We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comedy must see”
Review of Second City

Second City
Ranked #4 of 563 Nightlife in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Second City is the world's premiere comedy theatre offering the best in Chicago-style sketch and improv comedy every night of the week and has launched the careers of Tina Fey, Bill Murray, Stephen Colbert, Steve Carell and many, many others.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comedy must see”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We book this late and got the 11pm show - but it was worth it (they put on an extra show at the end for the late show). It was cabaret like seating first come first serve - we got lucky and sat right in front. Of course I got to be part of the show. This definitely made it a show to remember.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMWjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    277
    90
    35
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Took more resevations that they could handle”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Attended Second City with a large group and had advance reservations. We were crammed in to tight, it was ridiculous. Comedy show was ok at best. No one in our group found it that entertaining. At end of show, performer made a big deal about tipping the wait staff but failed to mention that 18% gratuity was already added to the bill (our bill anyway). The waiter (conveniently?) had written over that part of the bill with a sharpie so it was not easy to read in the dim light. Fortunately for us, we looked closely at our bill and noticed this before paying. Waiter was fine until there was a dispute over the bill because he added our charges with people we did not even know. We insisted he divide it differently and that's when the attitude emerged. It was an experience but I would not go back and would not recommend. So many other better choices in the city of Chicago

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the best night ever, real funny actors and great seats. Great atmosphere. Would highly recommend! Worth the $28!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hilarious...”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was the funniest show I've ever seen. Great venue, good cast really creative humor, all in all a great night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jtimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Venue for teh Laffs”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Does this really need a review. SC is the capital of Improv comedy in the World. So there's that. Now what? Learn anything?

Just go. Stand in the lines, have some New Belgium beer, and laugh progressively louder, until they ask you to leave.

There is a great Christmas charity event that includes house hold names in music (Wilco) and humor, which lasts 24 hours, and folks line up for days to see. So I'd say, Alta Vista it and plan ahead if you don't want to get left behind.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnyMajorDudewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second City also viewed

 

Been to Second City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing