We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #80 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We went here for my birthday weekend. Chose the IVY because of groupon offer. Service was great - allowed us to store bags before check in. Suite rooms are large, no view though. Very modern, cozy, comfortable. The large soaker tub was fabulous, much needed after a day of sightseeing/shopping - wish I had bubble bath - the bath salts were a good touch though. The bathroom was ADA with a wand only set up. It wouldn't stay in place as a regular shower though. Very hard to enjoy the shower because of this. When I got out the whole bathroom floor, entry way and mini-bar area was flooded. We called the front desk and they said they've had problems with that bathroom and we were to place a towel outside the shower - which we weren't told about. Help came immediately. We asked to placed in a different room, which they did and that bathroom was not ADA and the rain shower was perfect. The TV in the mirror didn't work in this room or the mechanical blinds with out tugging them. But overall the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Gave us free glasses of wine for the trouble - which was recommended by the bartender and delicious. Despite the trouble, I'd go back. Location was great.

Room Tip: If you do not need a ADA room, make sure you don't get assigned to one. Or remember to put a to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello Dana K,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am glad that we were able to assist with relocating you so that you could better enjoy your stay. Our rainfall showers are always a huge hit with guests, so I am glad you got to experience it during your stay. Again, thank you for your review, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 727 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Service is this hotels #1 priority, and it shows. Great stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a large room, great service, and location. This was my first time to Chicago and I will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steveo200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Stevo:
Thanks you for the kind words we always are trying our hardest to improve the hotel. I also wanted to let you know that we have free calling to Canada from our phones in the hotel! Thanks again for the kind words. See you soon!

James Cazares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a very nice fresh sleek hotel. Room service for breakfast was great! The staff is friendly and attentive. I look forward to staying there again. Have a nice drink at the modern bar. The location is excellent .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Jacqui607:
Thank you for supporting our family business. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast there is nothing better than breakfast in bed. My favorites are the blueberry pancakes and our French Toast which our chef Sammy makes! We can’t wait to see you when our roof top opens for a relaxing evening on our 16th floor

James Cazares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our room at the Ivy was a suite. It didn't have much of a view, but we weren't there for the view. It was only about a block from Michigan Avenue with its shopping, restaurants and bars. The room was spacious, with a sitting area distinct from the bedroom and it's very comfortable bed. The bathroom was wonderful with a 2 person soaking tub, separate shower. The staff were warm and friendly. Only downside - the valet was $48.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Anne L

I would like to start off and stay thank you for the kind review. Our suites are one of the largest in the Chicago land area. The deep soaking tubs are actually made out of cast iron which is able to retain the heat of the water in the tub! In regards to the valet we do have the most reasonable fees in comparison to other hotel almost 10.00 less. Thanks again

James Cazares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Loved our stay here. We got into town a few hours early and they offered us early check in. The staff was SO nice, everyone went out of their way to help us. Bring cash to tip valet and the doorman. If you want ice they bring it to you, if you need something out of your car, they get it and deliver to your room. They also provide a nighttime snack with a preview of the weather for the next day. Great location-one block from Michigan Ave.


We ate at Timmy O'tooles where we got 20% off for staying at the hotel. We had breakfast at West egg and dinner at Joe's Stone Crab-Amazing ($$$).

Lastly there are only 5 rooms on each floor. It was so quiet. We only heard noise when people would get on or off the elevator (which wasn't often).

Great hotel and staff!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganwolfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Mefanwolfe1

Thank you for sharing the experiences with us. Our hotel is located to almost 100 restaurants within walking distance. We work with multiple restaurants and them and some offer a special discount to guest of the hotel. I am glad that our team tried to assist you and next time please try our king suite it is truly what our hotel is known for.

James Cazares
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is the second time Ive stayed in the Ivy Hotel. Very convenient to Michigan Avenue. Just 2 blocks from Grand Lux Cafe one of my favorite spots to eat in Chicago. Service has been outstanding both visits, with bellman on top of needed cabs, etc. Queen doubles are spacious and divided into a living area with 2 coaches and bed area. The rain shower shower head is absolutely fabulous, one of the reasons i went back. Not inexpensive, but worth it. Only complaint is the views on back side are awful. Get a room on street side.

Room Tip: Get a street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello MNThor,
Thank you for writing a review on behalf of the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be so accommodating. We appreciate your business and also your positive review. I hope you have a great day, and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My mom and I stayed here for several days last summer, and let me just say it was fantastic! The service was excellent and so was our room. All of the staff were very helpful and courteous. And the bathroom--oh the bathroom! It was glorious. There was a television in the mirror. I just can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Seraphina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write such a positive review about the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to being your choice for hotel accommodation in Chicago in the future! Have a great day, and hopefully we will see you soon.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $157 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing