We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be Happier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #87 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Couldn't be Happier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed in a King Suite, and it was everything we had hoped for. Spacious, clean, quiet, awesome bathroom features and super comfortable bed. The staff was friendly and attentive. Yes, parking is expensive, but that's Chicago. You could save literally just a few bucks going elsewhere but it isn't worth it to save $5. Just valet with Ivy and you'll get great and fast service whenever you need your car back. Little touches like turn down service with mini-desserts and a spritz of lavender on the pillow make your stay even nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeannaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the IVY Boutique Hotel. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for noticing the little touches like the lavender scent and turndown treats that we provided for our guests. We hope to see you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    162
    62
    20
    18
See reviews for
59
333
33
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

unfortunately i lost all of my good photos, but this room was AMAZING! deep, long tub, rainfall shower, tv in the mirror, bar area, california king bed, tv in the living room and tv in the lounge area, BEAUTIFUL furniture...like I have absolutely nothing bad to say. If I HAD to choose a downfall, it would be the lack of view...and well, there could be a door between the lounge area and the bedroom but honestly, it doesn't even matter when you see the place. Highly recommended to anybody! read more on secondcitystays.wordpress.com !

Room Tip: The suites are absolutely worth the money. Also try groupon or hotel tonight for best prices. lwalke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwalker2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about our property, the IVY Boutique Hotel Chicago. Such a shame all your pictures went missing, we would have loved to see them. Thank you for recommending our property to others, we can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We thought we were going to have a nice stay-cation for the weekend but no heat and no hot water were not what we expected. After reading some reviews we decided on this hotel since the majority of the reviews were positive, but our first night was pretty inconvenient to say the least. After checking and getting settled into our room was a very nice we realized after a few hours that the heat would not turn on in our room no matter what setting we put it on. So my boyfriend went to speak with someone at the front desk and ran into another guest that said that he had no hot water and his room and was actually had the same we room we were in the previous night and he had the same problem with the heat. My boyfriend waited 45mins then someone finally showed and told him that he was busy with the hot water issue and just threw a room key at him and gave him another room. Hoping that we would get a more considerate staff member my boyfriend and I went to speak to the someone at the front desk about our inconvenient night’s stay, but all we received was a dry "sorry and I'm sure your second will be better" from the staff member. Needless to say we will not be staying at this hotel ever again the service was terrible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0dom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment on your recent stay at the IVY Boutique Hotel Chicago. I'm sorry that you encountered a few speed bumps along your stay. In no way is this normal occurrence and for that we do apologize. I'd like to opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail. Feel free to reach out to me either by phone or email. We hope you would reconsider and give the IVY a second chance to win you over!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
E. james@exploreivy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great lighting, beautiful interior design, natural beauty products, excellent room service.. Very tranquil atmosphere and most of all those organic Italian linen sheets! Very comfortable. To top everything off, delicious complementary homemade blueberry muffins in the morning. I'd come here again.. Very rejuvenating!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giovane6489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a wonderful review about our property, the IVY Boutique Hotel Chicago. I'm ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your rejuvenating time at the IVY. We hope to see you in the near future! Maybe even this summer to enjoy our rooftop lounge, SKY Terrace!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We arrived to check in at 4:30 pm and we could check in as early as 4pm. They told us our room was not quite ready and will be in 10-15 minutes. They showed us to the bar to have a drink while we waited, however there was a sign on the bar that said bartender from 5-10 pm so there was not a bartender for us. We waited 45 minutes for our room to be ready and that whole time a bartender never showed up. The staff noticed but said nothing. We had to push back our dinner reservations because it took so long.Then once we got to our room, which was gorgeous, we noticed several things that we're upsetting : tooth paste all over the bathroom counter and the bed only had a duvet cover and no mattress cover- no sheets. When we left for dinner, I kindly brought it to the front desks attention and they were very apologetic. They said they would have everything fixed for our second night and gave us 4 complimentary drink vouchers. We have went down to the bar twice since and still no bartender. This hotel is beautiful, but for the price and the glamour the service is absolutely horrible. There are several other hotels in the vicinity that are just as nice and similar price range that I would recommend instead.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank zkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that we fell short of your expectations. In no way is that a normal occurrence and that is not the level of service that we strive to promote. I'd like the opportunity to hear more about your stay, please feel free to reach out to me by either phone or email. I hope you will give the IVY a second chance in the future!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
E. james@exploreivy.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a little stay-cation on New Year's Eve in the Ivy's queen studio room. Very small, but chic-designed room highlighted by an amazing bathroom with a rainfall shower head (the kind of shower head that is installed in the ceiling so the water comes from directly overhead). There is also a hand-held shower head. The bed was extremely comfortable in my opinion. Our room had a big flatscreen tv with several HBO channels. Complimentary WiFi worked fine.

The room was rather small but we knew that when we booked it. Plus, we were only there for one night so that was not an issue.

What bothered me was the parking situation. I live in Chicago and have had "stay-cations" in other hotels (namely Sofitel, Club Quarters, and Hotel Allegro). There is no adjacent parking lot which is not unusual. However, the $48 per night valet parking fee is rather high, even for that area. The other option is a parking structure about 1 or 2 blocks away for something like $35 per night (I don't remember the exact fee). That price is about right (maybe slightly high---$30 sounds about right for that area) but it is not adjacent to the hotel and therefore not exactly a good deal.

A slight complaint is that we were next to the ice machine which kept my wife awake. She is a light sleeper. I'm a heavy sleeper so it did not bother me at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicago71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for celebrating New Years Eve with us and for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. The parking can definitely be a pain in Chicago. Our valet is $48 daily with unlimited in and out privileges. We actually are one of the more less-expensive options on this street compared to the Marriott across the street which has valet for $57/night. We actually don't have ice machines on the rooms, we bring ice on request. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the King Suite at the Ivy for one night. Let me start with the positives:

1. Clean and luxuriously feel room
2. Staff was attentive and friendly
3. Automatic window curtains
4. Bathroom and sitting area were roomy
5. Do not disturb and housekeeping button by the door eliminated door hanger
6. Mini muffins in the morning was a nice touch
7. Wi-Fi access is complementary

Ok...for the negatives:

1. Fitness center (900 N. Michigan) is about 2 blocks west and 7 blocks north of the hotel. It's a nice walk in the summer but in the dead of winter that might be an issue. Ok...the passes are complementary.
2. No shuttle service (Where's the Lexus hybrid Travelzoo and other website rave about?)
3. Operating the elevator to go UP is a little tricky. You have to first scan your keycard then push the floor button. But it took me a couple tries for the elevator to respond.
4. $48 per night plus tip for parking is insane in my opinion. Yes, it's valet. I also know it's Chicago and standard of living is high. But if you are willing to walk that kind of distance to the fitness center, you can sure find a garage for half that per night within walking distance. Do your research so you don't drive around looking for a garage.

Room Tip: To operate the shower. Top knob is for handshower. Middle knob is for temp control and water press...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilovemanu_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is always appreciated, and I will do my very best to rectify these issues during my next staff meeting. We hope to see you again at the IVY!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
The James Chicago
#44 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#73 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,158 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
dana hotel and spa
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Property: Ivy Boutique Hotel
Address: 233 E. Ontario St., Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing