We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IHSP Chicago Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wake and cake. Coffee it up on the rooftop overlooking Wicker Park Neighborhood. Feast had amazing brunch next door. Caribou and fancy Walgreens close. Friendly staff. Pool table and get the apartment on third floor it was amazing. Hosteling in the US just became real

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott m, Owner at IHSP Chicago Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thanks for sharing your positive thoughts for other future guest to read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 264 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

As a parent I was skeptical about staying here. What an experience! The staff is very professional and helpful. My husband got very sick while we were visiting and they were able to direct us to a good urgent care. The rooms are clean and if you are patient you usually do not have to wait long for a bathroom.
I will definitely be staying here the next time I visit Chicago.

Room Tip: If you have more than 4 people get the family room, especially if you have a vehicle - includes park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busybows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the IHSP in Chicago while she attended classes. Having never stayed at a hostel before I didn't know what to expect and was kinda dreading it. It was so much more than I expected. I would choose the IHSP over a hotel any day. It is convenient to many restaurants, both pricy and cheap. There is an out of this world 3 story Walgreens next door that has anything a traveler could want, and it is located next to the blue line. The staff are awesome. Joe is just out of this world and quickly became part of our adopted family. I also can't say enough about Wyatt he was always helpful. The rest of the crew, Josh, Christine, and Olivia are amazing too. The common area is great and has a big tv, netflix, wii, 3 computers free for your use, plus if you need anything printed off, that's free also There is also a pool table and Foosball,and if you can play the guitar, there is one there also. Nice kitchen area that you are free to use, and free pancakes for breakfast. We stayed in a private room, that was located in another nice building just a few minutes walk from the main hostel. It was just as nice as the first. Both buildings are very clean and every effort is made to make sure everyone is satisfied, which is sometimes hard to do, but trust me the whole staff puts forth their best effort on this. If you are looking for a place in the best part of Chicago without the expense of a hotel. I highly recommend the IHSP. I guarantee you wont be disappointed and will make lasting friendships while there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tniesche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overall good hostel, with all the things I look for: wifi, computers, lockers (though not in all rooms), kitchen, free breakfast (pancakes), friendly staff. Very clean and modern feeling. They've even got netflix on the TV in the common area. A friend showed this hostel to me and I'm glad I decided to stay here.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a locker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _JJ0_35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

the staff are more than friendly, they are helpful. the place is spotlessly clean, rooms, kitchen and bathrooms. the area is the best in chicago, safe, hip and fun. the computers are free, as are the coffee and tea and the pankake breakfast. they have a spacious common area. the guests seem to be real, old-fashioned travellers, with backpacks, sightseers. they dont spend all day sitting around the hostel staring into their electronic devices. one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in and i have been on the road for 42 years. thanks so much kristina, olivia, joe and wyatt for the human touch you provide so naturally. keep in touch. hope to run into you in ireland or somewhere down the road. ciao, bill omalley

Room Tip: thedorm rooms are a bit small but they are spotlessly clean and the warm, wonderful staff would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had my best time ever. Close to museums and nightlife. Free breakfast, cosy common room, friendly people from all over the world, alcohol allowed, wonderful bathroom, amazing staff. A recommander a tout Francais venant a chicago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hostel is great. The location is excellent (right in the middle of wicker park), the staff is great too, very cool and helpful. There is a great common room to meet people, with a kitchen, TV with netflix, a pool table. You can drink at the hostel too. Also the free pancakes during the morning are awesome. There are also computers with internet to use for free.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndresOssaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
Near North Side
Freehand Chicago
Freehand Chicago
#6 of 60 in Chicago
472 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Jones
Holiday Jones
#3 of 60 in Chicago
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 60 in Chicago
1,022 reviews
Lincoln Park
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Wrigleyville
Wrigley Hostel
Wrigley Hostel
#11 of 60 in Chicago
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IHSP Chicago Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IHSP Chicago Hostel

Address: 1616 N.Damen, 2. Floor, Chicago, IL 60647
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: $19 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — IHSP Chicago Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wicker Park is one of the best neighborhoods in Chicago for nightlife, restaurants, bars and shopping. Downtown is great for sightseeing but Wicker Park is where you will want to spend all your time. Take a look at our video and see how good our location is. You can literally see the trains on the Blue Line pass by a block away. Wicker Park is the hippest place in Chicago and is only 2 stops from the City Center and 5 stops from the Willis (Sears) Tower and Union Station. Our location and hostel is awesome and we know it! Come stay with us and you will see! Less than a 2 minute walk from the Damen Stop on the Blue line. We are not one of those hostels that charges you for everything, you will feel at home here. WE DO NOT ACCEPT LOCAL GUEST. YOU MUST HAVE PASSPORT OR OUT OF TOWN ID *Please note that our parking is very limited and must be reserved in advance. Our parking is $10/night +tax for each car. United States Citizens: You must have a student ID and a travel itinerary to stay in the dorm rooms. Maximum Stay in Dorm Beds: 7 days per month Maximum Stay in Private Rooms: 14 days per month If you would like to stay in our dorms: you must have and show at check in: a current student ID with travel itinerary and/or a current foreign passport. Check in is at 2 PM (1400 hours) on your booked arrival date. *16.4 % Tax is not included in the room rate and due upon arrival You must be 18 years old or older to stay in this hostel. Bring cash for a 2% discount! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your IHSP Chicago Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing