We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proud that its in Chicago”

Steppenwolf Theatre Company
Ranked #27 of 179 Concerts & Shows in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Steppenwolf Theatre Company is where great acting meets big ideas. Our passion is to tell stories about how we live now. Our mission is to engage audiences in an exchange of ideas that makes us think harder, laugh longer, feel more. Steppenwolf is committed to year-round programing that engages our multi-generational audience with thought-provoking productions and helps develop new plays, new audiences and new artists for the future of American theater.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Proud that its in Chicago”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

the actors this place has produced are fantastic, if they have decided to put it on here it is good. its that simple. great places to eat right near by, clean and safe facility and great staff. we are lucky that we have a place like this in Chicago. It has its own lot and is easily accessed by the train or by cab

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    38
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small, but Nice”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Nice theatre on the North side of town! I saw a play here with a friend, not a bad seat in the house. The parking situation wasn't the best, but that's to be expected on the north side. I would highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lnrogers1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
422 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“My favorite theater in Chicago”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Its the place. Love the seating, the whole feel of the place. Not fancy (cinder block walls.
But the thing that makes it so great for us are the actors. Even when we are not crazy about the play we always agree that the acting is always fantastic!
The set designs are always great also.
We go on Sunday nights. Parking 1/2 block away...but we often times find street parking.
Many real good restaurants within a block( some right across the street).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tribes”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The theater was comfortable. We called in advance and they provided good information for our New Year's Eve visit. Paring available for an extra charge ($10) in a parking deck just down the block. Also plenty of excellent restaurants on the same block.

The play was excellent . The seating comfortable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank f s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Steppenwolf”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I saw the Mikado at the Steppenwolf in November of last year. Gilbert and Sullivan are always funny, but I don't know if the re-imagination did it justice. The Steppenwolf theatre itself on the outside is rather plain-looking, but the plays are usually spectacular. I used the park whiz app on my iphone to find it and park, which saved me some money for food at the play. So much emotion and drama are present in every piece, so that even if you don't like the entire play, there are pieces that you will remember for years.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steppenwolf Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Steppenwolf Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing