We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite minor glitches..Good place to stay in Chicago”
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #89 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Despite minor glitches..Good place to stay in Chicago”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just left the Ivy yesterday after a few days in Chicago and we were very happy with everything there...We managed to get a King Suite and the room was so spacious like a small apartment...with 3 tvs...living area...nice big bathroom with sink and shower and bar area with coffee machine. Only minor disappointments were the fact that the wifi did not work in the room...Tried several times to get it in the room and half the time it wouldn't take the password and other times it just didn't show up. Only when we were l eaving and standing at the front door was i able to log on my phone. The other negative for me was the fact that there was no gym on premises. They do have access to another gym but that gym is about a mile away on the other side of the river so it's more or less inconvenient for most people to use. If you aren't reliant on the use of a gym nor wifi then this would be the spot to stay. Little over a block to Michigan Ave and a couple to the lake so the location can't be beat. And there are more than enough eating choices in the vicinity to chose from.

Room Tip: Best room by far are the King Suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooresy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello mooresy2,
Thank you for taking time to write a review about the Ivy Boutique Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, but do apologize for the lack of wireless internet connection in your guest room. I hope that when you travel back to the Chicago area you consider the Ivy Boutique Hotel again for your hotel accommodations. Again, I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our behalf, and I hope you have a great day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    167
    65
    20
    19
See reviews for
64
345
35
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Where do I start? While planning trips, I love to utilize Trip Advisor for choosing a property to stay at. This be a testimony to Trip Advisor…. First, Ivy has great reviews for a reason!!! Secondly, I encourage everyone to stay at boutique hotels versus big branded hotels.
I took lots of pictures, but they're identical to everyone else's for these reviews.
I arrived in February for a long, fun weekend with my boyfriend and a few other couples. We chose a king suite. They did NOT overlook the details when designing this property!
First, it is amazing that there are only a handful of rooms on each floor. I loved the light outside of your door where you can indicate Do Not Disturb, housekeeping needed, etc. The bathroom is excellent! Love the double sinks, the TV in the mirror, the deep soaking tub, and the wonderful rainfall shower.
The mini bar area has great items for purchase (alcohol, lotions, snacks, sodas). The refrigerator has chilled items available for purchase, but also has room for you to put your own snacks and beverages in there--a plus! I love that while we were out exploring the city, hotel services came into our room and filled out ice bucket with fresh ice! What an amazing touch!
The king size bed was comfortable. Our linens were crisp and clean! It's always nice having lighting controls bedside. TV #2 was located in the bedroom area. Each evening, the hotel staff left petit fours and a notecard indicating the weather for the next day. Such a small detail, but huge impact!! :)
Finally, the living room area was so nice to have! There was a nice desk, a sectional couch, commissioned artwork on the walls, and local (high-end) magazines. The floor to ceiling windows THAT OPENED on Ontario street were wonderful. Did I mention the electronic window covering controls? We had our friends over one evening for beverages before our dinner reservations. They were so impressed with this property and this living area space was a great area for entertaining. Oh, yeah! TV #3 was in the living room!
Finally, we stopped by the lobby bar for a few beverages one evening as well. Our drinks were excellent and our bartenders were knowledgeable of the city and also were enjoyable to visit with. The doorman was great for helping us hail down cabs, and the front desk service was superb! I can't even think of a suggestion for improvement for this property! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!

Room Tip: Don't even hesitate--go for the King Suite right away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Laura M,
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review about the Ivy Boutique Hotel. It is great to hear that guests notice and appreciate the small touches that we have added to our property to help enhance the overall quality of our guests stay. We value each and every guest that stays with us, and we want to make sure they know that! I want to thank you again for writing such kind words about the Ivy Boutique Hotel, and we will hopefully see you in the future. Have a great day!

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Ivy hotel is a little gem tucked away in a fantastic location, just enough off the Magnificent Mile to miss the noise, but an easy 2 block stroll away. The hotel is a smaller boutique hotel, with a European feel. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were huge. Like most urban hotels, the views were not the greatest. But, you can't beat this hotel for value, location and terrific rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor so you can escape any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello U N,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Ivy Boutique Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing the friendliest and highest quality customer service. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Enjoy your day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here in a king suite over Valentine's Day with my husband. We stay at hotels often for work and were extremely disappointed. While the room was extremely clean, the staff was not friendly. We pre-ordered room service for breakfast and twenty minutes after its scheduled arrival time, we had to call to see if we were ever going to get our food. The staff on the other end was unapologetic and when our food finally showed up, it was cold and minutes before check out time. So much for breakfast in bed. The amenities in the bathroom were excellent, but maintenance was poor. Sinks drained extremely slow, the faucet on the bathtub was very loose and the windows to our room were so dirty that it wasn't even worth opening our curtains for. Also, if you want ice, it arrives in a not so clean looking bucket and the person delivering it just throws it in your bar sink. Not great if you plan on putting it in your drink. Great location, and extremely clean though.

Room Tip: King Suite has killer bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Chicagolver,
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay over Valentine’s Day at the Ivy Boutique Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We will use the information that you have provided to help better our customer service standards and provide quality accommodations in the future. I apologize again, and thank you for your review. Have a nice day.

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager - Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago for a short trip to Chicago. It was truly a worthwhile experience. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant it has a very nice bar as soon as you enter which serves a few snacks. The staff and the valet people are very kind and courteous. The plus point is that the hotel is located only a block and a half from Michigan ave, so you fin yourself midst all the hustle bustle. There are several restaurants and shopping areas around as the hotel is located in the heart of the city. Recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a pleasant stay without burning a hole in their pocket. Be sure to ask about their exciting promotions, you never know they might upgrade your reservation to a suite :)

Room Tip: Be careful of corner rooms next to their inventory rooms. They can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHARS09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello SHARS09,
Thank you for choosing the Ivy Boutique Hotel as your Chicago hotel accommodation. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and our beautiful city. There are a lot of exciting things happening this spring and summer in Chicago, like the opening of our rooftop Sky Terrace at the beginning of May. We hope to see you again soon for your next stay. Enjoy your day!

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I cant understand the fascination with staying at big name hotels??
This boutique hotel in the amazing city of Chicago was one of the best hotel finds ever. We loved everything about this hotel and will recommend it to everyone we know who wants to visit Chicago. Love, love, loved it - so stylish, well appointed and in close vicinity to everything we needed. Keep up the great work guys!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocelli_Caffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello Bocelli_Caffe,
Thank you for your kind words and also for choosing to stay with us at the Ivy Boutique Hotel. We do our best to provide the highest quality customer service, and appreciate you supporting our hotel and our mission. We hope to see you again in the near future. Have a great day!

Sincerely,
James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I am torn here. Everything looked like this could be one of my highest recommendations. The rooms here are outstanding: large, great bathroom with rain shower, modern, clean...excellent. Everyone was friendly and so I thought I would be writing a glowing 5 star review. But then the television system went out saturday afternoon and still was out when we checked out a day later. They kept telling us that they were unable to get this fixed. It is tough being in a room without any television whatsoever. So I went from being ready to state that this hotel ranks up there with the Ritz Carlton there in Chicago to a more toned down review. This place has potential but they can't tell me in a city the size of Chicago that they could not get someone out to fix this problem. The question here is what should I rate this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello jdteeth,
First I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Ivy Boutique Hotel. Secondly, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the television system failure. I understand that it is nice to relax after a long day and watch television, and I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy that luxury. I assure you that we do our very best to provide the highest quality customer service for our guests, and I hope that you stay with us again in the future so that we can demonstrate that for you. We hope to see you in the future.

Thank you.

James Cazares
General Manager – Ivy Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Property: Ivy Boutique Hotel
Address: 233 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing