We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel in best part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great hostel in best part of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed her for several nights in March.
The staff were more than helpful, whether searching for sights or a bite to eat.
The location was probably the best a for hostel in Chicago, in one of the safest suburbs there is.
I stayed in a private room with a heater, window, and bedding. The only downside was being over priced. A single bed in the most basic room was the same price as a 2-3 star hotel near downtown. Fortunately, as was recommended, the atmosphere of the hostel and the great people made me forget that only issue.

Room Tip: One the best Hostel in Northern USA
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Hazy2000,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Getaway Hostel. We strive to become the #1 hostel in the US and appreciate your feedback. We're glad that our friendly atmosphere did not disappoint. Our staff members are always happy to recommend some great hole in the wall restaurants to improve the local Chicago experience. I am sorry that you felt our rates were overpriced. We price ourselves to be competitive with the other hostels in the city without sacrificing our service and amenities. We look forward to you staying with us again during your next journey to Chicago!

Cheers,

Jason Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    543
    119
    52
    42
See reviews for
155
252
581
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to stay! I stayed there with 4 other friends-all of us girls. I felt very safe.

The hostel is in a really cute neighborhood-lots of quaint little houses.

Close to lots of restaurants and other shops. Just a couple blocks from the Red Line for the "L" (the train/transit).

Great basic breakfast provided. Opportunities to meet other travelers in the common areas.

I highly recommend this hostel and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Leda T,

Thank you for reviewing the Getaway Hostel after your recent stay with us! We are extremely pleased to receive your positive comments and to hear of the great stay you had with your friends. The hostel is located in the historic landmark district of Lincoln Park which gives visitors a chance to step back in time while centered around great night life. We can't wait to have you stay with us again in the future!

Take care,

Jason Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the first time I decided to stay at a Hostel. Getaway Hostel didn't disappoint. Friendly, professional and efficient staff; great location (only a few minute's walk away from Fullerton station and several bus stops); clean and secure rooms; lockers available; and excellent information regarding local attractions. To top it off, it's very affordable! Great place, and will definitely stay again when I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear J A,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had at the Getaway Hostel! We are thrilled to have hosted your first hostel stay and we did not disappoint you. We take pride in providing every guest a clean, fun and affordable place to stay. It's great that you took advantage of our location and hopped on the local EL at Fullerton to connect you with the rest of the city. We hope to welcome you again for years to come!

Cheers,

Jason Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

If you wanna have fun in Chicago, you should stay at this hostel!!! It's super nice, the rooms are pretty nice and the service is awesome! The location is really cool, is not the downtown but you can get there easily from the hostel! The price is really low for all the fun you can get there!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelicaMoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi AngelicaMoya,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Getaway!

We are thrilled that you loved our hostel! We look forward to welcoming guests from all over and providing them with a unique Chicago experience. We believe that all guest should not only experience downtown, but also take advantage of all the great neighborhoods including Lincoln Park. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next trip to the Windy City.

Cheers,

Jason Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was my second stay at the Chicago Getaway Hostel and I'll stay there again on my next visit to the windy city. This is more like a European pension than a traditional hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I get the private room with shared bathroom. The room and linens are well kept and the toilets/ showers are clean. There is a nice common sitting area where you can read or surf the internet. My favorite part is the back terrace where you can have a drink or lie in the sun on warmer days. The guests are of all age ranges and nationalities. The location in the heart of Lincoln Park puts you close to great restaurants on the beach on Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rychlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello rychlost,

Thank you for sharing your Getaway experience. We are flattered that you stayed with us again, that is the best gesture a guest can ever display. We're glad you were able to catch some sun and enjoy some beverages on our great patio. We look forward to welcoming you again and for years to come.

Cheers,

Jason Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hostel is located in a great area, close to the rail station and many bus stops. We stayed here for seven nights, and the staff is very friendly. The activities they organize, like the pub crawl, are very fun and are a great way to get to know the other people staying there.

I will say though that the bedding wasn't very clean, and had a lot of hair on it... that didn't belong to us. Also the showers have mold in them, which could be easily fixed with a little bleach!

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther away from the bathroom... unless you like being woken up as early as 5AM on s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharshleysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hello Charshleys Travels,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the Lincoln Park neighborhood and you were able to join us on our pub crawl with our great staff members. We love having our guests mingle with fellow travelers and participate on our social events.

I am sorry that our cleanliness did not meet expectations. We pride ourselves in providing a clean, comfortable and social atmosphere while striving to be the #1 hostel. We will correct this matter and assure that you next experience with us will surpass your last. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Jason Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in a private room with 1/2 bath at this hostel and had a good experience despite it turning out to be bunk beds instead of the double bed we were expecting. You can't beat the price compared to hotels in the area, and the atmosphere was quite lively. The hostel organizes lots of activities and the front desk is staffed 24/7. The facilities are reasonably clean, and it's a short walk to the L. Breakfast was pretty basic (bread, jam, cereal, 1 fruit choice), and you had to pay for coffee when we were there because the "regular" coffee machine was broken. We didn't bother with breakfast after the first morning. The nieghborhood had character and there were lots of restaurants and pubs nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Chicago Getaway Hostel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello Heather0013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Getaway experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully you were able to mingle with fellow travelers during our social events. I am sorry that our coffee machine was not operating at breakfast during your stay with us. We were able contact our vendor and replace it immediately with a more modern machine for guests to enjoy our complimentary coffee. I hope to see you again and improve your experience.

Take care,

Jason Schultz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Days Inn Chicago
#87 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#50 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#3 of 57 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Getaway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Getaway Hostel

Property: Chicago Getaway Hostel
Address: 616 W Arlington Pl, Chicago, IL 60614-2682
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chicago Getaway Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Style in Chicago's Chic Lincoln Park Located in Chicago's affluent Lincoln Park, the Chicago Getaway Hostel is rewriting the house rules on hostel style. Policies once etched in stone are being cast aside in favor of fresher, friendlier approach. Membership fees are out and hotel-like amenities are in at this stately 1928 Georgian Revival landmark that, ironically, returns to its early 20th century roots as a boardinghouse for women. Today, all guests are welcome to enjoy free breakfast, free WiFi, free linens, free housekeeping, a 24/7 chef-caliber kitchen and a BYOB policy. Add nightly events like pub crawls, brewery tours and barbecues and it's easy to see why Chicago Getaway is fast becoming the city's favorite spot for affordable short-term and extended-stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chicago Getaway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Getaway Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing