definately recommend this service for a great introduction to a wonderful city.

2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreeterChicago, Manager at Chicago Greeter, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

We ask that visitors give us 10 business days notice to process a Greeter request. Occasionally (usually during January/February) we are able to accommodate guests with shorter notice.

Thank you for the great review!

Katie Law
Manager of Greeter Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Every city should have its own version of the Chicago Greeter program. These enthusiastic ambassadors do so much to put Chicago's best face forward and readily share their knowledge of and love for the City. I have done several Greeter tours and each one was as unique as the person guiding it. They thoughtfully tailored the day's adventure to our interests.

Thank DinerGirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We traveled to Chicago for the first time back in August 2012. We had high expectations of this walking tour because of the high rankings it received on Trip Advisor. We were disappointed that no one ever got back to us after our initial email, I emailed them again to make sure they received all my information and never received any confirmation from anybody there. Who knows maybe they were all on vacation that week, we still enjoyed the area while there and will definitely be back!

Thank dexter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreeterChicago, Manager at Chicago Greeter, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

I am so sorry that you were not able to have a Chicago Greeter visit while you were in Chicago. So glad you enjoyed your time in our great city though. I did find your registration online for Aug 2012. We sent you an email on August 6 to let you know that we needed 10 business days notice, and could not approve your visit request. The email that you should have received gave information about some of our other services (InstaGreeter) that are available for guests that do not give us the requested amount of time. The email that was sent may have ended up in your spam box, that sometimes happens with our email responses.

Please try us again, we would love for you to experience what a great service Chicago Greeter is. Just remember that we ask for 10 business days notice.

Katie Law
Manager of Greeter Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago Greeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing