We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #95 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I had an issue with check-in that may have clouded some of my experience, but this was just an average hotel to me. It has the average things you would expect and the gym was very useful. Staff are mostly friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear KC

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to complete this review concerning your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your arrival at our hotel that led you to an average experience. Your experience is contrary to the high level of service we strive to maintain, and of which you have every right to expect at the Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro.

I want to assure you that we will look into our arrival experience to determine what happened and will take measures to ensure that these issues are addressed appropriately so that every guest gets the top level of hospitality that we strive to provide.

Again, your comments are truly appreciated and if there is anything additional you would like to address I would welcome the feedback. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
cmansfield@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    392
    199
    49
    42
See reviews for
185
213
68
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The staff and hotel were fantastically awesome. We were treated so terrifically by the staff it made our emergent stay seem non emergent. Pedro, Sal, Tiffany, and John, Michael and the three bell hops on days made us feel like we were part of their family. Anything we needed they had and or got it. We have traveled a lot and stayed at many hotels and they have never been as it was there when it comes to being hospitable. The hotel itself was great, accommodations, location and absolutely everything was really awesome. We are from Georgia "the Hospitality State" and were treated far and above what we were raised with. Crowne Plaza is fortunate to have such outstanding employees. They are genuine and kind and it shows naturally. On any trip that we may incur that takes us North, even remotely close, we will stay at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro. I want to thank them for making a hard visit(Personal Emergent)so much better. There is no place like there:)

Room Tip: Could not indulge in a pool and no children were with us due to the nature of our stay, yet it all w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cole M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We at Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest. We are delighted to know that you rate the overall hotel service, facilities and attitude of the staff highly, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay even under less than ideal personal circumstances. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Cole Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacrosse, Wi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Its a great neighborhood, convenient groceries and wine. Its a bit far to walk to theaters, but what you save pays for the cab. Having stayed about 25 times in the loop district, its a nicer, more contemporary hotel than many of the "name" places in Chicago.

The place had a very friendly and accommodating staff. Got a top floor king bed just by asking. We had a afternoon train and they let us chill in the bar for 4 hours while we watched a bowl game. The staff could not have been nicer.

Our room had all new surfaces including the tub, the only down side was some of the furniture was older and some was "chipped". A problem, not for me! All in all, we were very pleased and would be glad to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ours was a top floor, North facing king sized bed. Plenty quit, view of downtown was nice but then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OkraBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. We appreciate the kind words you said about our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for saying “the staff couldn’t have been nicer.” Providing excellent customer service is something our staff strives for. I apologize that our furniture was looking its best. I will address your concerns with our maintenance team. Please come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. It has an excellent location and was just minutes to downtown, Navy Pier, and Soldier Field! It was very quiet for being a hotel in the heart of a city! The view was great and we watched a helicopter put items on top of building. The valet service was fast and efficient!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pack4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this review. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I’m glad to see you enjoy your experience at our Hotel. On behalf of our entire team thank you for saying we have a “Great Hotel.” Please visit us again when your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We liked the location on the edge of Greektown. Staff was very friendly. Room was nice. Comfortable bed. Our room rate was very reasonable for a good hotel in a good location, though parking was $39/night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. The kind words about our location, staff, room, and the value of the hotel are very much appreciated. The next time your travels bring you to Chicago I would like to help make your reservation. Please call me anytime at 312-602-2132.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Enjoyed my stay very much,...very well located...public transportation on the side and few blocks from Union Station, Willis Tower, and Greektown in the West Loop. Not far away from Little Italy
Very neat, clean and comfortable rooms and premises. Nice, well trained and attentive staff.
Restaurant good,but a bit expensive. Cabs are abundant , easy to get at almost any time.
Excelent deal for it's value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North face of building have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us here at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro. We are so delighted that you took time out from your busy schedule to write this great review. We all appreciate the very gracious comments you made about the hotel and our staff. I’m glad to see you stopped in and enjoyed yourself at Dine restaurant. I hope that we have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I was a nice stop, but it did not have much of a view. It was a little longer walk than i realized from the main activities and L. Overall it was good value and glad to be by nice greek restaurants. Just recommend to others to think about and extra 20 and stay closer to Michigan Ave.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ellissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMCrowneMetro, Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Chicago – The Metro on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that fact that you think we are a good value hotel. Our hotel is in a prime location for guest traveling to Greek town or the West Loop. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chester Selim
Assistant General Manager
cselim@thechicagometro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#115 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing