We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Everything We Need”
Review of Ivy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ivy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #79 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Ivy is the only place my wife and I will stay in Chicago. As a former resident, and frequent visitor to the city, it has everything we like: clean, spacious rooms, affordable, multiple TVs and sitting areas in rooms, great access to Michigan Ave and Lakeshore, reasonably priced parking nearby, great rooftop bar, incredibly friendly staff. It is our home away from home!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words about our property, the IVY Boutique Hotel. We're honored to be called your "home away from home." We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Ivy Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 723 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

My best friend and I were staying downtown for our annual ladies night. We both live in the suburbs now, but we lived in the city for many years, so we know it well. We like to try new places, so we decided to check out Ivy. I am so glad we did! We stayed in a queen suite. There were a lot of nice little touches in the room. There was a TV built into the mirror in the bathroom. The curtains opened and closed electronically by a switch on the wall. The layout of the room worked well, although there is no actual door between the living room and the bedroom, so if you are looking for that, this won't work for you. There was a Keurig coffee machine. The in-room mini-bar items were fairly reasonably priced (compared to other hotels), and it was quality merchandise. Another nice feature was the maid rang the doorbell (yes, there is a doorbell) for our turndown (don't have to ask for this). She brought little cookies and truffles with her and filled our ice bucket for us (there isn't an ice machine - you have to contact the desk for ice). There was also a complimentary glass of wine for each of us in downstairs because we booked directly through their website (it was either the same price or a little cheaper than all the other online sites). We decided to have our glass of wine before going to see our friend's show at Second City. The bartender was OUTSTANDING! I can't remember her name - it was an unusual name. She was fun and friendly. We eventually made our way back to her bar after the show and dinner. We were a little slow getting out the next morning, but after calling down to the desk, they told us it was no problem. I would definitely return! It is also a family run property, so I hope they can succeed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunkissedfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the IVY Boutique Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your time at the IVY. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and property and we hope to see again at the hotel!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I took a trip to Chicago. Hotel has great access to the Magnigicant Mile. Was glad we took the train as to avoid $45/day for parking. Not many amenities, and the mini bar items in the room were ridiculously priced.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment about your recent stay at the IVY Boutique Hotel. We hope to see you again real soon!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I came to Chicago for a quick weekend away. We planned on seeing a show and being away from home. We stayed at Ivy Hotel for one night and it was perfect!! It was close enough to walk to dinner and the theater. The staff was very friendly and had great dining recommendations for us.

The room had all sorts of awesome amenities that just made it fun. My husband loved the tv in the bathroom mirror. The shower was amazing and the soaking tub was great. Overall it was a great experience that I can't wait to have again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the Ivy Boutique Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm glad our staff was able to show you some great dining spots around the city. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you and your husband again, on your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not only is this place gorgeous, it has EXCELLENT customer service! Albert at the front desk makes you feel welcomed. The rooms/suites are clean and nicely put together. I am strongly considering staying longer than I'd initially planned.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr8mind247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the kind words about our staff, I'll be happy to pass along that message to Albert. We hope to see you on your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the IVY on a Friday night recently, and were very pleased by the modern accommodations, friendly staff, and great location. We had drinks and a couple of delicious apps in their cozy little lounge area before heading out to dinner at one of the many fantastic restaurants within walking distance. The king suite was truly one of the nicer rooms we've stayed in, with an especially nice soaking tub and shower set up. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: King Suite is worth the extra cost. The space and layout are great. Darkening curtains completely sh...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed our modern guestrooms, friendly staff, and our central location in Streeterville. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a quick stay here recently and was impressed with the service and room. Front desk and housekeeping staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was nicely furnished and very modern. Complimentary wifi is always a plus. One thing I've noticed about smaller "boutique" hotels is that their heating is not as robust as larger, corporate hotels. While the room was warm enough, I like to crank it up, especially in chilly Chicago. Still, definitely a good value if you get a discounted rate.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank BartFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCazares, General Manager at Ivy Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on your stay with us at the Ivy Boutique Hotel. In addition, thank you for the kind words about our staff and decor of our hotel. I hope we can help you with accommodations on your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,

James Cazares
General Manager
T. 312.335.5444

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hotel EMC2, Autograph Collection
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,133 reviews
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Boutique Hotel

Address: 233 E Ontario St, Chicago, IL 60611-3214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $173 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ivy Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's newest four star boutique hotel located just steps away from the Magnificent Mile on Michigan Ave, Chicago beaches, Navy Pier, and the restaurants of Streeterville. Experience IVY a Hotel like no other... Look to the IVY as your luxury boutique hotel experience in Chicago... Elegant, sophisticated, stylish, incredibly comfortable and quiet, the IVY is everything you’re looking for. The IVY Hotel offers distinguished and discreet personalized service. You'll find its sleek modern decor refined and understated, complemented by works of fine art from local artists. Each room and suite has been custom designed with functionality in mind. Soaring 16 floors high and with 63 rooms mostly composed of suites with your comfort in mind. Amenities at the IVY positively define luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ivy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing