We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Ranked #99 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Comfortable rooms, GREAT BEDS, clean and well maintained. On premises parking is very very expensive. Staff was very nice and helpful. Did not eat at the restaurant but it was packed. Location was great for us, away from "Michigan Ave".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1911Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    381
    194
    49
    42
See reviews for
179
211
66
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I booked a room for 4 nights and the room was great. We told the front desk this was our first trip to Chicago, and he upgraded us to a suite at no additional cost. The room was very nice, and the bed was very comfortable. I was just a little dissappointed that none of the rooms have a fridge or microwave, (not even the suite). There is a grocery store across the street with a Starbucks in it, and they have nice breakfast sandwiches for $1.99. You can get a 3 day pass to ride the bus or the "EL" for $14.00 at the grocery store, and you can get to all the attractions. Little Italy and Chinatown are a joke, so don't waste your time. I would highly recommend this hotel and I stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor,and you can still hear the traffic from the expressway, but it did it not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hpadawer0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Close to everything downtown, lots of cabs driving by at any given time if you need to get somewhere.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff was also very helpful.

Only downside is the hotel does feel a bit cramped. The lobby is small and feels closed in.

Overall nothing to review bad about this place. Another great stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sufusimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTLE ROCK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is very nice and the staff was excellent. Check in was easy. The only negative is that the cost of parking is $35.00 per night. I went on line and found a parking garage one block away that only charged $22.00 and if you buy on line in advance the cost would be $14.00 per day.
I ate in the hotel restaurant (Dine) one time and the chicken dinner was excellent. I watched part of the Chicago Marathon from my balcony. There is a large chain food store one block away and a Walgreens one block in the other direction. The wifi provided free was very good. Flat screen tv was good. Everything was operational and the bathroom was clean.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south or north give a good view and are quieter. There is a major highway just to the E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Requested room with 2 beds. Received room with one bed. Front desk gave us a new room and it also had one bed. 3rd time was a charm i guess when they finally get it right after we had dragged our luggage up and down from the 16th floor, 10th floor... Rooms we very clean but small. Bathroom door doesn't lock and has a translucent panel that leaks a lot of light into the room and doesn't feel very private. Overall ok i guess. First time in chicago so can't compare it to others available here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemexico99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you are attending a conference across the street at the convention center, this hotel is a good choice. There is several nice places to hang out within a short walking distance. I wouldn't stay at this hotel for a personal "fun trip" because there's not enough to do for fun in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boating2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Took my Wife to Chicago for her 50th Birthday. Hotel was to far to walk to Mich ave or Mira mile. It was about 8 to 12 dollars for Taxi ride to Naval Pier or Millium Park. Room was pretty small for the price. Short Bell guy was very nice, brought fridge and micro to are room. Breakfast buffet was very good and so was service. When checking out older bellman was very grumpy and rude.Tried to get money or kick-back from Taxi driver. I would stay at hotel closer to downtown if we go back, so we were in walking distance to main attractions.

Room Tip: Stay closer to Downtown near main attractions so you were in walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank popanechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#109 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
West Loop
Corporate Suites Network at Presidential Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Address: 733 W Madison St, Chicago, IL 60661-2401 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza West Loop. Crowne Plaza West Loop, the closest hotel to the United Center, is a winning choice for your lodging needs. Nestled in the shadow of the Willis Tower, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is centrally located to many of Chicago's finest attractions. Just blocks from the Loop, and Michigan Ave./Magnificent Mile shopping, Adler Planetarium, Art Institute of Chicago and Navy Pier are located a short distance away. From its brilliantly designed architecture, sleek modern interiors, masterfully appointed guest rooms and numerous amenities, the Crowne Plaza West Loop is the perfect choice for the discerning traveler. Experience our highly acclaimed restaurant Dine, with eclectic cuisine to fit every palate served in a charming retro diner atmosphere with an upbeat contemporary style. Our event space and outstanding service make Crowne Plaza West Loop The Place to Meet. Our Crowne Meetings Director coordinates every detail of your event, making us the favorite for wedding, conference, banquet and meeting planners. The Crowne Plaza West Loop is everything you expect, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago - The Metro Hotel Chicago
Chicago Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Chicago Metro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing