We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IHSP Chicago Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$217
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$444
$378
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$375
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveler rating
122
80
28
16
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
80
28
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue linegreat locationfree breakfastbars and restaurantsrooftop terracedamendowntownnightlifestarbucks
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 265 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We only spent a night there but really appreciated the size of our room and the pancakes were just delicious. All the staff we talked were super nice and very helpful. The hostel is easy to find and only 15 minutes from the loop, with the blue line and there is a lot to do around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at IHSP Hostel in Chicago. It was like staying at a hotel, but for way cheaper. The staff was super friendly and the place was really clean. Even when it is super cold outside, the place is well insulated so our room was nice and comfortable. However, on our last night the heater did stop working, but the staff brought us a space heater to accommodate for the lack of heat. They went out of the way to please to make our stay enjoyable by any means. The location is awesome because you are only a short walk away from the trains and tons of restaurants, drugstores, and bars. If you have any questions about where to go in the city, the staff will help you out and even print you out directions if needed. I would come back and stay at this hostel if I ever come back to Chicago!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Michelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Place was clean and checking in was easy. Front Desk staff were very friendly too. When we got there, our sheets were not ready but it was rectified quickly. You'll have to fit your sheets yourself though, but hey, its a hostel! The "free" airport/greyhound/amtrak transfers (you'll have to take the subway and they'll refund you the ticket fare) were great for students like us on a budget.

Walls were a little thin but we managed a good night's rest. The neighborhood around the hostel also seemed like a good place to hang out. There was a supermarket just a stone's throw away which made it super convenient.

I would stay here again if I was traveling to chicago on a budget.

Room Tip: The information provided on their website is outdated. The youtube video link says that rates are tax included, they are not. Yet, even after including the 16.4% tax, this place is still quite affordable and value for money.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaoLCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here last summer when we were in the city for a concert and had a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. They were knowledgeable about the surrounding area and offered many suggestions in the way of food, entertainment, transportation, etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable considering the cost. The neighborhood is great and offers plenty to do and see. If you don't plan to leave the hostel, they also have plenty of things to keep you busy.. pool table, tv, video games, wifi, a roof deck with skyline view. We'll definitely be coming back when we need a place to stay in the city!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hostel is in a great location and has good facililties, however when we arrived we were told that we were staying in another building that was 5 minutes down the road. Which meant every time we wanted breakfast or to use any of the hostels facilities we had to make the trek which in minus 5 degrees Celsius is not fun. We stayed in a private room and it was horrible, There were no blinds which meant as soon as the sun came up we were awake. I know its a little thing but there was no coat hanger to put your coats, wifi only sometimes reached the room. On a positive the atmosphere in the main building is good

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews