We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #94 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The best thing about this hotel is its location: it's right on the highway, which was very convenient after an almost 7-hr long drive, however, you can't hear the noise or smell the exaust fumes. We had our car parked at the hotel's parking lot the entire time and walked and took public transportation everywhere. The check-in was fast and efficient, the room was clean and comfortable. Front desk employees were freindly and helpful, always ready with suggestions about sight-seeing or directions. The hotel is within 15-min walking distance to Downtown Chicago/Magnificent Mile; 5 min walk to Greek Town with all its restaurants,and 15-20 minute walk to the University Village/Little Italy with even more restaurants and shops. Lots of choices for breakfast or late night/lighter fare: Eggsperience - breakfast/pancake place right across the street, next to it is Mariano's grocery store/cafe/sushi bar...Should you want to go somewhere beyond walking distance - the hotel is right on the bus line. The neighborhood feels safe even late at night: a mix of tourists, late diners, locals walking their dogs or jogging. Overall, a very nice hotel close to Downtown yet away from the crowds and the noise of ELs.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the intersection of Halsted and Monroe Str. - a nice view of the neighborhood an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerb0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear gerb004

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the uniqueness of our location as well as the service of our staff. There are indeed some wonderful restaurants just blocks away from the hotel and in addition to the locations you listed we are also the closest hotel to the United Center. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    396
    201
    51
    42
See reviews for
189
214
68
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I commute to Chicago every week for work, and 9 times out of 10 I stay at the Crown. The service at this hotel is impeccable. The staff are all outstanding and take this property over the top. All of the front desk staff greet you with a smile, and a quick check in. The bar team of Brie and Paul are the best ever, and Ben, the Restaurant Manager is the outstanding, always taking care of the customers. The maintenance team is responsive to any issues, that may arise and very polite. The location is great, since it is located right next door to Mariano's, and soon a Whole Foods will be next door as well. $5 - $7 cab ride gets you anywhere in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms offer some excellent views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear James N,

It is wonderful to hear that you are able to call us your home away from home and that our staff have always provided you with a warming experience. Thank you for the great feedback and this will certainly be shared with the team. We look forward to having you home again.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A few weeks back my son and I made our way to Chicago to watch the Stadium Series Hockey game between the Chicago Black Hawks and Pittsburgh Penguins. As we were visiting for a short 2 night stay we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel that was close to Soldier field as well as some great restaurants. We were very fortunate to come accross the Crowne Plaza. the location was perfect and the staff were amazing. Jasmine in particular was incredibly helpful in directing us to some great places to eat. I highly recommend Giordano's for the deep dish pizza and Gibson's steak house. Both were excellent. The room we stayed in was extremely clean and comfortable. If my travels bring me back to Chicago, I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear OB87

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear the you and your son had such a memorable experience and that Jasmine provided you with such great recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel gets a bad rap in some reviews because it's now "downtown." It is downtown, but not on the magnificent mile. This is ideal for us as we've been to Chicago a number of times and don't need to see the heart of downtown like that. It saves on parking, traffic time, and the area around this hotel is much more hangout friendly than downtown. Still, a bus/cab is a two minute commute to the heart of downtown and you can walk it in 15 minutes if the weather is nice.

The area around this hotel is the real key. There's a Walgreens behind it, and a supermarket across the street which is awesome. Plus, your two blocks from a great brewpub in Haymarket and Girl & The Goat - the restaurant of a Top Chef winner. There's another place across the street called Little Goat which has the most amazing breakfast.

In summary, I liked this hotel because it's downtown, but in a part of downtown that has more personality than the mag mile. Also, if you're booking the hotel on the CP website, there's an offering for a parking package which makes parking only $10/night which is a steal for downtown.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. I am glad to hear that you got to enjoy the wonderful West loop neighborhood that we sit in. So often guests of the city only see Michigan Avenue and do not truly experience what Chicago has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having never been to Chicago I was very excited about my trip with my 15 year old son. I wanted to eat good and be sure to see all the best places. I called before I left and spoke to Jasmine who spent a half hour on the phone with me giving advice and suggestions and made me feel so much more comfortable. When we arrived, Jasmine had put together a package of information, a personal note just for my son and I of her own 'don't-miss' attractions and suggestions on where to eat. It was soooo helpful! Jasmine went above and beyond my expectation of a great hotel concierge and made our trip so great. Thank you!! Oh yes, hotel itself also wonderful and in the heart of everything. :)

Amber Lipson

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good Afternoon Amber L

We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience with us and delighted to know that you were cared for so well by Jasmine. I hope that you and your son got to enjoy our wonderful city and neighborhood as you had hoped. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
373 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 28 adults this past February when we were visiting Chicago. This place is fabulous! The management is great to work with and the staff are attentive to every need. I and several members of my group thoroughly enjoyed the Manager's Evening Reception. Excellent snacks and refreshments. Many terrific restaurants are within walking distance, however several of my group were very satisfied with the hotel's restaurant. The breakfast buffet was outstanding!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your group's experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guests. It delights us to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night business trip - meetings were with a company just a couple of blocks from here, which is why I chose this hotel. The room was clean and functional - comfortable, decent size desk. Two weird things in the room: 1) the door to the bathroom was a sliding door and 2) the "door" to the closet reminded me of a shower curtain. Nothing wrong with either...just odd. The gym was decent for a hotel of this caliber. Didn't eat at the restaurant, but we had a drink at the bar - service was pretty mediocre.
In summary, I would never chose this location if I was coming to Chicago for leisure, but it served the purpose for this trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and we hope that you will consider staying with us again. We do have many unique opportunities within our West Loop neighborhood beyond just business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#118 of 189 in Chicago
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing