We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reviews, great location”
Review of Yolk

Yolk
Ranked #29 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Yolk is a breakfast & lunch restaurant. We use top quality ingredients & fresh produce to serve the best breakfast in Chicago! (BYOB)
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great reviews, great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went based on reviews and location and it was as good as everyone says. We went for breakfast. The portions were huge, we wished we would have split a plate..we were vacationing, but definately would return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank danya j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    374
    86
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast---and close to Segway tour”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We discovered this place 'by accident'. We were in a taxi to a City Segway tour (a MUST!) and the taxi driver recommended it. The food was AWESOME. 2 adults and a 18-year-old boy had a 'skillet egg' mixture (with multiple meats), a huge waffle and a "Farmboy" breakfast (something like that). Also the service was FAST and Friendly. It made for an awesome start to our 3-hour Segway tour (see my other review on City Segway Tours). Also we all got t-shirts---really nice black ones with a cool 'eggyolk' design---a deal at $10 each---and something you won't see everyone else wearing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ndchildhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant breakfasts I've had”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Usually, I feel ripped off when it comes to breakfast. It always seems so expensive when it's just *breakfast*. But not at Yolk. The portions are very generous. The food is delicious. We had leftover french toast and I took it with us in a to go box for later and my 2 picky boys ate it cold with no syrup and declared it fantastic. I really loved it and would have visited for breakfast again if we'd had another day in Chicago. The service was friendly and there's a nice view of Grant Park if you sit in front by the windows. My entire family really enjoyed our meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All these reviewers can't be wrong. And they aren't!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place was voted best breakfast in Chicago and there is no dispute. The pancakes are tremendous and I've never had crepes like these. My only regret is they ran out of the carrot cake pancakes both days I was there. The fritatta is huge which can easily be shared by two. You cant miss here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Good Service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My daughter and I ate here twice during our stay in Chicago. The food was excellent and the service was very good. I had the french toast with strawberries which was delicious and my daughter had the pancakes which she said was the best she ever had. My only complaint was the coffee: it was to strong and bitter. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esamlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing