We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really clean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Getaway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really clean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I've been travelling around America and staying in various hostels in lots of cities and this hostel has so far been the best one.

Ok we did have SUPER loud guests staying next to us but I had earplugs so it was fine.

The bathrooms are the best I've seen... Modern adequate and CLEAN!!! Wonderful.

You get brekkie which was fine, nice bagels and fruit an cereal. Couldn't complain.

The staff are helpful and overall we had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesswashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Jesswashere!

Thanks for taking the time to review Getaway Hostel all the way from Cardiff. Your feedback means a lot to us. We're glad to have been your best hostel experience so far - and look forward to seeing you around our hostel again in the future!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    540
    118
    51
    41
See reviews for
153
249
580
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very nice and clean hostel. Not in downtown but in a very nice neighborhood. No problem to get there with public transport even with a heavy suitcase. Enjoyed walking through the parks and to downtown.
Rooms are nice, enough hot water, very fast WLan.
And well, it's always loud in hotels or hostels, so bring your earplugs and you won't have any problems sleeping! That's what I always do and never have to complain about noise anymore.
Nice staff at the reception, helped me with my luggage and all my questions.
I can only recommend this place - reasonable price for being in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Nicole M:

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property! We're glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting from Lichtenstein! We look forward to seeing you on future visits across the pond!

Best Regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My teen son and I had a great 11-day stay at the Chicago Getaway Hostel. It was very clean, all the staff was very nice, the other guests were a great mix of international and young and old. The location was very convenient. The overall value is excellent. I will stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room and used the shared bathrooms. We moved to a larger room when we added a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minger2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Minger2228:

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel upon your departure! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay while on the road for 11 nights! Hope to see you again on any future visits to the Windy City!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

WOW. I'm beyond impressed with this place! This hostel is by far the cleanest I've been to at this point. Highly recommended for travelers visiting Chicago for the following reasons:

- It's clean! (Everything is clean! The kitchen, shower stalls [no scum and I never felt gross stepping into the stall with my bare feet], toilets [although I've noticed some specks in the bowls, but it's not a huge deal], dorm rooms [linens, floors, etc.] - It's crystal clear that the cleaning staff is diligent)
- Free bath towels, and you get a new one every day! (Just like at a hotel!)
- Free WiFi accessible throughout the building
- Free continental breakfast from 7 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. (And it's quite a generous breakfast. You have bagels, oranges, bananas, toast, croissants, three types of cereal, jam, cream cheese, tea, coffee, etc. to choose from.)
- Free nightly events (weekdays & weekends)
- Free computers to use at the lobby
- Free printing station
- Great location (it's nestled in a residential area in Lincoln Park, so you can explore this nice little area as well, which is really a nice neighborhood. And it's only a 10 minute walk to the train station, which will take you right to/very close to downtown & popular attractions like The Bean, Grant Park, the Willis Tower, etc.)
- Professional, friendly and helpful staff, who are always more than willing to assist if you need anything
- Affordable bike rentals (I almost rented one from here, but because the type of bike I wanted wasn't available, the staff helped me find other rental places. That was very nice. They could have easily said they didn't know of any other places [since I wasn't going to rent from the hostel], but they went the extra mile without any resentment, so I'm very happy with that.)

When deciding on where to stay during my visit, I debated between the Getaway and HI, and I am 100% happy with having chosen this place. At first, a big reservation was the location, since it's not as close to downtown. But having been able to explore Lincoln Park was a nice plus that I would not have visited if I had stayed at the HI.

For those who may be looking for more affordable accommodations in the Chicago area and prefer hotel service, I'd say this is a good deal. (Not exactly a hotel, but it's close to it.)

Some cons:
- Squeaky bunk beds (at least the ones in the room I stayed in were)
- Door closes noisily (so bring some earplugs if you're a light sleeper)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Agnes C:

Thanks for the stunning review of Chicago Getaway Hostel! We take a lot of pride in providing a first class hostel in the heart of Chicago's Lincoln Park neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you around our friendly confines again in the future!

Best Regards,

Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

poor staff attitude, lousy breakfast selection, no control over guest noise, poor planning for group activities. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN! The bald headed front end manager is a total tool bag, very patronizing and unhelpful

Room Tip: Days Inn down the road!~
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yepper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat_Meadows, Front Office Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hi Yepper6:

Thanks for your feedback during your stay at Chicago Getaway Hostel. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay - as we strive to meet and exceed every guests expectations. I would be interested in finding more about your experience - so please do feel free to contact me. I'm disheartened to read this on TripAdvisor, and have not had the opportunity to fix your issues.

I hope I can turn your opinion of Chicago Getaway Hostel around, as it is my goal to ensure every guest leaves happy.

Best Regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I grew up in Chicago and, last wee, went back for a family visit. Many things have changed, including the hotel rates!

On a lark, I signed up for the Chciago Getaway Hostel and I was glad that I did.

Great location, convenient to various public transportation, nice property, attentive staff.

Several options in terms of housing - from private rooms to dorm arrangements. Reminded me a little of my freshmen year in college.

An unexpected dividend from hostelling is the ability to really meet and get to know people from different parts of the world. At last count, my 3-day stay netted a pleasant exchange with folks from France, Nigeria, Detroit, Cleveland, N.E. Ohio, China, England & San Diego.

This is a clean facility and the fact that the rates are very affordable is no indication of the pleasant furnishings, attentive staff, and cleanliness. Breakfast included was a nice touch as well.

I was glad I stayed here and would stay here again.

Room Tip: several room options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyfishinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Good evening flyfishinguy:

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! We're glad that you didn't have to be hostile about our hostel and are glad that you made a reservation with us. Thanks for sharing your experience with our hostel, and hostelling in general with the TripAdvisor community.

Safe travels - and good luck fishing!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a really nice hostel, located in a very beautiful residential area of Chicago, but close to Clark St., where you can also find restaurants, pubs, and stores. The hostel itself is clean, with great common rooms and infrastructure, and their employees are all friendly and willing to help.

The rooms are good, though it may be a bit noisy during the nights, as almost everything is allowed in the common room on the first floor. There's a train station at walking distance (about 12 mins.), which is also a big pro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebHoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat_Meadows, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
SebHoch-

Thanks for reviewing us all the way from Santiago, Chile! I'm glad that you enjoyed our wonderful neighborhood of Lincoln Park. Our location allows us to give our guests an experience that you cannot have anywhere else!

Hope you'll choose to stay with us on your next big trip from Chile!

Best regards,
Mat Meadows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#47 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 57 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Getaway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Getaway Hostel

Property: Chicago Getaway Hostel
Address: 616 W Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614-2682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chicago Getaway Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Style in Chicago's Chic Lincoln Park Located in Chicago's affluent Lincoln Park, the Chicago Getaway Hostel is rewriting the house rules on hostel style. Policies once etched in stone are being cast aside in favor of fresher, friendlier approach. Membership fees are out and hotel-like amenities are in at this stately 1928 Georgian Revival landmark that, ironically, returns to its early 20th century roots as a boardinghouse for women. Today, all guests are welcome to enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free linens, free housekeeping, a 24/7 chef-caliber kitchen and a BYOB policy. Add nightly events like pub crawls, brewery tours and barbecues and it's easy to see why Chicago Getaway is fast becoming the city's favorite spot for affordable short-term and extended-stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Chicago Getaway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Getaway Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing