We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #80 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Well located and comfortable hotel. Billed as 5 star, but for those who have stayed in true 5 star hotels it isn't. We had a room on the 4th floor at the back which looked straight into the aircon units of the adjacent building - luckily we didn't spend much time gazing out of the window. Rooms are a good size and the bathroom well equipped - fantastic shower, comfortable bed, etc. Some really nice touches in the room which made it special.

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't low down at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maltonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Hello Maltonian1,
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are glad you found your room to be comfortable, and that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that we offer our guests like our rainfall shower and plush sheets and bedding. Hopefully, next time you stay with us you will be able to stay in one of our street facing rooms to give you a more pleasant view of the city. Again, thank you for taking time to write a review for the Ivy Hotel. We appreciate your support, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 750 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I must start by saying we stayed at the hotel with our three month old baby. This is important because this hotel is definitely geared towards couples. Our baby slept in his travel bed so we had the king size bed to ourselves which was very nice. The hotel is very modern and very chic. I am guessing for those that think the rooms were strange, they must be used to "normal" hotel rooms which this is not - to us, that is what made it great! Its unique, its big, it has big windows and separate shower and tub. We were very happy with the room. The noise from the street was virtually non existent but it is true that there is some noise from the corridor outside the rooms door. However, keep in mind that there are only 5 rooms in the whole floor, so this is not really bad. Not an issue for us. The location is perfect! A couple of blocks from magnificent mile and 10 to 15 mins walk from most attractions. We walked everywhere and remember we had our three month old! Would definitely recommend if modern is your liking. Don't miss breakfast at Yolk a couple of blocks away! Real easy to get to and delicious!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dynasys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hello Dynasys,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review for the Ivy Hotel. I know finding downtime with a 3 month old is virtually impossible, so we greatly appreciate you using your free time to help advocate for our hotel. We love hearing from our guests, especially when they have such positive things to say about our property. We try to provide modern luxury, while still making our guests feel at home and it sounds like we were able to make that happen for you while staying with us. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon. Have a great weekend.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We've been there in January.

We got a room very big, but quite disappointing. The door didn't close well, and that way we could tell precisely when our neighbours were coming in and out. The room was also full of small details, making it some kind of not harmonious; the TV was on the side of the bed, so high you won't be able to see it for long without breaking your neck. The bathroom also was somewhat "strange".

In this neighbourhood, you can easily find something better at a smaller price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hello OneAdvisedTraveller,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for the Ivy Boutique Hotel in Chicago. I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We will certainly keep these tips in mind for the future and hope that one day you will stay with us again while in Chicago. Thank you again, and have a nice day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager - Ivy Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Ivy. The room was modern and clean and had a great bathroom (room was on the small side, and had no view). The downside was the lack of insulation in the walls. In the morning we could hear everything going on on our floor. However, the staff was friendly and recommended a fantastic restaurant, the Purple Pig. The location of the hotel was great! I enjoyed being close to Michigan Avenue and in walking distance of many attractions. Overall, it was a very good stay.

Room Tip: I don't know what would have been better, but we were on the 6th floor and it was NOISY. We coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriffinH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hello GriffinH9,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am sorry to hear that noise from the surrounding guest’s rooms disrupted your stay, but hopefully everything else was enjoyable while you were here. We appreciate your feedback, and again thank you for choosing the Ivy Hotel as your hotel accommodation while in Chicago. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manage – Ivy Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We went here for my birthday weekend. Chose the IVY because of groupon offer. Service was great - allowed us to store bags before check in. Suite rooms are large, no view though. Very modern, cozy, comfortable. The large soaker tub was fabulous, much needed after a day of sightseeing/shopping - wish I had bubble bath - the bath salts were a good touch though. The bathroom was ADA with a wand only set up. It wouldn't stay in place as a regular shower though. Very hard to enjoy the shower because of this. When I got out the whole bathroom floor, entry way and mini-bar area was flooded. We called the front desk and they said they've had problems with that bathroom and we were to place a towel outside the shower - which we weren't told about. Help came immediately. We asked to placed in a different room, which they did and that bathroom was not ADA and the rain shower was perfect. The TV in the mirror didn't work in this room or the mechanical blinds with out tugging them. But overall the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Gave us free glasses of wine for the trouble - which was recommended by the bartender and delicious. Despite the trouble, I'd go back. Location was great.

Room Tip: If you do not need a ADA room, make sure you don't get assigned to one. Or remember to put a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello Dana K,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am glad that we were able to assist with relocating you so that you could better enjoy your stay. Our rainfall showers are always a huge hit with guests, so I am glad you got to experience it during your stay. Again, thank you for your review, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Service is this hotels #1 priority, and it shows. Great stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a large room, great service, and location. This was my first time to Chicago and I will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steveo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Stevo:
Thanks you for the kind words we always are trying our hardest to improve the hotel. I also wanted to let you know that we have free calling to Canada from our phones in the hotel! Thanks again for the kind words. See you soon!

James Cazares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a very nice fresh sleek hotel. Room service for breakfast was great! The staff is friendly and attentive. I look forward to staying there again. Have a nice drink at the modern bar. The location is excellent .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Jacqui607:
Thank you for supporting our family business. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast there is nothing better than breakfast in bed. My favorites are the blueberry pancakes and our French Toast which our chef Sammy makes! We can’t wait to see you when our roof top opens for a relaxing evening on our 16th floor

James Cazares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 191 in Chicago
4,124 reviews
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#30 of 191 in Chicago
5,032 reviews
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 191 in Chicago
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $123 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing